Skip to content

Pink Roses

May 11, 2009

Yesterday Bec and I ventured back to the Rose Bowl Flea Market in Pasadena, CA, after our first trip a year and a half ago. We had previously gone with our friends who were searching for furniture and we were so overwhelmed by the loads of vendors that we didn’t make it to the clothes section. I also blame it on the nachos. We were more interested in eating those at the time than shopping.

This time around, we decided to delay the nachos for clean hands’ sake and drink some yummy frozen lemonade while we perused the clothing racks. Well, I should say, I looked at the clothing more while Bec focused on the shoes. And boy was she on point, buying seven pairs of shoes (the majority of them being low boots). And we had stuck together for awhile- though somewhat painful as I waited while she tried on shoes- I wandered over to a t-shirt stand with her turquoise plaid shirt in sight- and bought two mesh shirts for $3 a piece. I don’t know what it is about mesh, but I love any mesh shirt. It’s a fun, easy throw-on that’s airy and depending on the color, I can just wear it as is forgoing the bottom layer. One says “Vintage Faire Sporting Goods” and looked new (as it’s from the San Francisco place the guy buys his vintage from so it was probably free) and the other says “Nail Benders” with a “1” on the front and another half faded larger “1” on the back.

Later we had stumbled upon a rather large lot of gorgeous vintage pieces- mostly dresses- and I spent the rest of our time there. Bec stayed for a little trying on clothes, but eventually she left me with the mirror, my pile of dresses, and the guy who halfway through my fitting process took a nap in the back of a huge truck on the open trunk floor a few feet away from me. He woke up before I had made my final selections:

– A long piece of royal purple fabric with a floral/stripe print that looks “vintage-y” to me (my term that’s a non-existent word) that is sewn on one vertical side and has two ties. From my initial inspection the way it’s sewn can be worn in two ways as a cover-up- either as a one shoulder dress (ties at one shoulder) and the one side of your body is exposed or it can be tied as a strapless dress with the full front of your body exposed. Both are good, useful ways, but I’m going to have my mom sew up the other side of the material to form a true long one shoulder dress.

– A bright red and white sweater caplet with poinsettias on the sleeves that ties at the neck. Bec said I looked like Little Miss Riding Hood, and I said that I was good with that.

– A long , loose-fitting orange-red dress with a bold floral print. It reminded me of MK Olsen so I couldn’t resist. Plus, I need more long dresses and this was a great one to throw on.

– A long black floral dress with wide sleeves that have ruffle detailing. The sleeves make it something special and it ties in the back making it a good fit for me.

– A pastel geometric button down dress that has an elastic waist, allowing me to wear it shorter. I’ll be throwing this on for work- possibly with the collar up. If it stays up, that is.

– A totally 70s mini dress with flared out sleeves that are in between 3/4 and full-length. Bec thought it was too retro, but I liked it for that fact.

After I requested a good deal, all of the above totaled to $80. I was pretty stoked!

So armed with my two bags and carrying some of Bec’s shoe bags, we went looking for the nachos that were way good the last time (granted, it was just the chips and cheese kind, they were still amazing), and only found a stand selling the ones with all of the meat, sauce, and sour cream on them. So we decided to forgo them and get Pink’s hotdogs in LA (the “Martha Stewart” 10″ dog with bacon, onions, relish, sauerkraut, chopped tomatoes and we held the sour cream)- with our long awaited nachos and fries as sides.

Regarding the entire day, I can only think of Martha Stewart’s trademark saying, “It’s a good thing.”

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 6:40 am

    ooh how fun a day at the markets! lucky you!

  2. May 11, 2009 10:48 am

    You look fantastic in that dress!
    And now I want a hot dog…

    Fun post!

    xoxox,
    CC

  3. May 11, 2009 1:48 pm

    The shirt that says “Some Crazy Thing” in my Coachella review is by Insight 🙂

    Great blog!

    – M

  4. May 11, 2009 8:17 pm

    Look like you had fun. You look easy /sexy on that dress and the boots.
    Hanh,
    http://www.life-in-travel.blogspot.com

  5. May 11, 2009 11:12 pm

    omg my favorite thing about pinks is when someone drives by and screams at everyone in line, “IT’S JUST A HOTDOG!!” hahahaha.

  6. May 12, 2009 1:03 am

    Thank you but who’s is Vanessa Hudgens? 😀 I hope she doesn’t have it exactly the same 😦

  7. May 12, 2009 3:11 am

    ohh but our blogs don’t look the same 🙂

  8. May 12, 2009 3:16 am

    Ok, i’m crazy, i thought that Vanessa has the same blog as me. I got it now the same bag. I’m sorry for the misunderstanding.

  9. May 21, 2009 6:14 am

    love the flea market shots!! they look so casual. fantastic

Leave a Reply

