Skip to content

Wild Wearrior

August 19, 2009

Torn by Ronny Kobo tank top, Topshop skirt, Report by Signature shoes via shopbop.com, Topshop headband

I had entered Shopbop’s “Most Fashionable Fan Contest” on Facebook.com for the chance to win a $500 shopping spree on the site. It’s part of my daily morning routine to wake up and go on shopbop.com and click on “What’s New” because I love that they have a few pages of new inventory every single day. It’s basically like Christmas morning on repeat. The rules were to upload a photo of myself wearing something Shopbop-inspired and to list the following:

1. Name of my outfit
2. What brands I’m wearing
3. Why my outfit is fabulous

After careful consideration, strategic planning, and my fashion intuition, I gravitated toward my Topshop feather skirt. I had wanted to pair it with something unexpected like a t-shirt, and I soon realized that my Torn by Ronny Kobo tank top was perfect because of the eagle/feathers connection and the casual vibe it brought to the outfit. I threw on the sequins headband just because I love sequins as described in my Splendida Stella post below and love the randomness it may bring to an ensemble. I knew that I wanted to incorporate brands that are sold on shopbop.com because afterall, this was their contest so I wore my Report Signature mesh heels. I had bought the tank from Shopbop as well so I was all set. And the copy- well, that came to me pretty quickly because when you’re inspired by an outfit, the descriptors just continue to flow. Below was my submission:

1. Name of my Outfit – Wild Wearrior
2. Brands Worn – Torn by Ronny Kobo tank top via shopbop.com, Topshop feather skirt, Report Signature shoes via shopbop.com, Topshop sequin headband
3. Why My Outfit is Fabulous – My feathered skirt allows my flight into the fashionable sky while my casual tank top gives me comfort and reinforces my fashionistanimal instincts. My sequin headband aids my overnight vision so that I stay enroute to fashion bliss, where I land safely in my airy mesh high heels at my destination…the only place where I actually bop when I shop: Shopbop.

I thought my submission was creative, but in the end these are the outfits of the grand prize winner and five runner-ups. The grand prize winner got the $500 spree and the runner-ups each received $100 sprees.

When I went on Facebook.com to get the link to the winners, I saw some comments in response to the winners. One sweet girl even commented, “How is it that Wild Wearrier didn’t win this contest? That is the most stylish outfit~48 people can’t be wrong!” (She’s referring to all of the “Likes” I got.) Shopbop had said, “Those who incorporated trends while maintaining a sense of individualism, whose looks showed they were comfortable in their personal style, really stood out. I love seeing girls who play with fashion and seem to genuinely enjoy it!” Even though I fit that criteria and still didn’t come out victorious, the Wild Wearrier in me will be dressed and prepped for the next battle as a result of the most fun and collaborative play dates that I’ve been having with Miss Fashion.

38 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2009 6:34 am

    I think your outfit is amazing esp the feather skirt. Any outfit that incorporates that skirt should win!! I adore your outfits, you always manage to make me incredibly jealous;) If you get a chance can you please check out my blog:

    http://www.schuhstreet.typepad.com/

    Carol x

  2. August 19, 2009 7:00 am

    What a fun and fashionable outfit! Sorry you didn’t win!
    I think I’d swish all day in that skirt πŸ™‚

