Skip to content

N-eons Now

July 13, 2009

Wildfox Couture sweatshirt, Topshop shorts, Report Signature shoes via shopbop.com, Topshop sequin headband

I had said a few posts ago that I want to maximize this space and share my extraneous, un-fashion-related thoughts with you… so here they are. This weekend, I threw my hair up in a bun (one of those that go through the motions of being a ponytail only that you loop the hair forward half way and let the ends fall as they may), put on a silk dress that I deem casual because it’s one of those loose dresses that I wear off the shoulder and looks like I just threw it on a second ago and may have run out of the house without a thong, and my beach flip-flops that I don’t care about, hence the puddle of mud that my foot was subjected to as I tried to get into the car tonight armed with Pinkberry. I purposely left the house without makeup on and covered half my face up with my oversized Gucci prescription sunglasses that I only wear when I’m bare-faced (the frames touch my face so no makeup equals no chance of messing up my makeup). And away we went to the movies to see “Away We Go”.

Once we stepped foot in the rather cozy theater, I thought it was rather odd that two gentlemen in their late-60s to early 70s were seeing this movie about a young couple trying to figure out their future for the sake of their unborn child given their past influences and present circumstances. About eight minutes later two women, presumably their wives, chatted their way into the theater in the row behind us to sit next to the men (making the current audience only us and them). I didn’t turn around to see them because I didn’t care to. And I didn’t turn around when amidst the low obligatory music that’s supposed to entertain you even though a blank screen is staring back at you, the woman asked her friend if she could see. Her response was, “Yes”, to which the woman persisted, “Are you sure?”. A second “Yes” ensued and the space’s intimacy had the woman’s concerns ringing in my ears. Her concerns were because of my bun- described above, but today I made it a point to neatly tuck my unruly ends into my rubber band. I was off to the movies with my decency in tact! (Exclaimed with sarcasm.) Since I’m a pretty- scratch that, overly considerate individual, I thought, “Hmm, I suppose I can take my hair down since I don’t really care what I look like at this point. Clearly, I don’t care since I don’t have any makeup on and I’ll be in the dark for 1 hour and 37 minutes.” As I entertained the idea for about five seconds amidst the silence (at this point, the woman’s inferences to my hair were unpleasantly entertaining me and therefore replaced said obligatory entertaining music), the woman stated, “It’s like a tower.” Her friend who was the target of my “tower” didn’t reply a “Yes” this time, but instead replied with silence. The husbands didn’t utter a word and I just looked to my right at Bec, wanting to turn around but refraining from doing a complete 360 to do so. So I stayed at my 180 angle for ten seconds as I decided this foolish woman was not worth any words back. The women then got up and moved into our row a seat down from me in front of their husbands. I looked at the husbands for the first time and then looked at the short-haired women. They looked more dated than their counterparts and that woman’s tact may have been lost with age, or as I suspect, may have just never been there to begin with.

I didn’t get riled up because she insulted me. Because she did not. She insulted my two second hair style. Now if she insulted one of my innate features that I can’t control in two seconds, I would have somehow tripped in my chair causing my bag of popcorn that was grounded firmly between my legs to somehow soar through the air to my left, getting stuck in her curly hair that she had fluffed out with a salmon pink pick (I’m sure). While I understand freedom of speech and exercise it fully, I do still believe in tact. I believe that when you are breathing a few inches away from someone that you don’t say a negative comment about that person- this includes controllable attributes- in a volume that’s used at a dinner table for eight. It’s not every day that my hair gets a shout out, especially from a woman with enough years of experience to know better. And while I wished I could watch them in my version of “Away They Go”, I asked myself a question that I should have asked Bec in a senior citizen audible volume to break the deafening silence- How can I be expected to respect my elders when they don’t respect me?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2009 5:21 am

    It’s amazing how rude some people get in their old age, but then, they were probably like that all the way through their life. It’s amazing how blunt and obvious they were about it, you were really good to not say anything. Lord knows I would have found something to comment on, just to get my own back.

    Meanwhile, I’m sure you looked great in exactly what you were wearing. And I love the pink/orange combo you’ve got in the photos =) xx

  2. July 13, 2009 8:25 am

    i’m all about neon right now…way to rock it!

  3. July 13, 2009 8:45 am

    My dearest and most sweetest Mel,
    you beautiful sunshine smiling sweetheart!!

    Oh my g***!!! Look at those legs…… I’m speechless!
    The pictures are so lovely and the outfit is vibrant and sooooo fierce!

    What a cruel situation at the cinema with the ol’ ladies….
    I wouldn’t take this personal at all. Why. When you’re getting older it’s a natural thing that perceptions are changing and some people are becoming more intolerant, restrained and are not able to deal with many things any more. Also it’s not very easy for some older ladies to react friendly and mature AND respectful to a very beautiful young(!) lady. There are many reasons and at least even if their behavior was childish and disturbing you won’t ever see them again.
    But they have to see and deal with each other again on every day. And isn’t it pain enough?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Ok, bladibla…. enough is enough…. I’ve put a bane on them now ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Much love to you, dearest precious!
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo

  4. July 13, 2009 1:41 pm

    Oh you look FANTASTIC!! Yeah I don’t believe old age is an excuse when people behave inappropriately and don’t give due respect. They must be really bitter about something in their life and that is not your problem.

