Skip to content

Kiddie Drool

July 24, 2009

When scouring Nordstrom.com last month, I clicked on the darling pink one piece bathing suit above thinking that the dimensional flowers were so feminine. What I didn’t realize is that instead of using the adjective “feminine”, I should have really used the descriptor “girly” because it is a [little] Girls bathing suit. (At the time I must have been quickly scrolling through and didn’t realize that the suit size could only fit my small child sized stuffed animal froggy, Lilly.) The strawberry print suit is also from Juicy, and is equally darling with the side ruching and bottom ruffle. I deemed these bathing suits lovelies for my future daughters, and I then decided to go into my archives and look up what Bec and I were wearing in the early 1980’s…

I love Bec’s curious look on the left. I think I’m enjoying the ankle deep water and playing with my cousins. I have two bathing suits that I bought to specifically wear as bodysuits (I love wearing pieces in unintended ways). I’d totally wear our old school bathing suits with cutoffs and call it a dress up day that went oh, just… swimmingly.

41 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2009 3:46 am

    aawww you two look cute and those floral prints are pretty! Love the petals on the Juicy swimsuit, very couture looking for a little baby=)

  2. July 24, 2009 5:35 am

    I LOVE that one on the right…and I usually hate florals. But that is just too cute.

    xox, mavi

  3. July 24, 2009 8:33 am

    AWW! Cutest babies ever!!!!!

  4. July 24, 2009 8:49 am

    Swimmingly indeed- I love that idea!

    You and Becs always have the most adorable baby pics! Cath and I have a similar on in our baby pool. Our suits aren’t patterned, but they did have ruffles- and we were fans of wearing bracelets- even when we were two- with our suits.

    So cute!

    Hope you have a fabulous weekend!

  5. July 24, 2009 9:37 am

    Awww you both look so adorable! I am in love with that strawberry(?) print suit on the far right. Hope you’re having a beautiful day dear πŸ™‚

  6. July 24, 2009 11:22 am

    HA! Our bathing suits are a bit loose on us. Why does my hair look longer than yours? Good times in the kiddie pool.

  7. July 24, 2009 12:46 pm

    The Juicy suit is adorable! Nice childhood pics! It’s crazy how styles come back around, even for little ones =)

  8. July 24, 2009 1:07 pm

    Hey sweet Mel….
    I hope all is well, darling!
    Aaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww…..
    I love the picture of you and Becs in your most adorable swimsuits! You were two of the most cutest babies ever! I love the expression in your faces! Sooooooooo beautiful!!! πŸ™‚
    Have a great weekend and give your sister a lovely hug!!!
    Sending you lots of hugs&kisses and much love always
    Sofie

  9. July 24, 2009 3:02 pm

    OMG, YOU TWO WERE SO CUTE! AHHH! And love your little bathing suits haha. I keep on seeing these cute little baby bathing suits, but really? I don’t want to drop that kind of dough! Can’t deny it though, the one on the right is suuuper adorable.

  10. July 24, 2009 5:58 pm

    hahaha that is the cutest thing!!!! you’re so enjoying the water and bec is exactly what you said – curious. that made me smile. you’re both so stylish from young ages!!! hahaha

    x

  11. July 24, 2009 7:34 pm

    i can totally see my sister in the first one.

  12. July 25, 2009 1:13 am

    cool swimsuits!!

    http://hookthelook.blogspot.com

  13. July 25, 2009 10:48 am

    OMG SO CUTE!

  14. July 25, 2009 11:44 pm

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww you and becs are so freakin cute! You ladies were stylin’ back in the day already. =P btw, moving sounds so exciting! i like that feeling, new start, traditions, and themes. update us with your ideas or anything like that.

  15. July 26, 2009 2:16 am

    Hi Mel,

    Thank you for your lovely comment πŸ™‚

    You and Becs look so cute in your little swimsuits!

    Hope you are having a great weekend!

  16. July 26, 2009 7:41 am

    OMG I love this post! Sweetest suits and baby pic ever!!!

    xoxox,
    CC

  17. July 26, 2009 12:47 pm

    Oh those bathing suits are so adorable…:-) I wish they would have my size LOL.

    Thanks so much for stopping by on my blog.

