Skip to content

You Have Always Been on My Heart

January 9, 2010

Siwy overalls via Shopbop.com, Sunday Rocks men’s t-shirt via Kitson, Bebe shoes, Anthropologie earrings

Growing up in a small town in New Jersey (just 20 minutes outside of New York City), I had a charmed childhood. I had the love of who I deem “the best parents in the world” who stopped at nothing to give me and Bec happy and beautiful existences in this world. We were overachievers- we had all of this energy in these little packages. We were the first ones to wake up at sleepovers. Our voices colored the black nights while we talked until slumber enveloped us when we shared a room. Bec and I held full-fledged beauty pageants- complete with the Introductions, Swimwear, Talent, Evening Gown, and Questions rounds. We acted as each other’s judges even though we were best friends. And we definitely did not always crown ourselves as Miss America. We held singing and acting contests in the backseat and our parents presided as the judges in our drawing competitions. Instead of making snowmen, we created white stegosauruses and turtles. I was a fortune teller, princess, Miss America (yes, it was a reoccurring theme), belly dancer, a sheep to Bec’s Little Bo Peep on the last day of Octobers past. I would climb on a step stool to swipe my mom’s red lipstick from atop my dad’s dresser. I was too young to wear it. But I fancied it because it made me feel fancy.

But I was also someone else. So was Bec. We loved chasing after crush-worthy boys in the ruffled dresses that my mom had sewn for us, but we had an equally flirtatious time doing it in sweatsuits. When we woke up at 6am just because- we braided our friendship bracelets and ran outside to play dodgeball with a koosh ball and the boys. These were a different set of boys- our neighbors. Our street was infused with so many of these boys (and us few girls) that the entrance sign to my street said “Caution” and below a reference to us- “Children”. We played every form of running game- Tag (both freeze and movie versions), Red Rover, Red Light/Green Light, What Time is it Mr. Fox?, Manhunt, and others that conjured up beads of sweat. We played established ball games- Spud, Croquet, Bocce Ball, kickball, and basketball, along with many others that we imagined up. It seemed like we could make up anything to be a game and it was fun. Games were reserved for the street so our hearts were still in tact. We ran with the block boys and we loved it. We weren’t in it for the scrape our knees, starry-eyed fall in love moments. We were knee-deep in it with our friends. And when snow tickled our red noses, we shared the mentality that when we were knee-deep in powder, the only real sensible action item was to build an igloo. And when we were done making our half-sphere of a fort, we’d sit in it sipping hot chocolate. We leaned back and then down looking at the tiny marshmallows happily floating along in our mugs and we felt connected to them. We were little kids who happily floated through our childhoods with one another. And our block was each of our mugs- allowing us this safe area in the world to just be….

This is that predictable part in a recollection when the writer says “And I’d like to go back.” But I don’t feel that way. These are perfect times floating along in my memory and I can visit them anytime I want.

*This post was inspired by and dedicated to my favorite block boy who I reconnected with this week. He will always remain a cherished childhood friend. He said, “This is like a dream come true. You and your sister have always been on my heart.” Same here.

P.S.- I thank everyone who has already voted. Please continue to vote for me here every 24 hours until February 1st. Your vote does not count until you validate it by clicking on the link in the e-mail you get. Your support has touched me. Lately, I’ve been saying so many “Thank you”s that I wish there was a stronger word that encompasses the 10 exclamation points I like to add to the end of this phrase. I offer smiley faces too, but just know that you’ve made me smile much more than the virtual ones show!

94 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2010 7:29 pm

    Love the jeans, and those heels! *swoon*!

    And I love the memories you shared w/us, and you’re so right, no need to be sad or nostalgic about them because you can revisit them in your memories whenever you want!

  2. January 9, 2010 7:48 pm

    You two are such a dynamic duo, as well as fabulous individuals. Those shoes are SO hot btw!

  3. January 10, 2010 12:58 am

    I loved reading your childhood mememories! You and Becs were indeeed blessed to have such a great life growing up! And I’m glad you managed to reconnect with one of the boys! Great outfit by the way…. I tend to have mixed feelings towards overalls, but I love how these look like they’re jeans + suspenders. Hope you’re having a great weekend so far!