  3. August 19, 2009 8:06 am

    Your shoes are gorgeous! love them. πŸ™‚

    Xx

  4. August 19, 2009 8:33 am

    Hello my love – Miss Fashion Splendida Stella πŸ˜€
    believe it or not – I’m checking your blog up to four times a day and I’ve checked it before I left home – and there was still the last post, hehe.
    So glad to see a new post, my precious! How are you? How is Becs?! How is the moving? Did it finished yet or still going on? I hope you’re both well and in a good mood! Moving is such a pain, but it’s also a fine thing as well when you can sort out so much old stuff and garbage. A moving is always the time when I’m archiving my tons of fashion magazines… πŸ˜‰
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    Meeeeeeeeeeeeel, I was waiting for your outfit post when you’re going to wear that fricking hot feather skirt by Topshop!!! You look so hot, so beautiful, so amaaaaaaaazing! 8-D – telescope eyes with mouth wide open!
    I loooove how you’ve paired it with that rockin’ shirt with golden wings and the golden sequined headband! ROCKSTAR LOOK!!!
    Swwwwwwwwwwwooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooon!!
    Sending you lots and lots and lots of hugs and kisses – please give Becs a ton as well πŸ˜€ much love + happy wednesday, precious!! sofie

  5. August 19, 2009 8:42 am

    ps. simply forgot – sorry that you didn’t win on shopbop.com – like the site very much, too! but after checking the winning outfits out i can’t get a clue about their criteria…. :-S emmm…
    your outfit rocks and so do you – you would have deserved it to win!!!!!!
    xoxo sofie

  6. August 19, 2009 8:55 am

    Gorgeous, darling!
    Love that skirt so!

    xoxox,
    CC

  7. August 19, 2009 9:56 am

    What the WHAT??? How did you not win that MEL??? That’s crazy! Well, this is no equivalent to a $500 consolation prize, but I can guarantee that your outfit is far more inspiring than those other lovely ladies. They look great for sure, but your’s makes me want to go play in my closet and come up with something less mundane and rote (like my outfits have been lately). If the AsianCajuns had a fashion prize it would most certainly have gone to you!

    ps- Is that your new balcony? How are you and Becs settling in to your new digs?

  8. August 19, 2009 1:45 pm

    fantastic outfit – i love it x

  9. August 19, 2009 5:24 pm

    Amazing skirt!!!! ❀

    xxx

  10. August 20, 2009 4:49 am

    wow this is amazing! very suprising that you didnt win! what was the girl who won wearing? this is a seriously great combination, love that skirt! it certainly is different πŸ™‚

    xx
    http://ohsohipithurts.blogspot.com/

  11. August 20, 2009 8:06 am

    OMG. i want that skirt.

  12. August 20, 2009 9:56 am

    Wooow. how fabulous is this feather skirt!!!!
    I adore the color!!!
    AWESOME!!
    The gold sequined headband looks so beautiful with your long black hair!!!!

    Have a beautiful day!!!

  13. August 20, 2009 2:01 pm

    AND according to me beyond this “Official Rank” these (all-happy with such an envious position !!!) Wings ARE the Roaring Allegory of your “GLAM Rock/GLAMazon-esque Fashion Victory” with a playful/creative silhouette like that !!!

    Γ  BientΓ΄t, Antoine

  14. Jhe'anell permalink
    August 20, 2009 4:45 pm

    bbboooo – you totally should have one! This outfit is amazing!

  15. August 20, 2009 7:39 pm

    that skirt is bananas!! love it!

  16. August 21, 2009 12:17 am

    seriously, how did you not win! the other outfits are cute, but you have the most creative one! FAB

    would you wear this out? and where too??

    xx Patty Ann
    AlphaBetaChic.blogspot.com/

  17. August 21, 2009 12:22 am

    i dont know what’ my favorite part of this outfit!!! its so wildly cool

    xx Patty Ann
    AlphaBetaChic.blogspot.com/

  18. August 21, 2009 4:53 am

    What is your country? to be in “LOOK 10”
    Greetings

  19. August 21, 2009 5:43 am

    WILD INDEED..LOVE IT! THAT SKIRT IS KILLER GRL!

    One Love,
    Jowy

  20. August 21, 2009 7:05 am

    I love that skirt! I don’t think any of those outfits are as creative as yours…

  21. August 21, 2009 7:14 am

    I adore that outfit! Can’t believe you didn’t win! While the girls who won are well-dressed, I wouldn’t call their looks incredibly creative… sigh. I love how you paired that feather skirt with the vest and the sequined headband. Hope you guys have settled in to your new apt. and have a fab weekend!

