Skip to content

Camo Kegger

November 4, 2009

Halloween cheer abounded through the halls of my company on Friday while a group of 14 of us gathered in a corner office to assemble our costumes for the Group Costume Contest. My company’s kitchen keg was laid to rest this year so we dressed as red Solo keg cups in remembrance. This is my beloved associate project manager, Heather, who I call “Tay” as in Rachel Zoe’s Taylor. In a previous post, I had said I was going to dress as Rachel and she would dress as Taylor since we are a rad power team like that. However, we decided to join the group again this year since we had won our company’s Group Costume Contest last year. But we realized we don’t need Halloween to dress up so we do plan on donning Rachel and Taylor threads in the near future. On a side note but completely related, we saw Taylor, Brad, and Joey from The Rachel Zoe Project at Saturday brunch, and it turned my sick day into sickkkk. We were actually en route to a familiar brunch spot, but the boyfriend suggested this other place as we drove past it, so Bec turned the car around, we went in, and there they were. Fate much?

When you have keg cups, you gotta have a Rodney keg!

Hollie looked adorable as a cowgirl- loved her drawn on freckles. I’m getting shiny, ie. sweaty in the costume despite being in a tank top and leggings. We had all wanted to be color coordinated so we wore white on top to go with the cotton ball beer foam and black bottoms.

Fellow blogger, Zack, of Unvegan.com

Moments before they announced our victory and our prize- a pizza party. Ironically, last year we used our prize money for a pizza party lunch. I’m in the back wiping off neck sweat (kidding… I think).

On to Friday night and an exclusive peek at Lady Gaga getting ready. (She also asked to borrow my Topshop sequin hotpants that I have yet to wear and I obliged because, well, it’s the Lady G.)

I had really wanted to be a Wild Thing from Where the Wild Things Are, but while having anxiety about how I was going to pull together a furry suit and en route to a Hollywood wig store for Lady Gaga, we passed a solid costume store. I weeded through the risque costumes and came out with this soldier one piece, which matched Amber’s hot Mad Hatter costume. We’re at her house party in the Hollywood Hills.

Immediately after buying my costume we went to Target for some shelf liners and apparently some inspiration- the red and white Target logos conjured up visions of the adored Waldo. A recommend later and my boyfriend created his look with vintage finds.

I never knew Waldo had a cane, but we looked up photos and he did have one.

Saturday night, post-USC loss (for him) and post-win for the Yankees (me), we ventured out to the West Hollwyood Carnaval. I have to say he was amazing in taking care of a very ill me. While I napped in the afternoon, he went and got me Dayquil, Theraflu, bottled water, and toilet paper (he thought I didn’t have any even though I’m stocked up). Feeling a little better, I decided to change it up a little and wear my hair in a side braid and add Makeup Forever red lips. I also kept warm in a faux leather jacket and cashmere fingerless gloves that I had bought last year but never worn until then.

Random guy dressed as I don’t even know what who wanted to take a photo with James. Numerous people wanted to take photos with him, and it was hilarious when people yelled out, “Where’s Waldo?” or “I found Waldo!”.  Everyone’s inner child loves Waldo!

My own inner child got uber excited when I spotted a guy dressed as Falcor from The Neverending Story. He had attached the Falcor head on his stomach and Falcor’s tail on his back- not sure how he managed to keep it up. I really wanted to take a photo with him, but Falcor flew through the crowd while people exclaimed, “Dude, it’s Falcor!!!”.

Even though their tour’s been cancelled, Lady Gaga and Kanye are still super fresh.

Kanye at the VMAs. I heart Taylor Swift.

Two Lady Gagas are better than one. (The left one also borrowed my Bebe blue fishnets that I have yet to wear. She better not have snagged them up.) I’m also glad the Geico got in there.

A Wild Thing. We think.

He asked me for a photo-op. Damn, his pants are tight.

While taking a photo of the adorable Disney teacups, I was like, “Man, quit ruining my picture!”. Looked at the photo on my camera and didn’t realize it was Michael Jackson.

Jon and Kate plus 8. Complete with both CZ earrings. Yessssss.

Two Mr. Fredricksens and three Russells from the Pixar animated film, Up.

I passed my germs on to Lady Gaga in hopes I’d discover what orange juice she drinks. What ever will she choose??????

Minute Maid with High Pulp!!!!!!

I also found Waldo at Ralphs. He’s everywhere nowadays.

Sunday brunch buffet at Duke’s in Malibu. I stuffed myself silly with the chocolate covered strawberries.

That was my weekend in photos! Hope everyone has a stellar week!

32 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 7:52 am

    Soooo cooool!

    X♥X♥

  2. November 4, 2009 8:38 am

    You, GaGa and your man candy all looked awesome. Bet it’s fun to party with your crew!

  3. November 4, 2009 9:27 am

    I truly think you may have had the most fabulous Halloween ever. You look absolutely stunning as a soldier! And Where’s Waldo? was there! And Jon and Kate Plus Eight! I have to admit, these are definitely some of the best costumes I have ever seen! 🙂

  4. November 4, 2009 10:11 am

    Such fun costumes, darling Becs!
    Love you in that camo outfit!

    xoxox,
    CC

  5. November 4, 2009 12:08 pm

    oh wow you guys look so awesome .. i lvoe your costume especially because its something that required more than an everyday clothing…
    oh my god you seriosuly saw brad?!!!!!!