  4. January 10, 2010 1:01 am

    That was some seriously beautiful writing! I’m feeling incredibly reminiscent at this moment too. I agree, in that I cherish those moments, for what they were but I don’t feel as if I need to go back!

    ps – those heels are gorgeous!!!

  5. January 10, 2010 2:04 am

    Hey Hauteworld! I wish I had taken a photo of the back of them because that’s what makes them overalls- with the connected bottom half block of denim. You can view the back from a previous post that I did when I bought them-

    https://wreckedstellar.wordpress.com/2009/09/21/siwy-rabbit/

    Hey Joanne, thanks so much for the sweet comment on my writing- always love when I get compliments on it πŸ™‚

    xo to you both!! πŸ™‚

  6. January 10, 2010 5:48 am

    you’re absolutely gorgeous!
    wow, those heels are gorgeous!
    loving the all greys!

  7. January 10, 2010 6:51 am

    Your Words truly exude Sensitivity, AND this exquisite fluidity nicely helps me to improve my English !!!
    ps: Mmmh So even if I am not a great fan of “bleach effect”, I must admit that your Radiant declination of it tends to make evolve my Opinion !!!
    RE-ps: OOooooh AND The “Soccer’s coach who shyly slumbers on me” SAYS YES for Mel in the “G-Star Raw Contest” !!!!

    Γ  BientΓ΄t, Antoine

  8. January 10, 2010 9:33 am

    This look is fierce. Man, I wish I have the courage to wear heels as high as those. πŸ™‚

  9. January 10, 2010 9:52 am

    You look amazing, kinda edgy. Love it! Cool jeans, and those heels!
    -Helis.blogg.no

  10. January 10, 2010 10:05 am

    Wow, amazing pants!!

  11. January 10, 2010 11:08 am

    Awesome shoes!

  12. January 10, 2010 12:28 pm

    absolutely gorgeous outfit!

    love your blog! πŸ™‚
    – Audrey Allure ❀
    http://audreyallure.blogspot.com

  13. January 10, 2010 1:52 pm

    Oh God…those shoes! And I’ve never seen overalls look so chic on anyone before.

  14. January 10, 2010 2:16 pm

    Hi Mel!
    I just voted for ya! Good luck darling:)
    and those shoes from Bebe are just dangerous! Love it:0)

    xoxo
    Mimi

  15. January 10, 2010 5:07 pm

    Wow….

    I don’t know which to like better – the outfit or the write-up?! Love the overalls and the shoes – killer combo! And the words just made feel all warm and nostalgic and long for the days that I used to fall backwards in the snow and make angels after shoveling the driveway. What a timely piece…linking up with old compatriots always makes me smile :-“>

    +8!3

  16. January 10, 2010 6:13 pm

    Hey Antoine- Thanks for voting again!! I really appreciate your amazingly sweet words and support!! xo πŸ™‚

  17. January 10, 2010 6:14 pm

    Hey Mimi- Thanks soo much for voting!! πŸ™‚ xo

  18. January 10, 2010 8:12 pm

    This story was so fabulous – I will forever adore both you and Bec. Not only your style; but you as people! Amazing post my love!! πŸ™‚

  19. January 10, 2010 10:28 pm

    you look so unbelievably fierce in these photos. i admire your ability to walk in those heels! πŸ™‚
    and this was such a lovely and personal post. i loved reading it and getting to know you a little bit better.

    oh! and i voted with two of my emails. crossing my fingers for you!

  20. January 10, 2010 10:32 pm

    Hey Jen- Aw, thanks sooooo much!!!! πŸ™‚ xo

  21. January 11, 2010 2:03 am

    looove the overalls πŸ™‚

  22. January 11, 2010 8:05 am

    Wow, U look amazing hun!!! Super chic!! I luv this outfit on u! Hope u had a great wknd : )xxx

  23. January 11, 2010 9:48 am

    Oh Mel! These were such sweet, sweet memories! Thank you so much for sharing… It sure put a smile on my face this morning! =)

    And those shoes are so fab! You look stunning as always, miss hottie!

    xoxo

    P.S. I continue to cast my votes as I remember! πŸ˜‰

  24. January 11, 2010 10:45 am

    oh thats so cool!!!
    you guys used to live in new jersey, i went to this part of nj when i went to ny and it was awesome

    thats so cute how you dedicate this post to your friend
    you look so killer love those heels too!

