Skip to content

Free-Flowing

June 28, 2009

Admittedly, it’s taken awhile to update since Bec and I got back to LA (above are a few of my favorite photos from Atlantic City, my friend’s wedding in Maryland in which I was honored to read Corinthians 13, and my own home in Jersey). I was also debating about the direction I want this blog to head in. Sure, I buy a lot of clothes and I love sharing my purchases with you. But I always wonder, shouldn’t I be doing something more productive/meaningful/life-enhancing? The conclusion that I came to is this: anything that allows me an audience in the Worldwide Web is meaningful. It is productive to exchange ideas and thoughts with bloggers around the world. The free-flow of thoughts enhance my life because this blog is an outlet for all of the stored up bits of fashion that I have in me and it is here that I can let them flood free.

And as much as I love fashion, I also love to write and I don’t want to lose my writing amidst the photos of myself. Because the world doesn’t revolve around me- not even in my own world. So I’ve decided that this blog, this forum for my own thoughts, will accordingly expand to such- as I will also be including my own commentary on life. Generally. Specifically. And genuinely. And while I spent more hours that I’d like to admit trying to think of a name for my little companion, The Blog, I quickly realized that none of the fashion-related titles that I came up with quite fit me. I also thought that it may be worth it to look into titles that weren’t too specific so that I could expand it to anything that I wanted it to be. So I started to think of words that I like. Words that sounded neat-o. Words that could mean me when paired together. Because just like fashion, you can pair two completely absurd pieces of clothing together to form one brilliantly absurd piece of art. Not that Wrecked Stellar is art, or even brilliant, or absurd. But maybe, just maybe, on any given day, Wrecked Stellar could be the canvas for an artful thought, brilliant both in and out of disguise, and so absurd that it could actually pass for my brutal honesty.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2009 10:19 am

    I am loving your dress in those first two shots dear, the colours are fantastic! And that last photograph is so lovely 🙂 Looks like you had an absolutely amazing time away from LA!!

    And I know what you mean on the blogging front, I always feel a tad self conscious doing outfit posts, so I try to make sure I put down all of the interesting thoughts I have with regards to fashion. Rather than just photographs of what I like/wear/buy, I try to keep my writing going as well.

    Oh, and you are officially down on the project list 🙂

  2. June 29, 2009 10:34 am

    1. Happy Belated birthday!!

    2. I am actually going through the same process. I started my blog to talk about whatever I want, whether it was fashion/beauty related or not. But somehow it ended up just being a style diary and I am not sure I want to continue in that narrow direction. Coincidentally, my blog name also is not fashion related. Even though it centers around me I can easily expand it into anything. But I digress. I just wanted to say that I look forward to whatever direction you’ll be taking you blog and I’ll keep visiting =)

  3. June 29, 2009 11:28 am

    Yep, you say that I choose bad pics of you.. these are THE worst ones of me you could possibly post. I mean, the birthday cake cutting pic is just baaad, esp. since I just took my hair out of my side twists and am wearing my pjs. 😦

  4. June 29, 2009 12:04 pm

    Hi! 🙂

    haha, me too, Hollister, etc. are for hanging out in (running errands in, working around the house in) thanks for taking the time to read my feature and also, for commenting.

    I love your eye makeup!! <3333

    x

  5. June 29, 2009 12:40 pm

    You and Becs are so gorgeous (even in PJs!)It seemed like you had a blast on your birthday! xxoxoxoxo

  6. June 30, 2009 2:09 am

    Loved these pics… looks like you had a great time! And I love the dresses you’re wearing as well. I can’t wait to see which direction you’ll go with this blog. The beauty of this being your blog is you can voice whatever you want and I’m pretty sure no matter what you come up with, people will be eager to read it (or at least I will). Have a great week!

  7. pinky permalink
    June 30, 2009 3:58 am

    love your blog!! make up tips please!! you make up is flawless!! its awesome!! happy belated birthday!! xoxo

  8. June 30, 2009 7:44 am

    Love all the pics, Mel! It looks like you guys had so much fun (and you both look so glamorous doing it!).

    Can’t wait to see the new direction your blog takes!

  9. June 30, 2009 7:57 am

    Mel– welcome back! I think people do enjoy seeing slices of your life via photographs, as well as your amazing shopping finds. But it’s also nice to insert some commentary or just use your blog as an expression of yourself. I love mixing it up a little. I mean people do really love those outfit posts, but sometimes, the blog can be a good platform for exploring things that matter to you. A way of engaging with issues of the day and just a great forum for ranting. I do love me a good rant. xx D

  10. July 2, 2009 12:13 am

    It looks like you had a lovely day & evening!

    I like your thoughts behind your blog title & your blog in general. We always start with one thing in mind, and it ends up changing without us realising, but it’s usually better than what we started with.

    Bambola x

  11. July 2, 2009 12:23 pm

    love all these photos, you and your friends are all totally beautiful. i love the name of your blog!

  12. July 3, 2009 5:42 pm

    I’ve watched a Sex and the City episode today and it was in Atlantic City. Carrie and her girlfriends went there for a fun week-end. Turns out it wasn’t so fun but this is not my point. You and your girlfriends look so fashionable and sexy in those pics. you look all so close! I wish I had that kind of relationship with my friends.
    Anyway, I think it’s great that you have decided to give your blog a more personal tone. It takes time to adjust but in the end it will be just like you: awesome!
    xoxo
    aline

Leave a Reply

