Skip to content

Boy Friend

May 15, 2009

Oh it’s only 3:40am, and I’m browsing the Free People Web site… yeah, I need to kick these insomniac tendencies. I came across this shirt (called Slashed Boyfriend Tunic) and I thought, rad idea- if only it didn’t have the embroidered flowers. I clicked the Back button to continue my half-alert search when I realized, hoooold up, this would be a great DIY. I’ve been meaning to do a few DIY projects for awhile and have made a mental note to add this to the list. Now if only I had a boyfriend whose closet I could raid for an oversized shirt that he doesn’t care about…. Looks like I’m going to have to buy a men’s shirt myself. I have three men’s flannels and one button down, but I’d like to try this cut out project on a shirt cheaper than those $50 ones for the sheer fact that I could very well mess it all up. I’m going to look for one and will have to post a photo after I’ve had my way with him (the shirt).

And today- well technically yesterday- was the first time in about two weeks that I made an effort in my appearance- at least during the weekdays. I’ve chained myself to my desk working on a project that will be launching this morning and I’ve definitely let myself go. I would wake up, wash my face, put on a tiny bit of powder (I wear a lot of powder for the sake of de-shining), tie my wet hair up in a ponytail, and throw on a t-shirt or sweatshirt and sneakers and be on my merry way. The only person who had to look at me for 12 hours was my computer screen so I was fine with that. But yesterday, I made an effort and wore the Topshop oversized crop top I had posted a little while ago, put some weight on my ears via some fancy topaz earrings, and put on my typical makeup, including the eyeliner and mascara that I had avoided for a little since that takes a steady hand and a few extra minutes in the morning that I didn’t want to waste on a not so covered up face. My revitalized appearance was well-received and throughout the day I told my friends that yes, I actually did put in some effort and showered (realizing after a few times that my response wasn’t completely accurate since I hadn’t washed my hair in two days, and while that’s normal for most, I like to go only one day without washing my hair, if any). And while I’m perfectly fine leaving the house more natural than I’m used to (depending on where I’m going/what I’m doing), it’s amazing how much better you feel about yourself after putting in a little effort. And I was running out of presentable t-shirts and sweatshirts to wear so it was good that my little low(er than low) maintenance routine had come to an end.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2009 10:58 am

    I was browsing the FP site earlier yesterday, but never stumbled upon this beautiful. I have a whole boatload of DIYs planned for the weekend, so I can’t wait to see what you guys come up with!
    ps- agreed, it does feel better to put in effort, but I bet you look gawgeous either way πŸ˜‰

  2. May 15, 2009 8:39 pm

    That is a great idea! DIY is always fun. LOve the shirt!
    http://www.life-in-travel.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

