Skip to content

I Long for You No More

November 17, 2009

My arms are actually sore from carrying all of my Long Beach Antique Market finds. It doesn’t help that I was sweating in my LA Dodgeball Society t-shirt, Nightcap Clothing leggings, Dita Dynasty sunglasses, Free People boots, topped off by an oversized Pixie sweater that I had finally freed my body from only 20 minutes before leaving. Fortunately, my Marc by Marc Jacobs bag didn’t add to my overdressing and proved to be a trustworthy companion. Here’s the composition of my heavy lifting:

I adore this $5 quirky bag with Old English lettering. I’m pretty picky about the interiors of vintage bags, which is why I don’t have any, but this has a pristine inner lining and looks like it’s never been used.

Good- the back even has writing. I want everyone to know I’m part of the “IN” club.

This faux fur has arm straps to keep it in place. Bonussss.

Bec was convinced this 60s mod dress wasn’t going to fit me- in particular, she was betting me that I wouldn’t be able to zip it up all the way. Well, she was 50% right. I can zip it up fine, but it’s a mini-mini dress. I’m just going to wear it with tights and consider me sufficiently covered up.

The embroidered little guy was calling out to me. I’ll be wearing this maxi dress with brown boots.

I won’t be wearing this robe as such. Instead, I’ll be throwing it over a white tank and denim cut-offs- the perfect contrast between the extreme lengths.

The handmade price tag on this said it’s a Vanity Fair pool cover up. However, for my purposes, the thin velvet-like material is going to serve me well as a dress.

Oversized jewelry with distinct personalities.

Fierce. Bec was scared.

A nod to Medieval Times. I still love that place.

Trojan warriors. One’s power is even radiating.

An Aztec warrior aka my personal bodyguard.

Him too.

I like the idea of nations uniting around my wrist.

P.S.- The countries are upside down. To my surprise, I received a small scholarship for “Excellence in Social Studies” in my senior year of high school, but it took my boyfriend to point out my geographical error.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane Davis permalink
    November 17, 2009 3:47 pm

    Mel – I love that bracelet of nations. Very fun and different. i need to find some flea markets to go to around dc.

  2. November 17, 2009 5:43 pm

    Man, what amazing finds I am SOO jealous!! 🙂

    The jewelry is fantastic!! x

  3. Roosty permalink
    November 17, 2009 5:51 pm

    I want that lion necklace!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. November 17, 2009 7:13 pm

    the jewelry is amazing. great finds!

    xo

  5. November 18, 2009 10:09 am

    Haha- you look so cute hauling your loot! And what fabulous finds. I need to visit one of those markets sometime. Maybe next time I’m in SoCal.

  6. November 18, 2009 2:06 pm

    oh my god OMG!!! that aztec warrior was meant for me … incredible

  7. November 18, 2009 8:21 pm

    That jewelry collection is amazing! Love the Medieval Times reference. Makes me want to go!

  8. November 18, 2009 8:31 pm

    lol i love how you got the countries upside down and that your bf pointed it out!!! haha that’s something i would do.

    you look so pweeetty!

    hope you have an awesome day gorgeous!!! big hugs to you MWA

  9. November 19, 2009 4:17 pm

    These photos make me think Paparazzi while on Errands- I love that! 🙂

    too cute, and there’s 2 of you!? ❤

    xx

  10. November 23, 2009 9:04 am

    You are the queen of finding amazing swag – you are probably one of the only people on the planet who can rock red leggings and a blue tee proclaiming Dodgeball Society. Ooh, I absolutely love you! 🙂

  11. November 25, 2009 3:48 am

    Laidback and cool!

  12. November 25, 2009 1:11 pm

    Love the Marc gold purse. Too cute. And I’m kicking myself for not getting that lion necklace!

  13. December 1, 2009 10:56 pm

    Wow, jackpot! That’s some amazing jewelry!

  14. anotherfishinthesea permalink
    December 6, 2009 11:45 am

    I love your jewelry finds! Can’t wait to see what you style them with!

  15. December 6, 2009 12:57 pm

    I love love loooove the costume jewelry! Great finds darling!

  16. December 6, 2009 8:51 pm

    anotherfishinthesea- Funny you should say that because I actually wore 2 necklaces and the cuff today and took photos! Will need to check out the photos first to see if they came out OK 🙂 xo

  17. December 15, 2009 7:06 pm

    i want that fur… 🙂

  18. Jamie permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:13 pm

    Wow – nice finds! Treasures!

Leave a Reply

