Skip to content

400 Hurdles, 400 Opportunities to Overcome

December 4, 2009

Ralph Lauren men’s sweater, Free People cami, American Apparel shorts, Jessica Simpson shoes, Bebe bow headband

This Ralph Lauren men’s varsity sweater is a similar version of the one that had alluded me last winter, causing an [over]analysis of what went awry in my fourth ever blog post. (I’d also like to note that the aforementioned Topshop floral corset dress eventually became mine when it miraculously came back in stock).

The varsity style takes me back to my high school track and cross country years when I proudly wore my varsity letterman winter jacket and windbreaker. In my winter and spring track seasons, I primarily ran the 400 meter (m) hurdles, individual 400m, 4x400m relays, and sprint medleys as the 400m leg, as well as other races such as the 100m hurdles, 100m, 200m, 600m, and 800m. I was also a long jumper and a [semi] triple jumper- or at least I attempted to conjur up the required coordination in meets. While I stopped running when I got to college (with the exception of running to class), I have the best memories and have taken this notion away that runs silently, yet constantly, through my head-

I never learned my limits- and better yet, I learned that I don’t have any. The moments I thought I had reached my limits- whether it was feeling immobile on the last track straightaway with a herd of hurdles to tackle in a close race (and wondering if the officials would notice if I crawled right through the barriers)… to running on dry sand around a lake in a cross country meet (when all I wanted to do was cannonball jump- or with my then energy level, fall into the dirty water and float)… to running up the same steep hill 20 times in 10 degree snow-falling weather during practice (while I deliriously envisioned stripping my four layers of warmth/Marshmallow Man likeness, collapsing, and making snow angels- if I was still able to move, that is)- I learned that I can achieve so much more if I don’t limit myself to the cannots. This realization- this intimate understanding with myself- got me through the LA Marathon with zero training, 1,000 different kinds of pain in my legs, and all of the beliefs in the world that my being- body and spirit- is limitless.

70 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 3:27 am

    I’ve never seen a varsity sweater look this sexy! And love the shoes! I think it’s amazing what the human body and mind can achieve and how much you can push both to do the most amazing things. My little sis-in-law has just joined the British air force and I think she’s thrilled at what she can push herself to, although I’m pretty sure all her friends will be terrified of her strength when they see her again πŸ˜‰

  2. December 4, 2009 6:55 am

    Aloha! Great pics and outfit, the AA shorts make every outfit look so sexy do they not!?
    Have a good weekend!

  3. December 4, 2009 7:24 am

    Varsity is such a great look, I went through the most obsessive Lauren phase myself not so long ago…

  4. December 4, 2009 8:23 am

    Hey Mel,

    WOW! The boyfriend RL cardi is stunning on U! :-))))

    P.S.: Don’t forget to enter the Ellington headband giveaway! Are U ready a winter party or New Year party? ENTER!

    Xβ™₯Xβ™₯

  5. December 4, 2009 10:16 am

    i’m in love with your ralph lauren varsity sweater! you look great! (and i love how your heels match) πŸ™‚

  6. December 4, 2009 11:47 am

    Hi there-you look fabulous and the cardi is most covetable, I love it!!

  7. December 4, 2009 12:20 pm

    Great sweater!

    clothedmuch.blogspot.com

  8. December 4, 2009 11:19 pm

    That sweater is adorable and WOW lady. You are smokin’!

  9. December 6, 2009 12:52 am

    Love the varsity look, real hot!

  10. December 6, 2009 2:19 am

    You have a gorgeous body!
    I look on your sisters blog too, keep on going girls!
    X, fashionnerdic

  11. December 6, 2009 7:05 am

    i love this post and i have been looking for a jacket/sweater like that for a super long time, yours is amazing, im jealous,haha!

  12. December 6, 2009 7:06 am

    love this post,amazing jacket!

  13. December 6, 2009 8:10 am

    Wooooow Frankly What a seductive “Track and Field” Allegory you are Dear Mel !!!!
    ps: I really like the way your carmine shoes tend to instil a sulfurous twist of “Urban Elegance” on your “Sportswear-issime” silhouette . . . AND flawless “BOMBnextDoor-esque” BODY (“Beads of sweat”) !!!!