  25. January 11, 2010 11:06 am

    Those overalls are amazing! You look fabulous, darling!

    xoxox,
    CC

  26. January 11, 2010 11:08 am

    Love your style! Sweet memories too

    http://thefashionsmoke.com

    xoxo

  27. January 11, 2010 11:17 am

    Hey Leyla- Thanks soo much for all of your continued support!! πŸ™‚ xo

  28. January 11, 2010 11:21 am

    So heartwarming! It’s so wonderful to reconnect with old friends and old memories! It’s so funny because I did a similar thing this weekend. My parents are moving, so I ended up going through my old stuff, including my diary… oh man, good times! πŸ˜€

    And you already know this, but I LOOOOOVE those overalls! And they look even hotter with the Bebe shoes. I like how the look is almost monochromatic, but with a sexy twist. Hot stuff!

  29. January 11, 2010 6:56 pm

    Woah I love this outfit and your makeup looks great too! That third photo down is so cute. I love how you’re flashing your pretty smile! Plus you pull off the overall so well! =)

  30. January 11, 2010 8:19 pm

    Thanks babe! But can we please talk about how fierce you are in these pics? LOVELOVELOVE!

  31. January 12, 2010 12:18 am

    hey mel, i LOVE this. ow ow. clearly whatever a man can do, you can do 10 times better. you look hot in acid wash jeans !

    xx lue

  32. January 12, 2010 2:34 am

    Good points, I think I will definitely subscribe! I’ll go and read some more! What do you see the future of this being?

  33. January 12, 2010 3:02 am

    Your legs go on forever! Your jeans are hot hot hot!

  34. January 12, 2010 6:02 am

    darling you look rocking in those amazing heels, love the rad denim too sweetie pie! thank you for your amazing comments and support.
    have a great day
    xx
    marian

  35. January 12, 2010 8:24 am

    just voted for you!
    you look amazing in that outfit! i love that t-shirt and those earrings! xx

  36. January 12, 2010 8:33 am

    hot blog~!!!!
    love your creative style. especially those jeans/mesh pants a few posts prior.

  37. January 12, 2010 8:37 am

    Oh wow, love the acid wash jeans and killer heels on you! And the long earrings look so great too!!

    Aww, I think it’s sweet how you reconnected with your childhood friend. It’s always fun to revisit fun moments in the past, no?

    xx

  38. January 12, 2010 9:32 am

    You are too awesome for words!

  39. January 12, 2010 9:59 am

    Hey Style Crusader- Thanks sooo much for voting- it’s greatly appreciated πŸ™‚ xo

  40. January 12, 2010 11:54 am

    ahhhh…I love this post, brought me back to my childhood for a moment…thanks for that πŸ™‚

    N.

  41. January 12, 2010 12:24 pm

    Oh wow, this brings back so many memories of my own childhood. Our mom told my sister and I that we WERE best friends, whether we liked it or not (that didn’t work!). We would have our friends over and play tag, hide and seek, we’d build forts, play in the woods across the street, etc. When our friends couldn’t come, we’d play together. We lived in a rural area and didn’t have “block” kids to play with. Makes me think of that Christina Ricci movie from the 90s.

  42. January 12, 2010 1:36 pm

    amazing story – AMAZING ACID WASH

  43. January 12, 2010 1:46 pm

    Hello to sweet Mel and her childhood memories with sister Bec πŸ˜‰

    Ahh Mel, you have such an amazing figure you can wear simply everything.
    So stylish!!!

    P.S.: Voted a few minutes πŸ˜‰

  44. January 12, 2010 1:51 pm

    Awww, you’re so sweet, Little Fashion Treasury!! Thanks sooooooo much for voting!!! πŸ™‚ xo

  45. January 12, 2010 2:17 pm

    HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  46. January 12, 2010 2:23 pm

    i’d have to say.. those shoes are pretty hot!

  47. January 12, 2010 2:25 pm

    um, holy 80s! you look fierce and fab!

  48. January 12, 2010 3:07 pm

    beautiful! loveeeee your heels. and youre rockin those overalls!

  49. January 12, 2010 3:20 pm

    A-mazing shoes! And your make-up looks professionally cool!

