Skip to content

Hungry, Hungry Hippy

December 10, 2009

Vintage dress, faux fur stole, necklaces, and cuff via the Long Beach Antique Market, Steve Madden boots, mom’s vintage scarf, Louis Vuitton handbag

Bec said I was hippified out. I said this is why I love fashion. I can be preppy/sporty one day (reference previous post) and whatever the hell I want to be the next.

In this economy, one day you and your family can have a meal around the table together and the next, you could lose your job and the ability to put food on the table. This reality rang truer today while I spent a few hours at the Los Angeles Regional Foodbank through my company’s day of community service. My company organizes a few different chartitable efforts for us to choose from during the holidays. Last year, I guided children in arts and crafts projects through the Free Arts for Abused Children non-profit organization. This year, I chose to go to the foodbank because I remembered back to when I stocked the food pantries and packed bags of food at my local Red Cross in New Jersey one summer in high school. I still remember the feeling I got seeing a man come into the Red Cross and leave with one of the bags of food that I had just packed. I didn’t see the actual recipients we were helping today, but I still left with that same rewarding feeling and purpose in wanting to have more days like today. No matter if we can’t donate hundreds of dollars to charities, we can still donate our time toward the cause. After all, the man behind you is in this human race with you.

P.S.- At the foodbank three feet away from me, Maria Shriver, the First Lady of California, was being filmed by ABC. I refrained from shouting a hearty thanks for her Obama endorsement speech. I just watched her speech again and found this part applicable to volunteering- “If you think you can help, if you think you can change just one person, if you think you can make a difference, then go.”

82 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 2:50 am

    awesome look girl, you’re style is just stunning!
    i love what you say about helping in charity. It is extremely important to help. I’d like to work in a charity shop and sell clothes to support poor local people.

  2. December 11, 2009 4:06 am

    OMG what a gorgeous faux fur stole!!!

    Oh I didn’t know Bec has a twin, and so much alike. And besides with so much style. How nice!!

    Thank you so much for visited my blog and left such nice comments.
    Keep in touch if you feel like.
    Adding you to my blogroll 🙂

    xoxo

  3. December 11, 2009 6:24 am

    I love the faux fur stole with the vintage drees!!!!
    you look amazing!!!!

    happy weekend dear,

    xoxo

  4. December 11, 2009 7:48 am

    Mel, that is wonderful! I loved reading about your experiences. And I love what Maria Shriver said, it’s a wonderful reminder that we can all make a difference – we just have to make that step. My mom, my husband, my cousins and I are planning to volunteer next week. I’m looking forward to it!

    You look wonderful and I just love your smile.
    What a fabulous cuff too! A lil jealous of your weather right now 😉

  5. December 11, 2009 10:27 am

    Oh what a cute smile you have!
    That dress is so gorgeous!!! And that look is so unique and one-of-a-kind.
    Love all the multicolored-mixture!! AWESOME!!!

    Have a beautiful weekend ahead!

  6. December 11, 2009 1:37 pm

    awesome fur.

  7. December 11, 2009 1:43 pm

    Thanks for dropping by All Women Stalk! 🙂 I love how this outfit looks super comfy.

    -meream

  8. December 11, 2009 4:35 pm

    You look like you’re having fun in these photos! Love the colour of that dress on you.

  9. December 11, 2009 7:13 pm

    Hi Mel!!!

    I’m loving this playful and colorful outfit, you can def rock it!

    Hope you’re having a great friday and take care!

    -Sylvia

  10. December 11, 2009 7:37 pm

    p.s. thank you for wishing me luck with finals, i definitely needed it! you’re so lucky you’re done with school!

  11. December 11, 2009 8:52 pm

    i love the whole outfit!
    that vibrant dress is stunning!
    so cute!

    http://momfashionworld.blogspot.com/

  12. December 12, 2009 10:37 am

    awww! you look so so cute!

  13. December 12, 2009 10:38 am

    Your dress is so interesting and chic. I love it!!!
    Thanks for the comment on my blog.
    http://allthingsvogue.blogspot.com

  14. December 12, 2009 10:56 am

    Fabulous look, darling!
    Love that fur wrap so!

    xoxox,
    CC

  15. December 12, 2009 11:24 am

    Oh my Gosh… I am totally loving the eclectic look… If anybody can pull it off, it is You, my darling! Love the colors and you have a gorgeous smile! =)

  16. December 12, 2009 11:42 am

    Thanks for the comment supporting bodysuit love!

    I am crazy about the boho/hippie/crazy old lady thing you have going on here. 😉

    You did enter my lingerie giveaway contest, right?

  17. December 12, 2009 12:03 pm

    Good for you on your volunteering day! Helping others is definitely one of the best feelings in the world and is a great way to meet others with a similar positive outlook! We should all take even just a bit of time to help another human being out.

  18. December 12, 2009 12:32 pm

    You look radiant. I love all of these colors on you.

    And ITA about volunteering time. It’s probably the most rewarding.