  22. August 21, 2009 8:59 am

    You are already on “LOOK 10”, if you are interested, please check and do some comment.
    Remember that you can ask for a change of look, even sending a photo with the look you think it’s better, but please make sure that the picture has an acceptable resolution.
    YOU ARE ON:http://look10.blogspot.com/2009/08/wreck-stellar-h-steve-madden-nordstrom.html
    And if you want you can post a comment on your entry:http://look10.blogspot.com/2009/08/wreck-stellar-h-steve-madden-nordstrom.html
    making some indications about the look presented.

    You can also ask to be removed from LOOK 10.
    Pick your prize, saying NOMINATED, if you want. It’s for your blog.
    Greetings
    Vicen.

  23. August 21, 2009 10:59 am

    Wow. You certainly deserved to be at least in the top finalists! Love that feather skirt on you, and of course, I have a fondness for the sequins.. so the headband kills me! Hope you enjoy your weekend, dear! xx

  24. August 21, 2009 1:54 pm

    i hope you win the contest //// ilove this skirt and the eeagle t shirt . its very edgy

  25. August 22, 2009 12:51 pm

    hey sweetie, an award is waiting for you on my blog….. πŸ™‚ wishing you and becs a wonderful + sunny weekend! xoxo

  26. August 22, 2009 9:29 pm

    hiiiiiiiiii beautiful!!! grrr.. cannot believe you didn’t win! but nonetheless, we got to see your awesome outfit!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ love it so so much girl! missed you! how are you and your sis going? have you settled in to your new place yet? MWA

  27. August 24, 2009 3:34 am

    Hi Mel,

    Your outfit is so fun…the torn vest does indeed go very well with that skirt! I checked out the other people but their outfits were kind of safe and not much creativity! πŸ˜‰

    Have a lovely week!

  28. August 24, 2009 12:29 pm

    gorgeous!! i really adore your blog πŸ™‚

  29. August 25, 2009 6:55 am

    how did you not win?! this outfit is incredible! i’m sure you had the most original look. at least you own this outfit. that is winning in and of itself!

    xo

    http://www.tittees.blogspot.com

  30. August 25, 2009 10:30 pm

    YOU WERE ROBBED! That’s such a great outfit!! I have skirt envy.

    And I’d probably want to move back to the Bay Area, which is where I went to grad school. I miss it so much! Fiance is looking at homes in our price range as we speak. =)

  31. August 26, 2009 9:04 am

    Wow, love your outfits!
    Such pretty style!

  32. August 26, 2009 11:29 pm

    SO feisty, i likeeeeeey. Dang, that skirt is too awesome!

  33. August 28, 2009 6:52 am

    this is sooooo fun! I’ve been thinking about getting a feather skirt, but I’m just worried I will wear it once and never again.
    fyi: I just love you attitude toward fashion!!

  34. Clare permalink
    August 28, 2009 9:02 am

    I am sooo surprised you didn’t win that contest! That is prolly the cutest and most creative outfit I have seen in a long time! Plus, you look so pretty in that photo! Please, those facebook people are crazy. You are a winner to us!

  35. August 28, 2009 9:31 am

    I just stumbled across your blog, and you should have won. Even websites like shopbob, while claiming to embrace the weird and truly unique, are too scared to take a risk. The outfits that they chose were obviously just weird enough (ie: The general [read: unfashionable] public has yet to embrace these styles, making them weird, but the styles have been seen in magazines and on streets, making them not too weird), and not truly original.

    But, you took your loss with great grace, and I think that is the sign of a true fashion lover. Blog on, sista.

  36. August 30, 2009 1:11 am

    gorgeous outfit
    i so love everything about it

  37. September 1, 2009 11:57 am

    Fantastic skirt.

  38. September 13, 2009 10:53 am

    OMG! I”m in love with your skirt:) it would be perfect on a dance floor:)
    xoxo
    Mimi

Leave a Reply