  50. January 12, 2010 4:44 pm

    these photos scream sexy!!!

    happy new year gorgeous ❀

    xxx

  51. January 12, 2010 6:58 pm

    I kind of sort of wanna steal your earings. haha. And I love how you have a lot of views/comments, but you take the time to respond. That’s something not a lot of known bloggers can say.

  52. January 12, 2010 7:57 pm

    Hey Vi- Yes, I stalked these earrings on Anthropologie.com for a long time in hopes they’d go on sale. When I came to the conclusion that I’d shed tears if they ever sold out, I went ahead and bought them instead of waiting! And thanks for acknowledging I respond! I know what you mean about other people not taking the time to respond- I just feel like I’m a part of this little community and I’m just like my readers in that I’m a reader who just happens to have a blog too! I read all of my comments and they put a smile on my face so why not respond to people who make me smile?!! πŸ™‚ xo

  53. January 12, 2010 11:11 pm

    you are rocking this monotone and jumper – and thanks for sharing the memories …. xx

  54. January 12, 2010 11:34 pm

    you look AMAZING!! I love the wash of those jeans!

  55. Tamara permalink
    January 13, 2010 2:22 am

    Those earrings!! So cool πŸ™‚ Love the make up, really 80’s
    xoxo

  56. pdresher permalink
    January 13, 2010 6:13 am

    Such an original outfit!! I’m especially loving the earrings…and those shoes…I’ve got to get myself a pair pronto!

    I’d love if you’d follow my blog http://www.yougotpamd.com

  57. January 13, 2010 8:18 am

    awww childhood memories…i agree. why wish to go back and lose everything you’ve learned in the many years that brought you to now.

    i’m pretty sure at that age, you would’ve never know how fab a casual tee would look with a pair of fierce metallic pumps πŸ™‚

  58. January 13, 2010 9:57 am

    thankss for dropping by and leave a comment on my blog!! glad to know that we have a similarity..we hate smoke!! haha

    anw,,I do really love your style!! your shoes is gorgeous, but the best one is the oveall jeans!!! it’s awesome dear!! I wanna have one like that!! πŸ˜‰

    Love,
    SWEET ESCAPE

  59. January 13, 2010 10:22 am

    Mel, you really rock girl. I love the jeans and the heels. Soooooo sexy!!!!

  60. January 13, 2010 11:49 am

    You are such a chameleon. And the Alpha male shirt! Amazing.

    Love Grace.

  61. January 13, 2010 12:06 pm

    Such a great outfit and the posing is so great, too
    *Nathalie

  62. January 13, 2010 1:41 pm

    i ma definitely voting for you … anythign help you out you are one of my favorite bloggers cuz you seem like a sweetheart .
    wow i had no idea you grew up in jersey .

    love those over alls by the way ..the acid wash is very stylish and those heels are killer

  63. January 13, 2010 1:49 pm

    Mel, you wear this so well! You RoCk this look!
    And I loved hearing about your childhood and how lovely you got to reconnect. Childhood friends really do stay in your heart forever.
    I hope you win, hon!!!
    xo

  64. January 13, 2010 1:59 pm

    Hey Nadia- Thanks sooooo much for voting!! You are one of my favorite bloggers too πŸ™‚ Yupp, Bec and I will always be Jersey girls at heart!! xo πŸ™‚

  65. January 13, 2010 6:38 pm

    LOVE! your jeans are so cool:):)

  66. January 13, 2010 9:23 pm

    this whole outfit is simply rad !
    i love it from head to toe.
    the shoes are so sexy !

    thanks for the lovely comments darling.
    appreciate the time you took to visit my blog !
    keep posting up great inspirations..
    x. Michelle.. visit, comment , follow me at .
    glisters and blisters πŸ˜€

  67. January 13, 2010 9:31 pm

    My god, you are totally rockin those suspenders! The jeans fit you like a glove too – look incredibly hot!

    Good luck with the competition, really hope you win πŸ˜‰

    xx Marcella

  68. January 13, 2010 9:51 pm

    only you with that hot body could rock this! love it gal!!

  69. January 13, 2010 10:00 pm

    Wow Mel!! You look so fierce and hot!! Those overalls are killer!! I love reading about the way you and Becs grew up too! Such a sweet story! xoxoxoxo

  70. January 13, 2010 10:34 pm

    will go vote for you. you look so cute. wish i can wear heels like yours and walk.