    Hope you have a lovely Sunday, much love: Evi

  18. July 26, 2009 3:04 pm

    that’s so cute!! Nordtrom has the sweetest girls swimming suit!!!

    the photos are sweet!!!

    happy sunday!

    Hanh,

  19. July 26, 2009 9:04 pm

    hey thanks for stopping by my blog, you and your sister are seriously stylish! i adore that white floral bathing suit, and what a cute picture of you guys πŸ™‚

    xx
    http://ohsohipithurts.blogspot.com

  20. July 26, 2009 11:50 pm

    The star wars ride was really awesome πŸ˜€
    Oh cutie kids

  21. July 27, 2009 1:55 am

    first and third are so cute;)!
    thanks for your comment:)
    xx

  22. July 27, 2009 4:32 am

    Ohhh those are so cute!!
    Everything I could wish for if I was a little girl πŸ˜€

  23. July 27, 2009 9:06 am

    Oh my goodness, this post is filled with oodles of cuteness, dear. Ahhh-dorable. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for your sweet comments and for taking the time to read my interview feature on LPH. Btw, your hat in the post below…. divine!! πŸ™‚

    x

  24. July 27, 2009 9:44 am

    omg those suits are so adorable!! I love the one on the far right!

    http://fashionroadkill-halifax.blogspot.com

  25. aline permalink
    July 27, 2009 10:27 am

    I wish I’ll have a baby girl some day…these swimming suits are so cute! Becs and you were already two fashion setters at the time , weren’t you? so lovely
    Thank you for your nice message on my birthday
    xoxo
    aline

  26. July 27, 2009 12:03 pm

    So cute! You guys were always rocking the poses, weren’t you πŸ™‚

  27. July 27, 2009 1:05 pm

    Awww..so adorable! I wish I’m going to have a girl one day too..so much fun to dress up and show off! Lol. xxoxoxoxo

  28. July 27, 2009 3:16 pm

    ah how cute. i like the ruffle pink suit! my niece will adore it.

  29. July 27, 2009 9:51 pm

    Look how adorable you guys were! Wish they would make that last suit in a big girl size!

  30. July 28, 2009 9:46 am

    cutest swimsuits ever!

  31. July 28, 2009 2:48 pm

    eeee! I want the floral one!!

    MGMT was good, I mean the music was amazing but their stage presence kinda sucked and they just bore jeans and T-shirts… boooring.

  32. July 28, 2009 5:24 pm

    Oh, how cute!!

  33. July 29, 2009 6:52 am

    Oh my, you guys were so adorable! (ok, you still are but in a more grown-up way πŸ˜‰ ). I love those little girl bathing suits. I think little girls have the best outfits anyway. I’ve been looking for stuff for my niece, who was born only 2 months ago, so there’s no way she can wear most of the cute stuff yet, but it’s amazing how much choice there is. It makes me wish I either had a daughter to dress up, or that they made matching adult versions of it!

  34. July 29, 2009 6:31 pm

    haha! did you and bec both have drawing contests???!!! that is the cutest thing! hahaha

    you should definitely start sketching! i only started a year ago you know.

    x

  35. July 29, 2009 10:19 pm

    i love that juicy one! soooo cute! πŸ™‚
    http://hellomisschic.blogspot.com

  36. July 30, 2009 12:04 pm

    so lovely!

    XoXo

  37. July 30, 2009 1:31 pm

    hey hun β™₯ thanks for the super sweet comment you left on my blog

    do you want to exchange links? i think your blog is amazing πŸ™‚

    *mwahhh*

    β™₯ Hannah

    ((london–rose.blogspot.com))

  38. July 30, 2009 4:19 pm

    Were you guys teh cutest babies or WHAT?? seriously adorable, love onsies too, especially zippered ones!

    xx raez

  39. July 31, 2009 12:05 am

    U and Becs both look too adorable, what a fun memory pic! Have a great weekend ahead! πŸ™‚

  40. August 3, 2009 1:58 am

    the picture is priceless!

    idk why i haven’t done this yet since i’ve enjoyed your blog for a while now! i’m adding you to my blogroll as well as bec’s πŸ™‚

    xx

Leave a Reply

