Skip to content

Splendida Stella

August 5, 2009

Vintage shirt via Nasty Gal Vintage, Topshop skirt, Cathy Jean shoes, Anthropologie earrings, “M” initial ring (formerly owned by my mom), HSN stack rings, QVC ring, Maui Divers ring

I’ve always had a healthy relationship with Mr. Bling. Ever so loyal, he extracts my inner glow and allows me to shine, sparking my love for sparkle. For example, I had a few goldfish throughout my childhood, but interestingly the only one that I remember is my beloved Starlight. Even in my high school Latin class, I chose the name Splendida Stella, which translates into Shining Star. (I took four years of Latin- the language historically spoken in Latium and Ancient Rome- and my classmates and I chose names that we went by during class. For the first two years, my name was Amabalis (meaning Friendly) and my third year, I was called Gemina (meaning Twin).) Just six months ago when choosing my blog name, I was mentally jotting down all of the words that I love- words that are vocally rad and words that mean something to me, and my heart instantly gravitated toward “Stellar”. And now in present day, Mr. Bling sprinkles me with sequins as shown above- a tangible extension of shine that does not beg to be noticed; but instead, says I’m here and I just happen to reflect the stellar that is life.

40 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2009 7:28 am

    Thank you for the comment! Wonderful post, I added you on my list.

    FM~FP~AF

  2. August 5, 2009 8:04 am

    pretty lady! perfect for night out – dancing!

  3. August 5, 2009 9:03 am

    awww you are too cute!!

  4. August 5, 2009 10:22 am

    I dont know which is is more fabulous: the top, your hair, or those earrings!

  5. August 5, 2009 11:15 am

    fantastic top. it drapes wonderfully!

  6. August 5, 2009 11:48 am

    loveeeee the blue, you look fab in it!

    xx raez

  7. August 5, 2009 1:50 pm

    Hello my sweet, how are you? How is the move going on so far? I hope everything is alright and not too stressful at all!
    Woooooooooow, what a fabulous top!! 😎 Blingblingblinkadibling πŸ™‚
    The colors are awesome! Perfect paired to a white skirt – and to your ultra long legs! And topped by the most beautiful smile! Nothing compares to it πŸ˜€
    I’m wishing you and Becs a succesful move and week and sending you lots&lots of hugs and kisses!! (and lots of sunshine, too!)
    xxx, Sofie

  8. August 5, 2009 6:11 pm

    amazing top, it looks like so much work has gone into making it! hope you showed it a good time and lots of dancing πŸ˜€

  9. August 5, 2009 6:41 pm

    I love the top, it’s so unique and the color is very pretty!

    xo
    Tina

  10. August 6, 2009 2:02 am

    What a gorgeous top! You look ready to rock and roll πŸ™‚ xxoxoxo

  11. August 6, 2009 9:58 am

    Gasp! The NGV top is ammmmmaaazing… you look so beautiful! xx

  12. August 6, 2009 11:24 am

    *gasp*

    You had me at sequins. YESSSS!

    And you are definitely stellar in my book, dear πŸ™‚

  13. August 7, 2009 4:48 am

    woah! love that uber sparkly blouse.
    x

    http://www.hippyhippychic.blogspot.com

  14. August 7, 2009 6:34 am

    Gorgeous blouse, darling!
    You look lovely!

    xoxox,
    CC

  15. August 7, 2009 11:18 am

    …and me again πŸ˜‰

    awesome blouse!!! Such a beautie-cutie πŸ˜‰

  16. August 7, 2009 6:34 pm

    such a beautiful top…you look gorg!

  17. August 8, 2009 1:56 am

    AND it is a real Pleasure to see How this sparkling shirt “GLAMorously” declines your Radiant Freshness on a so Dazzling “ready to the Party” way !!!!

    Γ  BientΓ΄t, Antoine

  18. August 8, 2009 4:47 am

    LOVE that top on you ❀ the color is great, you look gorgeous!

    xox, mavi

  19. August 8, 2009 6:08 am

    wow beautiful blouse!!!

  20. August 8, 2009 9:40 pm

    i love the name of your blog! and mr bling is really shining on you in these photos!!!!!!!!!!!! you look glimmeringly glamorous!!!!!!!!!!!

    mwaaa

    x

  21. August 8, 2009 11:48 pm

    Amazing top, u look absolutely fabulous!

  22. August 9, 2009 7:40 am

    I want that shirt! I’m such a sequins whore too! lol!
    xo!
    -Gisela
    http://www.heightsoffashion.typepad.com

  23. August 9, 2009 10:05 am

    so pretty!!

  24. August 9, 2009 10:50 am

    your sequin top is stunning and perfectly paired with those metallic heels and white skirt

  25. August 9, 2009 12:54 pm

    stunning top!! love your style! would you like to exchange links? πŸ™‚

  26. August 9, 2009 5:07 pm

    Thanks for the comment!

    That top you’re wearing is gorgeous, sparkly!! I love Nasty Gal vintage, isn’t that shop so good??

    xx Patty Ann
    alphabetachic.blogspot.com

  27. August 9, 2009 10:32 pm

    AMAAAZING JACKET. You are stunning!

  28. August 11, 2009 10:20 am

    eek, the blue is BEAUTIFUL on you. great vintage find πŸ™‚

    – nadia

  29. August 11, 2009 10:32 am

    Love the vintage top, the sequins pattern is a work of art..

  30. August 11, 2009 9:48 pm

    Your makeup is always perfect and pretty hehe. The vintage shirt looks so nice, great find.

  31. August 12, 2009 12:35 pm

    Hola guapa!!
    How are you, my sweet? How is the move going on so far?
    Sending you a lot of hugs and two BIG kisses – one to you and one to Becs!
    Miss you, girls!
    much love, sofie

  32. August 12, 2009 1:23 pm

    so gorgeous! i think i follow your sisters blog! you guys are twins right? both super gorgeous!

  33. August 13, 2009 5:31 am

    hey gorgeous!!
    thanks for your comment!!

    love your blue top! is fantastic!

  34. August 13, 2009 9:34 am

    Ah good old Latin! I studied it for a while but have retained very little knowledge, eek. Love the shirt =]

  35. asiancajuns permalink
    August 13, 2009 10:29 am

    Oh I love your connection to all things bling/stellar, Mel! It totally and completely suits you!
    Cath and I were (confusingly) called Gemelitas (little twins) in Spanish class for years.

    Hope your move is going well!

  36. August 14, 2009 4:05 pm

    Wow! That blue looks so fab on you:)

    xoxo
    Mimi

  37. August 18, 2009 2:01 am

    just found ur blog and u are so gorgeous….

  38. September 2, 2009 6:44 am

    Cool site, love the info.

  39. becs permalink
    September 2, 2009 2:53 pm

    Borrowing this from you. Sequins is so in right now! xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. Wild Wearrior « Wrecked Stellar

Leave a Reply

