Skip to content

Shady

February 25, 2009

My Dita Dynasty prescription sunglasses (second photo) are ready!!! I’m way excited since I almost entirely stopped wearing my Gucci prescription ones a year ago so I didn’t get much use out of the nearly $600 I dropped on them- (see poor investment in the first photo at the Great Wall of China). The prescription add-ons, well, just add up. I originally loved the Gucci frames- blue, relatively light-weight, and most importantly greatly large and largely great. However, since I have a “delicate” nose bridge, the sunglasses touch my face at all times, and as much as I loved them when I so intelligently bought them, I’d rather keep my makeup in tact. Hence, the only time I wear them now is if I’m not wearing makeup, which is rare, but does happen- like yesterday at work when I wore them from the parking garage, up the elevator, and to the inside of my office and didn’t take them off until I closed my office door, ensuring no one would see me. Until I ventured outside of my office, that is. Not being able to wear them besides the sans makeup occassions has been an issue for driving. In LA. In daily sunny weather.

But alas, the time has finally come to keep my Oliver Peoples glasses tucked in my handbag until nighttime driving, and rock my new wires. I was actually eyeing the black Wonderlust sunglasses for months, but since they couldn’t be adjusted to not touch my face (they’d probably touch anyone’s face though since the frames are so wonderfully massive), I opted for the Dynasty frame. Dita sunglasses are my new favorite brand because they have that “cool” factor without trying too hard AND they offer simply rad styles with nose pads- a now realized must for me. I was debating between the all gold frame and the white on top/gold on the bottom one, and chose the latter for its originality. I went against the light brown gradient/shade in the display model and chose a medium gray gradient- I don’t wear too much brown so the brown element was throwing me off. I want what I want how I want it, ie. I’m picky.

I’m thinking these will be left home when I go to Mexico in two weeks because I don’t want anything to happen to them. I’ll probably bring my red Marc Jacobs Aviators instead, which reminds me of the last time I was in Mexico- in Acapulco for Spring Break ’02. Wow, that was a long time ago, and a great, great time with 20 of my sorority sisters, but I digress. I wore my prescription Givenchy sunglasses- I loved them at the time for their black with white outlined frames and the split contrasting colors on the sides. But those did leave me with an absolutely attractive sunglasses tanline on my face when I fell asleep with them on at the beach. The day of a fraternity formal I was going to a few hours later. Ah, [painfully embarrassing] memories. Here’s to hoping for more amazingly awkward memories with my new shady companion.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ary permalink
    February 26, 2009 9:40 am

    I love those sunglasses! Do they come in other colors? I’m on the hunt for a new pair right now because my Kate Spade ones are just slipping off my face, and the style is a bit dated. I’d love to find a pair with a graduated color (like yours) because I think it looks so HOT!

    The hunt continues…

  2. February 26, 2009 11:58 am

    Fancy! Much fancier than the $10 sunglasses I get. But then I don’t feel guilty about scratching them, which I do quite often since I’m so RECKLESS! Smash and drop. hhaahAHhahahahahah

  3. Mel permalink*
    March 1, 2009 8:33 am

    Yes, Ary- they also come in white gold, dark brown & champagne gold, bordeaux & champange gold, and yellow gold:
    http://www.ditalegends.com/product_detail/987/DYNASTY.html?color_id=229

Leave a Reply

