Skip to content

Jersey Hard

December 14, 2010

Vintage men’s t-shirt via the Rose Bowl Flea Market, American Apparel skirt, Bebe heels, my mom’s pearl necklace and bracelet

Do I think I’m sometimes ugly, mean, and nasty? In the mild sense- sure. But that’s due to one-off situational circumstances rather than internal perceptions. Or external perceptions. I can’t control how others react to me. But I can control how I react to others. And by the good graces of my parents, I’m not an unprovoked lasher-outer. Or even a provoked super lasher-outer.

By that fact alone, I couldn’t find an instance to share with you when I had to get nasty. Like real nasty. I thought long and hard on my way to work today- all 50 minutes hard- about times when people got all mean on me. And not one instance surfaced. I thought about my female-dominated experiences in cheerleading, dance classes, and gymnastics to competitive arenas during my basketball, softball, and track and field days to my highly-charged work environments in the entertainment and advertising industries. Zero.

It’s a good thing here.

I’m mellow. Generally speaking. Or, at least I try to be. The aggressive or rather passive aggressive reactions of others fall by the waist-side when you realize you’re living. Life is not about those moments that move people negatively. They are about the moments that move us in the opposite direction.

So why the need for the mild ugly, mean, and nasty me to even surface? I’m no door mat. I’ll call you out if you step on me the wrong way. After all, I’m from Jersey and we don’t take the dirty. We are the dirty. In the positive-negative, best way possible.

And I’m proud of it.

[Insert smiley face.]

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 8:31 am

    Mmh “OR When Men’s style prettily meets uber girly Glam . . . to compose such a by far rather mellow than ugly and nasty cocktail” Dear Mel !!!
    ps: Ooh Yes, I deeply think that this is above all a question of subjective perception, with a lot of misunderstandings’ virtualities in the heart of a competitive territory . . .

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  2. December 14, 2010 9:44 am

    You’re adorable. It’s def. a good thing that you couldn’t think of a time when you’ve been nasty – I can’t picture it. But I’m sure if/when necessary, you can dish it out ;).

  3. December 14, 2010 1:50 pm

    Yay: you sound amazing. It’s great to be mellowed out and even better to stand up for yourself when needed the most.

    I love how you paired a cute skirt with a guys t-shirt: great combination.

  4. Laney Chung permalink
    December 14, 2010 11:29 pm

    luv second pic! so cute!

  5. December 15, 2010 1:26 am

    I don’t think you are ANY of the above! You are so nice and sweet. : ), I really enjoyed talking with u and your sister~ during Snowball!!

  6. December 18, 2010 7:01 am

    Really fun look, darling!
    Love your heels!

    Happy Weekend :)

    xoxox,
    CC

  7. December 18, 2010 7:32 am

    Hey Crystal- it was great meeting you at the Ball! Hope to see you soon! :)

  8. December 18, 2010 8:30 am

    I like the irony of you in this shirt. It’s a super-cute outfit, you look soo adorable in it! I think it’s good that you’re mellow. I bet you have excellent karma, Mel!

    xo, Ashley

  9. December 18, 2010 8:39 pm

    I found your site after you left sucha sweet message about my simple look on the 100 days of ties project. I just wanted to say thanks and say YOU ARE SOO CUTE! MY wife is lucky she locked me down already or I would trip over my own feet chasing after you. keep up the awesome work here

    Drake
    GiveMeIndiana.tumblr.com

  10. December 19, 2010 2:51 am

    Hey Drake- Aw, thank you for your incredibly sweet words :) You’ve just made my week- and your wife is very lucky to have you :)

  11. December 19, 2010 11:33 pm

    You are too cute! These photos are so fun! I like the way the white skirt plays off with the white lettering on the shirt.

  12. December 20, 2010 11:50 am

    Hi darling! i love that skirt – need something like that.You looks so cute!
    hope you’re having a good monday. happy holidays

    x

  13. December 21, 2010 6:31 am

    Ha! I love your writing, Mel! I’m the same way (not having to get nasty even in tres competitive environments). The only difference is people tend to think I’m a sweetie (which I am most of the time), but if you cross me my Cajun comes out. Jersey, Louisiana… same thing ;)
    Hope you and Becs are having a wonderful holiday season!
    xoxo, Lar

  14. December 21, 2010 4:06 pm

    Not only do I love your look in that tee and skirt and heels, but good for you on not being a doormat. Amen to that.

    Sending you a smile,
    tp

  15. December 28, 2010 1:57 pm

    mel, that skirt certainly does you justice. that is all.

  16. February 19, 2011 6:28 am

    Love Love Love this outfit!
    So cute!
    FASHION WONDERLAND x

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