    Γ  BientΓ΄t, Antoine

  14. December 6, 2009 10:11 am

    Ohmigosh that sweater is so adorable. I’m having visions of Grease! I have always wanted a varsity sweater/jacket myself – I think I need to buy this. And could you look anymore gorgeous?! πŸ™‚

  15. December 6, 2009 11:59 am

    OMG!! What a little sexy kitten you are! I love the way you wore the sweater… The shorts are da BOMB! And the shoes are adorable… Love your tan and your gorg legs! Stunning all around! xoxo

  16. December 6, 2009 12:11 pm

    Cute sweater! It looks so comfy and preppy. I totally agree with you about that exhilarating feeling when you push your body beyond the mental limits you put yourself on. That’s the thing that made me fall in love with running too, although I haven’t been able to keep it up lately since it’s cold and I’m over worked 😦

  17. December 6, 2009 1:38 pm

    Woot woo! Love that topper! Super cute post. πŸ™‚

  18. December 6, 2009 3:26 pm

    love this sweater!!!

  19. December 6, 2009 3:57 pm

    rock hard abs, i am so jealousssss. jels of your sweater too;)

    xx raez

  20. December 6, 2009 5:33 pm

    That sweater is some kind of wonderful! πŸ™‚

  21. December 6, 2009 7:10 pm

    um my question…where did you go in that outfit? please tell me you went grocery shopping. haha.

    love the sweater. it’s very empowering πŸ™‚

  22. December 6, 2009 8:18 pm

    Thanks for the sweet words, everyone! πŸ™‚

    Raez- The funny thing is that I don’t work out and when I look at myself in the mirror it never looks like I have abs, but when I take photos wearing cropped tops, for some reason it looks like I have abs!

    Bananas- No grocery shopping- I barely manage to go on a monthly basis since I don’t cook! I wore that to go over to my boyfriend’s place at the beach and walk along the water- but without the heels!

  23. December 6, 2009 9:31 pm

    love the maroon! & isn’t it a tad chilly to be wearing so little? haha

  24. December 6, 2009 9:34 pm

    wheredoyoushop- It’s gotten chillier here in LA, but it was nicer weather when I took these a week and a half ago! πŸ™‚

  25. December 7, 2009 12:43 am

    this is a sexy athletic look !
    i love the sweater over the sports bra and undies πŸ˜€
    the heels add a nice glamour touch πŸ˜€

    thx for visiting my blog πŸ˜€

    visit / follow / and comment me .
    xoxo . Glisters & Blisters
    SCARF GIVEAWAY STILL ON CLICK TO JOIN

  26. December 7, 2009 7:53 am

    You’ve got a great blog and your style is so cute!! I think I’m gonna follow you!
    http://champagneandmarshmallows.blogspot.com/

  27. December 7, 2009 8:21 am

    Hey there. Great photos. You look fantastic. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog. Have a wonderful week. Cheers!

  28. December 7, 2009 12:13 pm

    Hey Mel! You look so fierce!! I love reading the last part of your post! Very inspiring!

    P.S. I’ve got a new tripod! πŸ™‚ xoxoxoxo

  29. December 7, 2009 12:54 pm

    love this outfit, love the sweater πŸ™‚
    linking your blog on my site, great blog

  30. December 7, 2009 1:06 pm

    Congrats on your marathon, darling!

    xoxox,
    CC

  31. December 7, 2009 3:39 pm

    & of course…you look smoking! To use an overused fashion catch phrase, fierce! Haha.

  32. December 7, 2009 5:34 pm

    killer legs!

  33. December 8, 2009 2:12 am

    Great legs and shoes, darling!

    FM~FP~AF

  34. December 8, 2009 6:02 am

    thanks for your comment!
    great jacket, love it.

  35. December 8, 2009 9:55 am

    Oh wow, you’re so fit!! Definitely looking fantastic, hun:)

  36. December 8, 2009 10:31 am

    Oooh, that sweater is aces. The elbow patches!!!!

    And where are you that it’s still shorts weather?!?!

  37. December 8, 2009 11:45 am

    Hey Alicia- I took these photos the other week in LA when the weather was still relatively warm. Now it’s freeezing here!! πŸ™‚

  38. December 8, 2009 12:24 pm

    Hot outfit! The second photo is great!

  39. December 8, 2009 12:34 pm

    Lady, you are so fit and cute! Love your shorts and top! Hope you had a great weekend.

  40. December 8, 2009 12:35 pm

    i agree with you about unlimited potential. i find we can always push a little harder and achieve a little more. everyone is different but we can always ask more of ourselves.

  41. December 8, 2009 4:29 pm

    The varsity sweater is cool!

