Skip to content

Giving Thanks for Being Anal

March 17, 2009

At times I think I’m not the right person to have a blog. I’m super anal and want everything to be perfect. I dwell on the spacing in between pictures, measure the spacing between pictures and captions, and play with my widgets so that my side nav is moved over to the far right so that it isn’t pushed down to the bottom in IE6. I manage updates to a major Web site (in addition to this majorly MAJOR one) every day so I can see where this need for perfection lies. I’m always questioning spacing of everything at work and the little details that people laugh at me about. I can’t help it. I’m the kid who wasted tons of paper growing up when I didn’t write the heading (name, class, date) on my homework neat enough. I’d play with my layouts for hours and hours as the In-Depth Features Editor for my high school newspaper, which carried into college when my shoulders would tense up sitting in journalism class formatting fake newspaper layouts for grades. And don’t get me started about my News Writing and Reporting II class senior year. I spent long nights in the editing bays as I sat there rewinding footage of interviews so that I got the in and out points of a soundbite perfect- none of those sloppy cuts when you can tell the person is clearly saying something before or after the intended soundbite- a pet peeve of mine. But I did get an “A” in that class- the only class that really mattered to me those four years.

But as my friend, James, pointed out to me today- it’s my project so I should be anal. And I agree. So thank you, James, for listening to me talk about my anal-ness about this blog every day, for giving me fun facts like being indexed on Google, for helping me figure out how to eliminate the space between pictures which I’ve given up on and am now just having space, and for loving Pizza Hut as much as I do. Or at least you will in the near future.

Thank you also to my friend and Salt Bagel Alliance member, Zack. I’ve asked you so many questions since the inception of this blog and while you don’t always have all of the answers about changing font size and my Gravatar, I’m thankful you so enthusiastically come by to help. And thank you for linking to me. I can only aspire to reach the great heights of Unvegan.com.

Thanks to my friend/pseudo brother, DK. You figured out how to properly push my side nav over using CSS, and while we couldn’t save your code because I’m not paying for the CSS upgrade (yet), I really appreciated you taking the time to figure it out. (I probably should have read that I’d have to buy the upgrade to save the CSS changes before you were figuring out all of the dimensions so sorry about that one.) Like a brother, I know you’re always there for me so thank you.

All in all, I think there are worse qualities than being anal. At least that’s what I tell myself. And I’ve given up on fixing the side bar in IE6. Those who have to view it in IE6 will have to understand that I don’t understand why the bottom nav is being pushed down. But in all other browsers, the side nav is showing up correctly. Maybe I’ll add an IE6 disclaimer somewhere and then a suggestion to download IE7 for the sake of viewing this blog in all of its glory.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. becs16 permalink
    March 18, 2009 5:38 am

    Um, you sound like you have OCD. And good thing you didn’t mention your OVER-Analness (is that even a word) about clothes.. hems, a single out of placed thread, etc. DK ROCKS!

  2. Mel permalink*
    March 18, 2009 5:47 am

    Shhhh Bec, I already knew awhile ago that I was going to post about that anal-ness in another Confessions post!

  3. alphazack permalink
    March 18, 2009 9:28 am

    as your loyal helper, i should point out to you that you can add a plugin that will automatically show a disclaimer for those using IE6. if you need any help, let me know.

  4. Pet permalink
    March 18, 2009 2:09 pm

    Pizza Hut is gross.

Leave a Reply