  6. November 4, 2009 12:12 pm

    You all deserved to win the group costume. The “Up” costumes were some of my favs of the night!

  7. November 4, 2009 1:53 pm

    OMG where do i start! i lovee this post. I LOVE ALL THINGS HALLOWEEN! the red cups group costume is a hoot. lady gaga looks hot! i’m dying over the jon & kate plus 8 costume. i don’t get the kanye one but then i don’t get taylor swift either. haha. sorry. and you lady look fabulous! looks like fun times for sure!

  8. November 4, 2009 1:59 pm

    You are such hot stuff!
    I love that how, between yours’ and Bec’s pics, I feel like I was with you guys on Halloween 😀

  9. November 4, 2009 4:19 pm

    Haha, that is a great company! Loving the costumes looks like so much fun!!

  10. November 4, 2009 6:31 pm

    Hey! It was so nice meeting you at the fashion show! Your halloween looked like it was a lot of fun! Hope to run into you at other shindigs! C’est si bon! =]

    -KVN

  11. November 4, 2009 9:00 pm

    you look beautifull sista

  12. November 5, 2009 1:50 am

    love your costume! and btw, it was also really nice meeting you at the Gen Art fashion show 🙂

  13. November 5, 2009 9:38 am

    LOVE all the costumes!

  14. November 5, 2009 9:51 am

    Wow must have been a fun night! the group costume is so cool!! and oh, you and your sister look super sexy.. I esp like the mesh detail of your costume..=)

  15. November 5, 2009 10:09 am

    Awesome outfits!! you have a killer body woman! work it! PS: I’d love for you to join our very first contest to win a Versace scarf! Please visit us and enter!
    xo!
    Gisela
    http://www.heightsoffashion.typepad.com

  16. November 5, 2009 11:43 am

    wow that was a huge post, looks like SOOOO much fun for halloween!!!
    and i totally LOL’d when i saw that guy in the tight camo pants
    and i’ve never seen so much orange juice
    ANDDDDDDDDDD you and your bf are sooooooo cute together!
    xxx

  17. November 5, 2009 1:28 pm

    Your costumes are awesome, Mel! I love how creative you work place is (none of us were in costume- le sigh), and you and Becs look great the night of! Glad you had so much fun! All the photos are hilarious!

  18. November 5, 2009 1:47 pm

    Hello sweet Mel and thanks for leaving your comment!

    It´s always a pleasure to come to your blog and to see
    your cute, funny and simply adorable photos!!!

    Wishing you a happy sunny day!!!

  19. November 5, 2009 2:16 pm

    Wow!! Awesome pictures!! You have such a great body Mel!! Those chocolate-covered strawberries look so delicious! Yum! xoxoxoxo

  20. November 5, 2009 2:21 pm

    hihi there she is again that gaga- hehe- you both look smashing- and i gotta say— i wanna dress up too!!soon. looks like such a fun night.great costumes too.
    wish you a great friday. take care xx ediot

  21. November 5, 2009 2:32 pm

    you look absolutely fabulous. xo

  22. November 5, 2009 7:46 pm

    Lol it looks like you had so much fun. So many costume changes!

  23. November 5, 2009 11:28 pm

    I totally love your blog, it is so avant-garde! I am now following you via rss feed, I bet you’ll love my blog fashionista and follow me too! right? 😉

    @ MaisonChaplin.blogspot.com

  24. November 5, 2009 11:41 pm

    I love all of the costumes! You all looked so great!

  25. November 5, 2009 11:49 pm

    That was one wicked weekend in pictures, I’m glad there were pictures! Your costume is banging…I may be more referring to the army chick look!

  26. November 6, 2009 11:55 am

    Looks like you had an amazing weekend, great pictures!

  27. November 6, 2009 12:26 pm

    Hiya Mel!
    I was confused at first, thought I was seeing double lol
    then I thought, but of course! Becs’ sis! haha
    love your costume, totally rad!
    xoxo

  28. November 6, 2009 2:29 pm

    OOoooooh AND it Really would be such a Great Pleasure to be savagely attacked by a stunningly smiling “leggy-licious” soldier like you Dear !!!

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  29. November 9, 2009 12:43 pm

    Hey sweets!
    How are you? 🙂

    You guys both looked awesome for Halloween! 🙂

    xoxo
    Mimi

  30. November 11, 2009 5:14 pm

    Damn, people be loving your blog, especially that really cool unvegan dude in the red solo cup next to you…

  31. November 11, 2009 8:04 pm

    Halloween is so much fun! I love dressing up in costumes 🙂 Looks like it was a lot of fun!

  32. November 12, 2009 9:50 pm

    It looks like you guys had such a great time! Love your cameo outfit…nothing to be blushing about its not too skin revealing (i remember you saying that somewhere haha). Your boy’s waldo outfit it fab too…..halloweens are too fun!

Leave a Reply