  42. December 8, 2009 6:11 pm

    Congrats on making it through the LA Marathon that’s quite a feat! And you wear that cardigan well!

    Love Grace.

  43. December 8, 2009 7:07 pm

    You think the H&M photos on my blog are awesome?? Um, check out your varsity photo shoot!!

  44. December 8, 2009 9:00 pm

    your body looks incredible! love that sweater!

  45. December 8, 2009 9:02 pm

    That sweater is such a wonderful find! I love the retro look!

  46. December 9, 2009 2:18 am

    Oh my if only we all had a body as good as yours! Your legs go on forever!!! You wear the cardi so well!

    ps: The stripe dress is Agent Ninety Nine from General Pants Aus the Pink floral dress I borrowed form a friend so I’m unsure( sorry). All the other buys are from all different places mostly vintage stores though. If there’s something in particular that you liked to know where I got it from just let me know:)

  47. December 9, 2009 11:38 am

    wow i love this shoot .. you look ggreat in the sweater and it you look lean and fit in it … your legs are great.

  48. STARR permalink
    December 9, 2009 6:11 pm

    You make me want to work out πŸ™‚

  49. December 9, 2009 11:28 pm

    What a great take on collegiate fashion! And your legs are amazing. πŸ™‚

  50. December 9, 2009 11:53 pm

    Hi darling, thanks for your words, je t’adooorrrre!

    The Bible of fashion,
    MAISON CHAPLIN.blogspot.com

  51. December 10, 2009 12:54 am

    Wow darling!!!!!!!!!!!
    you looks absolutely stunning!! and your legs looks amazing!
    So sexy πŸ˜‰
    xx

  52. December 10, 2009 1:21 am

    Varsity sweaters are the best. I had one instead of a jacket in high school…elbow patches FTW!

  53. December 10, 2009 12:32 pm

    Absolutely in love with that cardigan! So need to find myself one similar lol. Hope you’re having a beautiful week πŸ™‚

  54. December 10, 2009 2:46 pm

    love the sweater!

  55. December 10, 2009 3:52 pm

    love the cardi..soo rydel high!
    xx

  56. December 10, 2009 4:31 pm

    What a cute and cool sweater!

  57. December 10, 2009 7:54 pm

    Re:Yeahhh for Christmas gift shopping!! Wooooo,I’m so excited on Christmas. Ohhh I didn’t know you had a twin and both of you read my blog too. ahahaha It got me confused for awhile

  58. December 11, 2009 7:16 pm

    You look super sexxxxy in the first picture, love it and this post. Wow, i can now tell you were into sports back then and i see washboard abs?? What workouts do you usually do??

    -Sylvia

  59. December 11, 2009 7:31 pm

    I love the letterman sweater!

  60. December 11, 2009 8:05 pm

    Hey Sylvia! I actually don’t work out at all so I can’t even explain why I look like I have abs in these photos when I don’t see them in the mirror! And yeah, most people can’t see me being athletic, but I was pretty active back in the day πŸ™‚ I’d like to start doing yoga or pilates in the new year! xoxo

  61. December 14, 2009 2:20 am

    Oh, I love that swetter!

  62. December 14, 2009 6:55 am

    Woww the power of colorful!

    xoxo

  63. December 14, 2009 11:57 am

    cheeky? i think its the right word for this. playful. and you look cute as ever.

  64. December 14, 2009 6:26 pm

    sexyyyyyyyy!! im totally in love with anything preppy!!!
    xx

  65. December 15, 2009 1:32 pm

    Dude, did you know you are wearing maroon and gray? Perfect tribute to the Raiders!

  66. Jamie permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:16 pm

    NO WAY! Are those the same shoes that you were wearing the other day (or were they blue)? I didn’t think Jessica Simpson shoes were cute – but apparently I’m wrong!

  67. December 16, 2009 11:36 pm

    Hey Jamie- Yes, I have this same style shoe in blue and the maroon worn here! I love the cute rounded toe and they are extremely comfortable for heels! xo

  68. December 19, 2009 7:07 pm

    I absolutely love that maroon varsity sweater! Fabulous!

  69. December 29, 2009 8:41 pm

    total hottie! love the varsity sweater with teeny shorts!
    xx
    marian

  70. Tay permalink
    January 10, 2010 5:35 am

    Hey, found you through that instant vintage blog. Thanks for those kind words!

    You can find me at
    http://taytrong.posterous.com/

Leave a Reply