  19. December 12, 2009 1:41 pm

    that dress is absolutely wild, and i love it with the fur stole 🙂
    and i love helping out others, especially during the holiday season when it’s a time to be together. it’s so easy to donate just a little bit of time, we’ve got enough to spare. 🙂

  20. December 12, 2009 4:36 pm

    omg it makes me wanna do colourfull looks!! such an inspiration for me (MUA)

  21. anotherfishinthesea permalink
    December 12, 2009 5:08 pm

    I love the outfit and how you put so many different pieces together and still look fabulous!
    Way to go on the volunteering too, its such a wonderful thing to do!

  22. December 12, 2009 5:12 pm

    I LOVE your stole! I’ve been looking all over for one

  23. December 12, 2009 6:06 pm

    Yeah…that’s why I also love fashion. You can be as creative as you want. You set your own boundaries…it’s so great that you volunteer. I try to , as much as I can, and it’s a very humbling experience 🙂

    xoxo
    Mimi

  24. December 13, 2009 12:43 am

    You look so stunning !! I love love the enthic maxi dress with that furry shawl over. sooo beautiful! and its hippie vibe too which I always love so much:)

    I will surely ask my mom for the Ray bans heeee and I wanna swap weather with you ! Always love cold weather ❤

  25. December 13, 2009 4:25 am

    yes, very hippy indeed! love the colour combination!

  26. December 13, 2009 7:41 am

    really beautiful post!
    I just love your dress its super pretty very 1960/1970 and the fur looks really chic with it too!
    Oh and i just realised i dont have your link up on my blog, you wanna exchange links?

  27. December 13, 2009 8:02 am

    Yes, you do look very hippiefied! Love your dress with its colours of the rainbow:)
    It is fun how fashion allows you to dress up in completely different ways, you get to experiment and discover what suits you too.

    And I admire you for donating your time, I think it’s a very honorable thing to do!

  28. December 13, 2009 8:36 am

    Ohmigosh I so adore your faux fur stole and your boots! That is precisely what I adore about fashion, as well – you can change your look on a daily basis. So fabulous!! 🙂

  29. December 13, 2009 9:07 am

    Hi there-you look totally gorgeous, I adore the faux fur stole and the dress is fabulous!! Wishing you a great week ahead!

  30. December 13, 2009 11:37 am

    Fantastic photos. You look incredible. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting on my blog. I really appreciate it. Hope you’re having a great weekend. Cheers!

  31. December 13, 2009 3:25 pm

    Great look!

  32. December 13, 2009 4:36 pm

    What an amazing and colorful dress Mel!! Thank you for the birthday wishes! I didn’t really do anything except hang out with my boyfriend and opened presents :-). You’re such a generous spirit for helping out in your local community! I must remember to do that same thing this year and it’s true that you can make a difference no matter what contribution you make! xoxoxoxoxxo

  33. December 13, 2009 7:44 pm

    darling you look fabulous here !
    i love the maxi dress print soooo much !
    the shoes are fierce !
    thanks for commenting at my postt..
    visit / follow / and comment me .
    GLISTERSandBLISTERS

  34. December 13, 2009 8:23 pm

    LOVE the beautiful colors in that dress!

  35. December 13, 2009 8:30 pm

    you’re an awesome person for volunteering your time for others. i always admire people that do…it makes you just a little better than most, just sayin 🙂

  36. December 13, 2009 8:47 pm

    love the whole hippy cool vibe….great colors in the dress.
    thanks for dropping by my blog

  37. December 13, 2009 9:22 pm

    thanks for stopping by. rad boots!

  38. December 13, 2009 9:27 pm

    a louis and a faux fur, what more does a girl need? you look gorgeous 😀

    Clothes Are Cute

  39. December 13, 2009 9:39 pm

    that is one psychadelic dress! you do look very ‘hippy-fied’ but its a good look on you! 🙂 hey so you were a journalism major too? do you work in the field? just curious! 🙂

    xx

  40. December 14, 2009 12:34 am

    Thanks for checking out my blog and commenting on it! It always makes me happy when I get comments from new people!

    I’m loving this hippy-ish outfit of yours, especially those rockin’ boots!

  41. December 14, 2009 1:40 am

    You look amazing in that dress.. great color… cool blog

    Thank you for visiting mine… I will keep an eye on your updates :)-

    http://mandalyzing.blogspot.com

  42. December 14, 2009 1:41 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Amazing dress! Love the bold colors… Tres chic

  43. December 14, 2009 5:09 am

    Wow, gorgeous look, such a smogasbord of colour and textures.

  44. December 14, 2009 7:59 am

    Love the stole!

  45. December 14, 2009 8:56 am

    you are sooo cute!!!

    come by my blog – having a giltgroupe giveaway!

  46. December 14, 2009 11:12 am

    Thanks for visiting. Amen to volunteering this holiday. My daughter and I were at a food drive organized by Alice Q. Foodie this weekend and it was such a success! And by the way, you’re gorgeous!

