Skip to content

Hounding You

April 26, 2009

Urban Renewal dress via Urban Outfitters, Silence + Noise vest via Urban Outfitters, Bec’s Topshop boots, Kenneth Jay Lane earrings via shopbop.com

I had asked Bec if I could borrow her very rad Topshop boots, and while she reluctantly obliged she said they didn’t match my outfit. I disagree- they provide the black and white combo with just the right amount of color pop. (Bec saw this after I had posted it, and she says that she only said her boots didn’t match because she didn’t want me borrowing them. Ummm, nice.) And I’m a huge fan of houndstooth print. I had randomly seen this dress hanging by its lonesome on a display rack at the Westwood Village Urban Outfitters about two years ago (yes, I have a photographic memory, especially when it comes to clothes and store locations in malls), and I immediately snatched it up. Come to think of it, that’s where I found my prized Urban Renewal sweater hobo bag (this random mix of black, gold, and copper in an Egyptian-inspired print). I actually just got up from my computer to transfer all of my belongings from my Fendi into it. Note to self: Go to that location more often for stellar Urban Renewal finds. And then I can get my Red Mango too that I haven’t had in awhile.

When I saw the random bar bell on my rooftop, I had this funny flashback of me laying on my back in the guys’ locker room at the track we had track meets/practice at in high school. My team had a fundraiser called a “Weight-a-thon” and you asked for donations based on how much you were able to lift. I remember my coach removing all of the weights from the bar because I just couldn’t lift it at all. And then I barely lifted the 50 lb. bar by itself. Pretty weak, but hey, I was a pretty decent 400 meter and 400 meter hurdler back in the day so my legs made up for my little arms (though if I had lifted more, it probably would have helped my overall speed)!

After saying a very sad good-bye this weekend, I realized that this little exchange I had seen before on The Real Wives of New York City meant a little more to me now. One of the housewives, LuAnn, asked her daughter, Victoria, if she wanted sushi for lunch (since her daughter likes it), and Victoria replied, “I don’t know.” LuAnn then said, “Oh, that’s not good. You should always know what you want.” This is so true. Life is short, and you need to know what you want and go after it. There’s no point in life if you’re content with watching people, aspirations- any one thing pass you by without going for what you want. Tell people you love them. Overcommunicate today and then repeat.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2009 2:13 am

    Great jacket and I love boots with the outfit

  2. April 27, 2009 6:15 am

    love it! Those boots are epic! 🙂

  3. April 27, 2009 7:09 am

    Love the jacket, great out fit!
    Hanh,
    http://www.life-in-travel.blogspot.com

  4. April 27, 2009 9:01 am

    You look amazing! Love the houndstooth dress!

    xoxox,
    CC

  5. April 27, 2009 12:03 pm

    ahh those shoes! amazing.

    yes, i love the shorts! i can just picture myself wearing it all summer.

  6. April 27, 2009 1:12 pm

    Hi Melanie! OMG! love the vest! so going to get it! and the boots are awesome! You look rockin! BTW, thanks for visiting my blog and for the lovely comments!
    -Gisela
    http://www.heightsoffashion.typepad.com

  7. April 27, 2009 2:23 pm

    gorge ! i love the outfit, and i definitely agree that it adds the perfect amount of colour 😉

  8. April 27, 2009 3:15 pm

    i absolutely adore your blog! cute outfit.

    http://nakedsundays.blogspot.com

  9. April 28, 2009 12:08 am

    Hi again,,thank’s for visiting my blog.
    Can we exchange links?
    Ouw yeah nice blue boots!

  10. April 29, 2009 10:35 am

    Haha! Cath and I do the same thing about sharing items in our closet. We always want to wear the same thing on the same day and get in little fist-a-cuffs over who gets to wear what. I think the boots do look awesome!
    ps- 50 lbs. is a lot! I’m impressed! Seriously!

  11. April 29, 2009 12:31 pm

    omg soooo cute!

  12. April 30, 2009 8:00 am

    i love it- i’d wear it with tights but since the weather is like a million degrees i’d just wear it bare-legged 😉

  13. May 2, 2009 1:37 pm

    this outfit is really cute

    camille xxx

  14. May 2, 2009 5:16 pm

    love this outfit i could totally rock it!!!

  15. May 3, 2009 4:31 pm

    Love this look– the boots are especially amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. White-hot « Wrecked Stellar

Leave a Reply

