Skip to content

I Know She Loves the Sunrise

April 21, 2009

Free People cardigan, True Religion shorts via shopbop.com, BCBG Girls shoes via Nordstrom, pearl necklace and earrings from my childhood, Fendi handbag

Woke up randomly (again) at 5:30am. And just ordered a Pencey one shoulder top and Nightcap foldover tights in a wonderful wine color that I’m going to pair with everything. I like making actual colors my neutrals. Thank you shopbop.com for those. I also just placed an order for a few items I’ve been wanting from Urban Outfitters, particularly the Depsi Melange one piece bathing suit that I’m going to wear as a tube top/body suit since it’s a cotton, lurex, nylon, spandex mix. I’ll post pictures later. And believe me, I’m aware of the recession- every item I bought was on sale with the exception of a bleach denim strapless dress that’s backordered until mid May.

It’s.so.hot.here. I’m never one to complain about the heat, but as I ate outside yesterday, it was becoming a bit unbearable. Pardon my face shininess- did not powder myself up adequately before going out, but that’s what happens when you have oily skin like mine. I guess I’ll deal with it since it means fewer wrinkles down the road.

This past weekend I randomly caught a scene from MTV’s Taking the Stage– it’s like Laguna Beach but with real kids whose teen drama you don’t mind watching since they’re uber talented. One of the guys wrote a song for the girl who’s his BFF basically exposing his love for her her to her. It’s beautiful and I teared up as I watched the scene. I probably would have cried, but I was on my way out and didn’t want to mess up my makeup so I controlled myself. There’s just something so special about music and the way guys can express their feelings through it. Someone wrote a song for me and while I can’t remember all of the lyrics, I remember how I felt when I heard it for the first time on the beach under the stars. And I heard Jack Johnson’s “Flake” on the radio this weekend and I still equate it to when someone else played it for me all the time. The lyrics never meant anything, but I just liked the way he played it on his guitar. He also sounds a lot like Jack Johnson so that helped. It’s crazy how you can be doing something random, hear that one song, and it just puts you right back where you were years ago sitting in a room listening to that one song however it was expressed to you. So this is the song I keep playing over and over:

My body’s full of these butterflies
So wound up I can’t close my eyes
I’d climb on top a mountain
While your at home counting
Other guys and other girls
Other things that confuse my world
I just want some time with you
Just me and you, alone with you
I’ll always be there for you
You are all I need
You pierce me with arrows
Making my soul, heart bleed
Whenever I try to say that I love you
I get stuck on my words
And I fall right back down, Yeah
I just wanna tell you that I love you
I love you but the words come out wrong

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 9:11 am

    You look amazing! I love that top.
    And Jack Johnson does have great lyrics!!

    xoxox,
    CC

  2. April 21, 2009 8:24 pm

    thanks for the kind words, lovely! its tough right now, but i have to keep it together:)

    as for my scarf, its actually an old tank top!

  3. April 21, 2009 9:01 pm

    That’s so pretty! I love the look. It’s been incredibly hot where I am, too (currently San Francisco)

    xox, mavi

  4. April 22, 2009 10:16 am

    share your eye make up secrets IMMEDIATELY!

Leave a Reply

