Skip to content

Accordion Player

May 20, 2009

Nasty Gal Vintage dress, Steve Madden shoes, QVC bracelet

This accordion vintage dress will be in my closet forever. I think that pretty much covers how I feel about it.

Looking back, I really wish I had asked my parents to keep their rad clothes so that I could wear them twenty years later, ie. now. My mom had the prettiest cocktail dresses that she’d wear for dinner parties- in particular, I’m thinking of one with large flowers sporadically covering the rich navy color of the dress. And my dad had this white water rafting t-shirt that I always loved- oh how did those two little girls get in the picture?! (I’m on the left and Bec is on the right at Niagra Falls). That t-shirt was always so soft, but my dad threw it away years ago. He also used to rock a maroon USC t-shirt that I loved, but has been long gone and certainly long before Bec and I moved to LA. Oh well, I’ll just have to keep the memories of my parents’ clothes tucked into my heart’s pocket.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 7:51 am

    You look like today’s version of a mod girl! Loving the vibrant colors.

  2. May 20, 2009 9:10 am

    Such a gorgeous dress ~ love it! You look fab, darling!

    xoxox,
    CC

    P.S. Love your story about collecting shells πŸ™‚

  3. isabelle permalink
    May 20, 2009 12:39 pm

    Your dad’s got legs! Oooooooh weeee oooohh.

  4. May 20, 2009 1:51 pm

    WOW – a very beautiful Pucci-esque dress! Since a couple of months I’m coming back to the roots, purchasing more vintage again. The same in regard of my fav designers (now and then the “Antwerp 6”). You new-to-you dress is pure life, it’s transporting energy and a very positive mood! Of course you look stunning and beautiful as always, sweetheart.
    I would give anything to have some fantastic clothes from my mom’s closet, especially some dresses. She had one red dress with small blue flowers. It was so adorable – and I’m missing this one A LOT :-S
    Becs and you are looking so cute on this picture!
    Are you going to celebrate Father’s Day tomorrow? If so: Happy Father’s day!!

  5. Tamara permalink
    May 20, 2009 2:30 pm

    Love the colourful print! And the last picture’s just sooo sweet

  6. May 20, 2009 4:30 pm

    love the dress..love nastygirl actually..you look very pucciesque!

    camille x

  7. May 20, 2009 5:25 pm

    ya, the hair issue is never ending, we want it long and short, then long the next day haha!

    love this dress!

  8. May 20, 2009 10:24 pm

    Wow I LOVE the colors of your dress! And USC?! I’m going to USC next year πŸ˜€

  9. May 20, 2009 11:04 pm

    So bright and summery! And goes amazingly with your skin color!

  10. May 21, 2009 2:01 am

    This dress is stunning!Are you Becs’s (from style with benefits) sister ? you look so musch alike!
    Nice blog, I’ll come back
    xoxo
    aline

  11. May 21, 2009 9:30 am

    Wow! Such vibrant colors, the dress looks like it’s Missoni…hehe
    Loves it:)

    xoxo
    Mimi

  12. May 21, 2009 9:52 am

    I love those shoes, lady! πŸ™‚
    and thanks for the congrats.

    x

  13. STARR permalink
    May 21, 2009 9:44 pm

    Thanks for the comment! You look so bright and pretty against all the gray πŸ™‚

  14. Raez permalink
    May 21, 2009 9:44 pm

    Wowee girl, you’re stunning! Perfect dress such vibrant colours, way to rock it:)

    PS
    haha I just realized you and becs are twins, which is completely awesome because you two havesuch different tastes but still always look gorgeous:) the trading clothes thing must be a fun bonus too eh?

  15. May 22, 2009 5:07 am

    gorgeous top/ dress, i LOVE that its pleated. very pretty πŸ™‚

    – frouu/ nadia

  16. May 22, 2009 8:29 am

    Answer: Thank you so much πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    LOVE that dress! So fresh

  17. May 22, 2009 9:11 am

    Loooving that dress on you. Looks so great! You’re ready for summer.

  18. May 22, 2009 9:22 am

    You look gorgeous and glowy in that dress!

    ps- I feel the same about my mom’s closet. She threw out her old Frye’s, some peasant tops, suede vests- argh!

  19. May 22, 2009 10:21 am

    your blog is amazing.:)

    LOVE YOUR STYLE. πŸ™‚

  20. May 24, 2009 8:53 am

    Great dress! I love the colors on it

  21. May 27, 2009 7:46 pm

    the colors are absolutely beautiful! You look lovely
    -jessie

Leave a Reply