  5. July 13, 2009 3:59 pm

    Absolutely in love with your colourful shoes ๐Ÿ™‚ And love the pink sweatshirt. Yikes, how rude of them! I always hate noisy and rude people in the cinema, it kind of ruins the whole experience.

  6. July 13, 2009 4:56 pm

    A. you look amazing in neon! totally brings out your tan =)

    B. HOW RUDE! Considering that you said there was an ENTIRE theater available to them and they sat behind you, it is really rude to then complain about it. And I can’t believe you even considered undoing the bun…you’re too nice.

  7. July 14, 2009 1:49 am

    hey doll, i’m not usually into neon but on you it just WORKS. 110%. looking ace.
    Ah, rude old ladies – is it wrong that I kind of secretly aspire to be one when I’m old?

  8. July 14, 2009 7:00 am

    I think you’re the only person who can pull off neon without looking like an 80’s pop icon wannabe. Great outfit! Love the headband!

    Sorry to hear about the old ladies in the cinema. I find that as people get older, they do get very set in their ways and increasingly intolerant. They seem to think that the ‘younger’ generation should bow down and treat them like kings. While I have no problem offering someone my seat on the subway, I do get irrirated when they treat people with a lack of respect.

  9. July 14, 2009 8:29 am

    everyone’s got a damn opinion. just don’t let it rent space.
    ummm…. those shoes! amazing

    having a contest chez my blog…

    *bisous*

  10. July 14, 2009 2:48 pm

    I love your shoes. Neon is so now. It’s true.
    I still wish I had a twin, you are so lucky to have Becs!

    x

  11. July 14, 2009 6:04 pm

    wow i love the retro vibe here .those neon heels are killer ! love love love .
    so cute .

  12. July 14, 2009 11:24 pm

    I looooooooooooove the colorfulness, it makes the pictures look 100X better!

  13. July 15, 2009 12:54 am

    FLUOR
    FLUOR
    WOW
    WOW

    LOVE ALL!

    lainarollercoaster.blogspot.com

  14. July 15, 2009 8:21 am

    cute! you look really good in neon mel, so tan!

    xx raez

  15. July 15, 2009 5:03 pm

    you seriously look so awesome!!! I love LOVE LOVE all the colour! bam in your face colours! haha โค

    you look amazing!

  16. July 15, 2009 8:09 pm

    Oh i love the neon colors on you, they just pop like crazy! And pay no mind to the silly old people…all they had to do was move.

  17. July 15, 2009 10:17 pm

    hey gorgeous. firstly id like to say – WOW. this outfit is so colourful, vibrant and bright. me loves it!

    secondly, i can’t believe how rude that lady was!

    x

  18. July 15, 2009 10:59 pm

    You rock that neon girl! The shoes are by far my fave! Never seen any quite like those.

  19. July 16, 2009 1:20 am

    Wow, you have a great blog!!
    Love your style, so trendy and glamurous ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Thanks for visit me ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll be back!

    xx

  20. July 16, 2009 8:38 am

    OK– first of all, I love you in neon colors. And I envy your tan and your legs!

    On to the crazy exchange with the lady at the movies… “How can I be expected to respect my elders when they donโ€™t respect me?” This lady really should have known better, but you kept it classy. It gets me so riled up when I’m in a movie theater and people start yammering on and on. Ugh. I always go about it in the passive aggressive way and get the movie theater management to pitch in. Don’t know if people have other ideas…

  21. July 16, 2009 10:20 am

    Flashdance fabulous, darling! Love the shoes especially!

    xoxox,
    CC

  22. July 16, 2009 2:24 pm

    ooh how fun!!!

  23. July 16, 2009 7:24 pm

    amaazzing. 80’s done right.

    x

    http://www.tittees.blogspot.com

  24. July 17, 2009 6:52 am

    Wow! You look totally stunning in those colours! Love the sweatshirt esp. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I cannot believe that woman! I’m not sure whether I’d manage to control myself the way you did;)

  25. July 17, 2009 8:02 am

    cool sweatshirt

    dallas
    http://dillydallas.blogpsot.com

  26. July 19, 2009 12:33 am

    You look so good in neons! I should try wearing them sometime ๐Ÿ˜‰

  27. July 20, 2009 12:25 am

    The shoes are way cooooooooooooool!
    And you have the most unbelievable gorgeous legs… how did you manage to get a pair of these hotties… do tell your training routine ๐Ÿ™‚

  28. July 20, 2009 6:19 am

    What is wrong with people? Love the 80s fabulous neon!

  29. July 23, 2009 4:55 pm

    It takes a lot of panache to pull this off… and lady do you ever pull it off!

    Love Grace.

    ps. Lovely blog you have.

  30. July 23, 2009 10:10 pm

    Oh, i’m so into neons! They don’t work on everyone, but they certainly do on you:)
    and those gorgeous legs of your! HOLY! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a fab weekend!

    xoxo
    Mimi

  31. July 27, 2009 1:56 am

    i love the sweater combined with the heels, makes it chic and sporty at the same time.
    xx

  32. July 27, 2009 7:03 am

    This look is so cute and colorful! Love it! (:

  33. August 9, 2009 5:11 pm

    major retro!!! this outfit is so killer!!! xx

Leave a Reply

