Skip to content

Dave’s Menopoly

July 6, 2009

When my girlfriends ask me for fashion advice, I get a bit of a thrill helping them figure out what to do with random questionable shirt straps or which shoes should be worn per their jeans lengths. But I get the melts my heart like a marshmallow on a gooey s’more while camping when I was 12 feeling, when my male friends seek my fashion advice. One of them recently came into my office the morning of a lunch meeting wanting to run his outfit by me. He had on a pale lavender button down shirt with chocolate brown pants, and I smiled in approval as he did look pretty stellar.

Now I’m not saying that I know everything about how a man should dress. But what I am saying is that I know how I like a man to dress and I disperse my feelings whenever and when not applicable. So to keep this dialogue amongst men and women going, I want to throw it back at the guys and get their take on women’s fashion- because when we’re walking by a group of suited up men who are benching it and eating lunch on a steamy New York City day, their opinions on the skimpy outfit we’re wearing are applicable whether we want to admit it or not.

Wrecked Stellar’s first menopolization comes from Dave, who immediately caught my attention in our copywriting class. Half the time I’d get confused as to what he was presenting because I’d think he was the walking advertisement for effortless Southern California style. OK, I wasn’t really confused, but take a look at the above collage that I created. He’s the golden boy of style on his own merits. No slogan required.

Name: Dave
Age: 25
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Occupation: Copywriter – Advertising

1. Describe your personal style.
Like anyone, I’ve had some stages. The only thing consistent is that I’ve always dressed the exact way that I want to (within my budget). For as long as I can remember (and seemingly longer from what my parents tell me), I’ve been drawn to interesting clothing. Interesting is vague, but it’s also not restricting. Anything goes really. I’ll always get excited about a rare find. This is why I dig thrift/vintage stores. I like the idea of a combination that is truly your own.

2. What influences your style?
Personality, location, music, spirit, era, trends, all sorts of things. I crave adventure, I’m generally easy-going, and I like colors, especially ones that evoke certain vibes (take Native American stuff for example). The past few years have presented a free time for my style. It’s part frame-of-mind, part my surroundings (beach, city, music, etc).

3. Since you’re originally from the east coast, what are the differences between women’s fashion on the east coast versus west coast?
I’ve found the biggest difference to be less about East and West and more about specific areas like urban city life vs. rural college campus vs. beach town. There are certainly stark differences between Brooklyn and say, South Carolina. Or San Francisco and say, Newport Beach. For the sake of generalizing: Boston girls (where I went to school) seem to either have the casual/functional/preppy/athletic (North Face) thing going on, or they have the sophisticated city style – often both depending on the scenario. Now in LA, the weather permits some variation (and maybe less conservative wear) but some trends seem to be universal these days.

4. Do you prefer east coast or west coast style and why?
Tough one. Can I say I appreciate both? I’ve seen nice style everywhere. I’m not a huge fan of some of these Orange County girls. I don’t think expensive or “done-up” necessarily means you are looking good. Be yourself, girls. That’s what makes you attractive. Natural style and beauty isn’t a coastal thing.

5. You’re going on a first date. Describe the perfect outfit you’d like to see on your date when you pick her up.
I’d hope it was something that doesn’t make me feel like I’m underdressed. Something she feels comfortable in, while representing her style. I like a confident statement, whether I’m a fan or not a fan, statements are memorable. Now that you have me thinking of it, if the outfit is boring, my expectations for her personality are likely lowered.

6. What’s your favorite color on a woman and why?
This might depend on their complexion and overall look. I’m not that into pink things, or leopard prints or anything really girly like that. I like bohemian blacks and browns. Royal blue? Vintage leather jackets? I’ve never really thought of this….

7. What are your go-to brands and stores when you are shopping for a woman?
Us gentleman learned long ago that blindly shopping for a woman is not the best idea. For clothing items, I’d rather know what she wants first. But that’s no fun, so I’d probably favor a different kind of gift. If there were an occasion that called for it, I’d go to second-hand store. That way I have an excuse about fit and color (“it was the only one, it looked like something you’d be into”). It seems more thoughtful and original.

8. Name the first designer that pops into your head. Don’t lie- tell me the very first one.
Stella McCartney. Paul McCartney is headlining Coachella. And that’s where my head is right now. (NOTE: I interviewed Dave in February- yes, it’s taken me quite some time to start this up- pardon my Womenopoly mode.)

9. What women’s trend(s) do you think the world needs more of?
Their own. Get weird. Be different. I like some women’s trends, but not the ones that look foolish like 6 months later.

10. What women’s trend(s) would you like to see go away?
Whatever those parachute pants with the tight ankles are. UGGs. And Sarah Palin.

