Skip to content

The Wild Thing

October 25, 2009

Topshop Mongolian sheepskin gilet, Topshop sequin hotpants, Bebe shoes, Where the Wild Things film still via Urban Outfitters

Sometimes you just gotta let your inner wild thing out. Mine happens to be pink.

I figured I should get my quality time in with the wild things since I’ve surrendered being Max or Carol for Halloween. While en route to a wig shop in Hollywood for Bec’s costume, I spotted a costume store and stopped in. There were tons of risque costumes- some that even made me blush- but I caved and bought a “sexy” army outfit. Photos to come, but let me tell you, I’m relieved that’s out of the way. I’ve only ever bought one other mass produced costume from a store- an “Enchantress” costume. It was fuscia and came with a faux fur stole, as well as an open interpretation because I didn’t/still don’t even know what it meant.Β  However, I did know/thought that I was the hottest little 6th grader with my curled hair and pink lips. I was fortunate to have my mom sew all of my other costumes, and I felt so special wearing her creations. This reminds me that I need her to teach me how to sew so I can make love (equals clothes).

25 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 9:11 am

    This is a lovely and fun outfit! It looks very warm too and something that can be layered on later when the temps dip down. =)

    I just finalized my costume too last night. I was debating whether to buy or just put together something from my closet. Deep inside though, I really want to come as a dominatrix but there will be kids at the party so might be a little hard to explain to them what a dominatrix is, haha.

    Have a great Sunday!

  2. October 25, 2009 9:33 am

    Love Ur gilet!

    Thanks Ur lovely comment, Honey!

    XoXo

    P.S.: Exchange bloglink?

  3. October 25, 2009 12:04 pm

    Hi there-thats a fabulous gilet and such a cute outfit! Thanks for stopping by too my dear!

  4. October 25, 2009 12:42 pm

    Haha, that gilet is SO cool, and I looove your shoes. Yay for the film still, it looks great. Hope you’re having a beautiful weekend πŸ™‚

  5. October 25, 2009 4:43 pm

    mel! you look gorgeous! love the painting! goes so well with your outfit!
    big hugs ❀

  6. October 25, 2009 6:01 pm

    you look amazing in that vest. I can’t wait to you and Becs in costume. I’m going as Yoko Ono (not hot) and Lar is going as Lady GaGa (hot!).

  7. October 25, 2009 6:19 pm

    you look like a Hawaiian princess πŸ™‚

    x

  8. October 26, 2009 3:11 am

    I loooooove your gilet and the painting!

    xxx

  9. October 26, 2009 4:31 pm

    gorge gilet, love the shoes too. You look gorge honey
    xx
    marian

  10. October 26, 2009 7:21 pm

    No way could I carry that off and you make it look effortless!

  11. October 27, 2009 8:59 am

    Gorgeous photos!!!

  12. October 27, 2009 8:46 pm

    You got a whole boatload of goodies! I totally covet that Mongolian gilet. I’ve been wanting a great colorful one like that for sometime.

  13. October 28, 2009 4:55 am

    love these pics – you look fab x

  14. October 28, 2009 6:47 am

    Love your cute shaggy top! I was wondering why you look so familiar, you girls must be twins:)

  15. October 28, 2009 8:39 am

    Stunning and darling look ~ love it, darling!
    And your manicure is fantastic!

    xoxox,
    CC

  16. October 28, 2009 1:13 pm

    You look so beautiful! The color is amazing! I adore your hair and makeup! xxooxxo

  17. October 28, 2009 3:33 pm

    FIERCE and loving it. You look oh so pretty! The hair and lipcolor is such a radical change!! In a good way of course =]

  18. October 28, 2009 4:11 pm

    Lovely photos! And love your style – the top is amazing, its colours are WOOWWWzz!

  19. Chris permalink
    October 28, 2009 4:46 pm

    Great photo shoot, you’ve certainly convinced me that the movie would be a lot better if you were in it, haha. πŸ˜‰

  20. October 28, 2009 9:54 pm

    this is such a cute outfit for halloween. i just saw the movie this past weekend. definitely not what i was expecting.

    p.s. those shoes are hot.

  21. October 29, 2009 12:13 am

    You’re very pretty, love your gilet

  22. October 29, 2009 5:14 am

    I love these photos!!! Your outfit is killer. I think Max would approve!

  23. October 29, 2009 9:16 am

    I don’t think I have ever laid eyes on anything as spectacular as that gillet. What a gorgeous find! πŸ™‚

  24. October 30, 2009 1:52 am

    Awesome photos and outfit, love your nailpolish!
    X, fashion-nerdic.

  25. October 30, 2009 9:13 am

    what a cute outfit. xo have a lovey spooky weekend.

Leave a Reply

