Skip to content

Osby

November 10, 2009

Meet Osby. Born in 2007, ie. this little guy came into my world when my friend, Izzy, gave him to me. He was named after the University of Maryland basketball player, Bambale Osby, who is now playing on a professional basketball team in Israel. His curiously angled eyebrows paired with a hopeless, neverending (for reals) smile, and accented with those downright fun ears make him my cluelessly adorable buddy.

Osby’s being all fancy rad wearing the “hear no evil” monkey charm necklace that I got at the Melrose Trading Post in LA last winter. Having gone to the Meadowlands Flea Market in New Jersey many weekends with my parents (not many vintage clothes when we had gone years ago, but Bec and I went for the beautiful silver jewelry and humungous soft pretzels), I’ve really grown to enjoy this type of treasure hunting. This past Sunday, I left the Rose Bowl Flea Market empty-handed, aside from a frozen lemonade that I almost didn’t find until running into one of my friends, Renee, who basically saved me from dehydration and devastation looking at my free hands. Here’s what I left behind:

– 40s cream sweatshirt that had big bold black “007” on the front, along with a minor brown stain… I could deal with the stain, but I could not deal with the $250 price tag.

– Light blue sweatshirt that said “Election Night 1964” on the front and said “NBC News” on the back. This one had minor stains throughout the soft cotton. If only it was an election that I cared about. I mean, I did do an extensive project on Lyndon B. Johnson in my 8th grade History class, but having no strong feelings toward that election, I’m just not going to go down as a poser like that, especially when it comes to politics… even if it was a mere $55 bargain compared to the previous sweatshirt.

– A 3/4 sleeve faded navy t-shirt that said “Ugly, Mean and Nasty” caught my eye for the humor factor. It could be considered ironic if I wore it which I was hoping for had I bought it or it could be considered fact- and I really, realllly, reallllllllllllly didn’t want to be called mean. The other two I could take, but being deemed a meanie would have been the pits! I put in a call to Bec (we separated when she proceeded to debate over two black blazers that I didn’t care about), who quickly deferred to me being called ugly so I put the t-shirt back and walked away with $12 still in my nasty pocket, ie. it still unfortunately had all of my money that I came armed with and I wanted my pocket to be full of the beautiful finds that ended up in non-existence. However, I’m regretting leaving the little guy there since I realized I spend more than that to park my car in a Hollywood lot for one night out. One parking space for four hours versus potentially 400 wears- yeah, I’m now ugly, mean and nasty dumb.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 7:34 am

    Cute monkey!

    XoXo

  2. November 10, 2009 8:46 am

    Aw, how adorable is he:D

  3. November 10, 2009 10:51 am

    Aaahh, so cute and I’m in love with the necklace! But don’t you just hate leaving great finds behind… sigh. xxx

  4. Roosty permalink
    November 10, 2009 12:41 pm

    I can’t believe you let Bec persuade you not to get the Ugly, Mean, and Nasty shirt! You totally missed out on a crucial buy 😦 Tay expected more of you.

  5. November 10, 2009 3:26 pm

    I stand by my persuasion of you to not get that Ugly, Mean and Nasty shirt due to the mis-interpretation it could potentially cause. BTW, you don’t always have to listen to me either. πŸ™‚ Dude, you just called yourself dumb…

  6. November 11, 2009 3:19 am

    I was delighted to see that you’d given Osby a ‘hear no evil’ charm. πŸ˜€

    I just couldn’t believe how expensive those items were considering they were second hand! πŸ˜›

  7. November 11, 2009 4:29 am

    Cute! Haha! =]

  8. November 11, 2009 10:00 am

    hello osby lol xox

  9. Clare permalink
    November 11, 2009 6:17 pm

    Ahhh how cute! Ahhh don’t you just hate leaving behind great find?!!! It drives me bonkers! But I suppose we are all pinching pennies now-a-days! Have an awesome night, lovely!

  10. November 12, 2009 9:33 pm

    Cutie Osby! Awwww, i wish i had flea bowls are something similar here to hunt around for stuff. Keep digging and show us the goods! =]

Leave a Reply