  71. January 13, 2010 10:44 pm

    Hey savvy gal- Thanks sooo much for voting!! πŸ™‚ xo

  72. January 14, 2010 1:48 am

    Mel you look so cute! great look and I LOVE your shoes~~ fabulosity!

    xo
    Amanda
    http://mandalyzing.blogspot.com

  73. January 14, 2010 7:31 am

    such a great outfit your tee and earrings are great!
    And such beautiful words too, you are such a talented writer and your childhood sounds wonderful too!

  74. January 14, 2010 9:24 am

    Aw me and Bec have bonded over growing up in NJ. I’m from central/west. 45 min outside of NYC. Love those overalls. Whenever I see that gorgeous sunshine and you in a tee i crave a trip to LA. Love those overalls!

    Xo

  75. January 14, 2010 5:26 pm

    i absolutely love this post…so amazing to relive old childhood memories. they are to be always cherished! love your outfit in the pics too!

    xx

  76. January 14, 2010 8:52 pm

    Those heels are AMAZING!

    clothedmuch.blogspot.com
    clothedmuch.blogspot.com

  77. January 15, 2010 6:51 am

    darling im wishing you a fab friday!
    xx
    m.

  78. January 15, 2010 8:47 am

    Such an amazing post babe… and HELLO, you are soooo hot. Love this! xxx
    Happy weekend.

  79. January 15, 2010 8:56 am

    Voted for you =]

    This post was so beautiful – thanks so much for sharing it

    Thanks so much for your lovely comment dearest, so sorry for the insanely late reply!

    Im so glad you enjoyed reading it because I enjoyed writing it and your feedback really means alot =]

    Stay safe and chic darling,
    English Rose x
    http://iamanenglishrose.blogspot.com

  80. January 15, 2010 11:47 am

    Hey Marian- Wishing you a fabulous Friday as well! xo

    Hey English Rose- Thanks soooooo much for voting!!! πŸ™‚ xo

  81. January 15, 2010 7:23 pm

    Aww this story is as sweet as those shoes are bitchin! πŸ™‚

  82. January 15, 2010 7:45 pm

    What an awesome post, I love the message and the happy vibes that I get from it. I can say the same too when I recall spending my summers as a kid with my cousins. Obviously things can never go back to how they were but the innocence and fun of childhood always makes me smile. Nothing like recalling playing zookeepers with your friends right haha?

    You have killer legs and killer cheekbones! Amazing.

  83. January 16, 2010 4:52 am

    That was the loveliest blog post I’ve read in ages!
    And you outfit is killer too!

  84. January 17, 2010 2:52 am

    wow, amazing outfit. Most love the shoes!

  85. January 17, 2010 5:29 pm

    oh love the jeans! and the pumps. looking great! πŸ™‚

  86. January 18, 2010 1:17 am

    O MY GOSH! THAT EARRINGS!
    GEEZ,,,, IM IN LOVE..

  87. January 18, 2010 1:25 am

    O MY GOSH….THAT EARRINGS.
    I’M IN LOVE!

  88. January 18, 2010 8:19 am

    I am beyond obsessed with this look! So cool!

    xoxo, magda @ nevestyle.com

  89. January 20, 2010 4:17 pm

    ohmygod. you look like an effing rockstar, seriously! simply gorgeous, i love everything about this outfit. hope everything in your world is going dandy, i’ve been a little slack on the blogging front so i havent been on as much lately. But of course i just had to comment on how awesome you look here πŸ™‚

  90. January 22, 2010 3:56 am

    wow great pic!!!
    thank you for your comment…
    see you soon…xoxo Dominique

  91. January 22, 2010 10:31 am

    wow. i like reading about your life. your childhood does sound wonderful. and nice outfit too!

  92. January 22, 2010 9:13 pm

    I’m pretty sure those are the best overalls ever created. They look FANTASTIC!

    I’m the same way about my childhood, too. It’s great to visit via memory, but I wouldn’t redo it.

  93. January 25, 2010 2:30 pm

    omg this outfit is soo cooollll!!!!
    Childhood memories are the best. :]
    xo
    M

  94. January 27, 2010 7:19 am

    This look is so fantastic. Those shoes are amaaaazing! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