11. Fill in the blank of a trend you just don’t get- I don’t get why women wear _______.
Big sunglasses are cool. But the really large, unfriendly bug eye-ed ones are the real culprits.

12. Do you prefer a high maintenance or low maintenance woman and why?
Low maintenance all the way. I’m attracted to active women, someone who is down for a hike or a sweaty concert. Taking a while to get ready is fine (I do too sometimes), but if you have enough make-up on that I’m scared of what might happen if I brush up against your face, we have a problem.

13. What’s your favorite fashion decade for women and why?
Well each one has something to like. I’m leaning towards the late 60s love movement. When a psychedelic counterculture crossed with mainstream fashion. Early 90s grunge/euro-house is rad too. And also mid-50s classic Hollywood, like Audrey Hepburn times.

14. Name a female celebrity with the best style.
Sienna Miller and M.I.A

15. What is the maximum amount of time you can withstand clothes shopping with a woman in one day?
It might be higher than your average guy. I can’t deal with indoor malls though. As long as we are in some cool stores with guy’s sections, I could go for a few hours.

16. If aliens on Jupiter saw what women are wearing in America today, what do you think they’d say?
“Oh I remember when they were doing that on Mars, like 60,000 years ago. It always comes full circle!”

Now that you know Dave has a way with style, check out his way with words at his blog, Stadiums and Shrines.
18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 2:56 am

    Awesome idea!! Great pick on the first guy too, he’s gorgeous and very stylish. Besides he knows who Sienna Miller is when it comes to fashion.

    Great blog lovely.

    Bambola x

  2. July 6, 2009 3:14 am

    Dig his answers. He has great style. Though he doesn’t like harem pants… those things won’t be going away anytime soon. 🙂 Great interview Melly!

  3. July 6, 2009 3:17 am

    thats so great! he is very stylish
    awesome!
    x

  4. July 6, 2009 8:05 am

    Handsome! Love this interview!

    xoxox,
    CC

  5. Courtney permalink
    July 6, 2009 11:17 am

    Love Dave and love that he’s finally getting recognition for his effortless uniqueness. Love the Sienna Miller reference too.

  6. July 6, 2009 1:36 pm

    This came at such a perfect time, Mel! I’ve had guy friends do the same to me just recently and Cath and I are getting ready to do a post focused on updating a male friend’s closet. I’m very impressed with Dave’s look. Great interview too!

    ps- Are you in school for copywriting?! I’m a graphic designer and have been toying with the idea of returning to school, so I’m always interested to hear what current students have to say.

  7. July 6, 2009 2:38 pm

    I love the use of brights!! 🙂

    thanks for the collage comment ❤

    x

  8. July 6, 2009 5:41 pm

    Dave’s style began by the age of 3. Original and expressive, just like his mom.

  9. July 7, 2009 7:07 am

    It’s always fun to get the straight male take on fashion, especially one who seems to share some interest in it. What a wonderful feature!

  10. July 7, 2009 7:52 am

    This guy is really gorgeous and has a great sense of style!
    xoxo
    aline

  11. July 7, 2009 9:52 am

    i enjoyed reading what he had to say about a girls look on the first date ,, hmm i always dress a tiny bit better than theguys i date so i would hopethey dont get annoyed .. thats jsut my look 🙂

    very cute guy here.
    and i see you are friends with style with benefits ? or are you related ?

  12. July 8, 2009 3:57 am

    What a great idea for a feature! To be fair though, he probably can get away with more in the fashion world if he’s a copywriter. I’ve been working in ad agencies for 5+ years and most of the guys there have a cooler, more original style than your average male 🙂 I think it’s because they are generally creative in everything they do. You wouldn’t believe the number of times art directors or copywriters have begged me to bid on eBay for them when they had to attend a meeting.. haha. They’re all so obsessed with vintage accessories and clothes, it makes me feel more normal about my obsessions.

    And I definitely think it’s interesting to get a male perspective on things. So many women dress to seek approval from other females they often forget that men are looking at them too. I don’t know a single guy who likes harem trousers and most of them have told me they hate gladiator sandals as well. Thanks for sharing this with us… hope to see more in the future!

  13. July 9, 2009 4:04 pm

    he got the style!

  14. July 12, 2009 9:48 am

    he’s hot! i love what he has on in the second photo, like LOVE x

  15. July 16, 2009 12:37 pm

    He’s adorable! Spot on questions and answers-and I dig that vintage 70s sweater for myself!

  16. July 23, 2009 5:28 pm

    Sounds like a cool dude. the best advice ‘be yourself girls’ we really do like it.

  17. August 11, 2009 12:51 pm

    hey I didn’t read the interview, but your cute Dave. Hit me up if you come to NY.

  18. Clare permalink
    December 16, 2009 2:16 pm

    loooove this! sounds like a great guy!

Leave a Reply