  47. December 14, 2009 11:47 am

    in love with your dress..soo pretty
    xx

  48. December 14, 2009 11:56 am

    hi dear. you look simply stunning. this outfit is absolute magnificent the play with colour and material. its daring and so so well done. love your style. xxx

  49. December 14, 2009 12:17 pm

    The colours are of that dress are so amazing, you look wonderful. Hope you’re having a beautiful day 🙂

  50. December 14, 2009 12:30 pm

    Amazing bag! ❤

  51. Clare permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:15 pm

    you are soooo adorable! I love the fur and the amazing colors! Good job on your charity work, you are awesomely inspiring!

  52. December 14, 2009 1:59 pm

    cute dress!

  53. December 14, 2009 4:06 pm

    A hippy with an LV bag…I like it! I love that we can dress up as whoever we want to be from day to day – and we are so lucky to have that opportunity. 🙂

  54. December 14, 2009 6:25 pm

    i LOVEEEEEEE this outfit. i want to meet you in person!!!!!!!!!!!! and you are so generous volunteering so much!!! totally stylish and helpful of others, major awesomeness!
    xx

  55. December 14, 2009 8:30 pm

    Awesome, fantastic, wonderful outfit! I love that dress, but I really love how you put all the elements together. I would never have thought to pair a fur shawl with that dress – it’s perfect.

    Did you know the Shrivers are a Maryland family? Maria’s brother and his family lived close to wear Lar and I grew up.

  56. December 14, 2009 9:32 pm

    My gosh, I love that dress, its almost torture that it is actually vintage and would be impossible to buy 😉

  57. December 14, 2009 9:33 pm

    what an adorable hippie look. looking at your lv bag, i totally regretted buying the smaller size. darn!

  58. December 15, 2009 12:29 am

    Hey Cath- No, I didn’t know they were from Maryland! I had assumed they were from Massachusetts! xo

  59. December 15, 2009 1:07 am

    The dress is just awesome!

    colormenana.blogspot.com

  60. December 15, 2009 4:02 am

    Wauw! Love the outfit! Cool mixing with the hippie dress and fur :o)

  61. December 15, 2009 5:47 am

    Fabulous outfit! I love the colors of your dress with the faux fur jacket! And a great idea for your company to organize community service. I think it’s easy to forget how easily a recession or any type of setback can affect entire families. Paris is full of homeless people (you see them everywhere on the streets) and many of them are actually normal people who lost their jobs and don’t see another way of getting money.

  62. December 15, 2009 9:12 am

    Love the colors and print of the dress.

    fashionroadkill-halifax.blogspot.com

  63. December 15, 2009 12:24 pm

    your color palette is TO DIE FOR

  64. December 15, 2009 1:04 pm

    Yah! thanks for the add, I’ve put your link up on my blog now too!
    Oh and that Christmas movie looks awesome too, i’m def. going to check it out and watch it before Christmas!

  65. December 15, 2009 1:12 pm

    Yes, I stand by my hippified comment, though I admit, that this outfit photographs better than in real life. Just kidding! I do like the faux fur stole and you can count on me borrowing it from you in the near future.

  66. December 15, 2009 2:39 pm

    You couldn’t have put together a more fabulous combination!!! That vintage dress is just divine- the colour and shape are awe worthy!!! And of course the faux fur sole is stunning!!

    You look great mel!

  67. December 15, 2009 5:26 pm

    Love your style!

  68. December 15, 2009 10:18 pm

    hey lady! i admire your charitable work and i wish to participate in some. wish that my company invest by being there and helping out instead of just donating.

    and i missed you too! hope you guys had an eventful Sunday. and till next time 😀

  69. December 16, 2009 11:19 am

    What an insanely cool combo: fur & headscarf. It’s very 50’s with a Wasson twist ❤

    xx

  70. December 16, 2009 2:02 pm

    Love the headscarf!
    It’s heartwarming to hear how you’re volunteering this christmas!

  71. December 16, 2009 10:32 pm

    Maria totally rocks. I always wonder how hard it is to be married to someone whose politics are so different. Love the dress!

  72. December 17, 2009 5:02 am

    U look amazing here! Luv it! : )

  73. December 17, 2009 9:23 am

    wow brilliant outfit! love the dress ❤

  74. December 17, 2009 11:37 am

    You’ve got some panache lady!

    Love Grace.

  75. December 17, 2009 11:08 pm

    this outfit is incredibly unique ! original ! stunning stunning

  76. Tamara permalink
    December 18, 2009 4:02 am

    Ooh, that dress is amazing!
    xo

  77. December 19, 2009 7:04 pm

    Loving that colorful dress on you!!

  78. December 20, 2009 7:36 am

    love your blog and style

  79. December 21, 2009 7:10 pm

    this is just amazing and creative…nuff said!!

  80. December 21, 2009 9:18 pm

    Love how skinny gorgeous you are!

    Nina

  81. December 22, 2009 9:22 am

    I fareaking LOVEEEEEEE this outfit! Colours in winter are my favorite. Especially alot of colors! So pretty!

  82. December 23, 2009 5:03 pm

    Get bangs again hihi. Thank you so much ❤

Leave a Reply

