Skip to content

Missed America

May 3, 2009

American Apparel vintage t-shirt, LOVE YAYA jeans via shopbop.com, Jessica Simpson shoes via Macy’s, Jacqueline Lamont headband via Barney’s New York, Urban Renewal handbag via Urban Outfitters, H&M jacket

I scrambled around for a quick outfit for the Unique Los Angeles event. No matter what time I go to bed on the weekend nights, I have a tendency to wake up super early and then fall back to sleep an hour later. That’s what happened yesterday morning forcing a frenzied runaround. After not being able to find the cropped t-shirt I had wanted to wear with a blazer, I threw on this vintage t-shirt I had bought from American Apparel. Their selection of vintage is pretty rad, particularly their t-shirt assortment at the Melrose location. I had first grabbed this t-shirt because I saw it said “New Jersey”, and being that I’m from there, I wanted it. (I must admit that I have an enormous amount of Jersey pride.) Then I saw it said “The Miss American Pageant”- and not going to lie- I was floored. I mean, when I was a kid, I totally wanted to be Miss America. But the closest that I ever got to that dream was my 2nd grade Halloween costume dressed in a white gown with a Miss America banner across my body. Of course, there were also all of the pretend pageants Bec and I put on- I’m talking full on hair/makeup prep., complete with every round- Introduction, Swimsuit, Talent, Evening Gown, and Q&A. We made up questions for each other and we would both act as the hosts using the microphone on our karaoke machine, while the other answered one of the questions we made up for each other. We were each other’s judges too, writing in numbers on scorecards. You would think that we would have always chosen ourselves to win, but that wasn’t always the case. We’d actually score fairly given the actual performance. It was pretty hardcore.

I wore this t-shirt to work and was in a meeting with two of my co-workers and one asked if I was really a contestant. I replied, “Yup, I came in 35th place.” Never mind the fact that there are no places except for the top five- I had them both going for a little and was asked if my talent was twirling. Little did they know, I was a twirler as a kid- marching in my town’s parades. I loved it, especially the deep purple sequined and fringed out costume! I only did it as a kid, but my friend at work has a baton sitting in the corner of her cubicle, and I’ll pick it up and twirl when I’m talking to her.

OK enough about my squashed Miss America dreams and twirler days and back to reality- just every day me and my trip downtown to Unique Los Angeles. Oh, and a vendor did ask me if I had been a contestant to which Bec later said, “I can’t believe people think you were actually a contestant. You’re not smart enough.” Gee, thanks, sis. Getting back to the point of this post, the whole set-up was a bit overwhelming at first as there were so many vendors selling rad jewelry and clothing creations. There were numerous unique samplings, and if I hadn’t placed so many recent online orders, I would have bought this delicate gold long necklace, with precious leaf details going around the chain. It was from a vendor called Osec (the nice gentleman said that their Web site would be launching soon). I was also eyeing this bold quartz necklace dipped in 24K gold by Dara Ettinger. It was a heavy chunk of stone that was pretty stunning. The other standout vendor was The Weekend Store– with recycled typewriter keys as the focal point for necklaces, earrings, and rings, it was hard to forget this completely original concept. Even though I left empty-handed (AND I HATE LEAVING EMPTY-HANDED when I’m shopping), I’m happy I checked out this scene. It was inspiring to see such passionate craftsmen/women!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2009 2:50 pm

    I have to say you have good legs and always look good on jean and shorts.
    http://www.life-in-travel.blogspot.com

  2. May 3, 2009 5:21 pm

    Is that a blue leather jacket I see? Too cute!

  3. May 4, 2009 4:24 am

    Is it little Mel on the last picture?? Oooh, you were sooooo cute!! 😀
    I love your outfit, the dark blue jeans and the vintage shirt, again a great color combination (plus the headband!!)! Have a good start into the new week!
    xoxo, s.

  4. May 4, 2009 5:13 am

    love the monochrome look!

  5. becs permalink
    May 4, 2009 6:32 am

    Stealing, er, borrowing your headband and that bag. 🙂

    Becs
    http://www.stylewithbenefits.wordpress.com

  6. ary permalink
    May 4, 2009 7:48 am

    I’m laughing right now because of Bec’s comment. I could see her saying that and grinning. Love the outfit!

  7. May 4, 2009 8:20 am

    Great American Apparel tee and I love the bag as well. I was slightly obsessed with pageants as a little girl, though I never bothered entering one. Some guy at a party once made a caricature of me in a pageant outfit reading “miss world” though, so that’s about as close as I came. Such an adorable pic of you as a little girl!

  8. May 4, 2009 8:44 am

    You are such a cutie, then and now! Love your skinny jeans!

    xoxox,
    CC

  9. Heather permalink
    May 4, 2009 9:14 am

    YES! for my baton shout out 🙂 Love it!

  10. May 4, 2009 1:11 pm

    great tee shirt and love the pic of you as a kid! adorbz

    *bisous*

  11. May 5, 2009 8:00 am

    love this look, you’re so pretty!
    and the baton photo is soo cute. x

  12. May 5, 2009 11:15 am

    That purple sequined outfit photo is adorable!
    Oh and you and becs could’ve totally been miss americas. Cath and I never did full on faux-contests, but we definitely wanted the crown.

  13. May 6, 2009 8:10 pm

    Your bag and your headband are great, I want to steal them 🙂 Very hippie chic xx

Trackbacks

  1. BOXeight Fashion : Refocus – LA Fashion Week « Wrecked Stellar

Leave a Reply

