Skip to content

My Secret Garden Is Out

February 1, 2010

H&M sweater and jeans, Nine West shoes, Jacqueline Kennedy Reproduction earrings via QVC

The azaleas that made my front lawn my front lawn… the corsage of carnations that was my band of courage when I spoke at my kindergarten graduation… the pink and white crown that tickled my head pretty as a flower girl in Florida… the African Violets that I bought for my mom at Mother’s Day school sales because they are her favorite and she is my favorite… the Easter tulip bulbs that I lit my teachers up with as if they were recipients of puckered kisses even though I wasn’t a kiss-up… the jazzy bouquets that tap danced backstage to me after recitals joining my happy feet… the sunflowers in my favorite babydoll dress that made me feel special shortly after the sting of 17 bees made me feel, well, stung… the red baby’s breath in my curls that breathed a compliment to the roses in my Junior Formal dress… the rose petals that my first love sprinkled in my bedroom leading to three roses standing in a mug with a hand-written note of sentiments that I now forget, but will never forget the feeling I had when I read them… the pastel rainbow of roses that said love sent me for my Birthday bridging the distance between us from Maryland to New Jersey… the single red rose that was given to a single me during Spring Break in Acapulco and used as a tango prop to techno music… the annual Valentine’s Day roses sent to my office that weren’t necessary to make me feel special because I felt special every day with the sender… the bouquet that dressed up my fist-pump after finishing the LA Marathon, pumped up by my love waiting at the finish line… the bittersweet Birthday bouquet that didn’t survive said love’s absences for Survivor… the pink roses that once marked six months of new love but now lean over the edge of a vase, dried up and hunched over like me looking for water to feed them in a barren well… these are the flowers that have grown, died and blossomed again in my garden… these are the cultivations of my life.

_________________________

P.S.- The G-Star Raw New York Fashion Week Contest ended today. Because of you, I was in 2nd place in the beginning of January and have since remained in a solid 3rd standing throughout ending with 3,490 votes- a feat that I’m extremely proud of. You can see my submission here. No matter what happens, I’m extremely grateful to have had the support of my family, friends, sorority sisters, college alumnae, company, readers, blog buddies, Twitter followers and followers of followers who told me that I am the most qualified candidate. I texted, e-mailed, blogged, Facebooked, and tweeted the heck out of this venture non-stop for over a month and you never turned me away. Instead, you sent words of encouragement, asked for my status in votes, updated your Facebook status with my voting url, retweeted @WreckedStellar, and made me believe that I could fulfill my dream of going to New York Fashion Week. Thank you.

73 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 1:31 am

    Amazing girl!
    Love the outfit!
    Those jeans are so in here in SA too πŸ™‚
    xxx

  2. February 1, 2010 3:52 am

    Ooooh, I saw this sweater in the local H&M store. I’m crazy for it!

    β™₯

  3. February 1, 2010 4:23 am

    Beautiful words Mel! Flowers are only so special because of the memories you associate with them. I love the very appropriate floral top you’re wearing to go with this post πŸ™‚ Hope you had a wonderful weekend!

  4. February 1, 2010 5:36 am

    U look stunning babe!! Luv ur jeans and ur top together! Hope u had a good wknd and good luck with G STAR!! Holding thumbs for u! Mwah xx

  5. February 1, 2010 6:45 am

    Ah love the florals πŸ˜€

  6. February 1, 2010 11:56 am

    Aww πŸ™‚ Love reading your entries!

    Look at you, with your cropped sweater and ripped jeans. Such a wonderful juxtaposition of girly and edgy.

    So, this week? Hope we can get together!

  7. February 1, 2010 12:24 pm

    holy 1994! I totally Dig it.

    I’m having a contest for a limited Edition Jimmy Choo tote. You should totez send a shot of you in your shoes!!!

    http://torontotextstyles.blogspot.com/2010/01/jimmy-choo-247-contest.html

    *bisous*

  8. February 1, 2010 12:38 pm

    Not a huge fan of the top, but the shoes are adorable! I’ve heard that Nine West shoes aren’t that comfortable, though. How are yours working out?

  9. February 1, 2010 12:38 pm

    Woooow these so flowering/exquisite bunch of Words marvelously proves us that with you Style is gladly synonymous of Sensitivity, “avec l’ElΓ©gance des Mots distillΓ©e Γ  fleur de peau” . . .
    ps: AND I have to say that your uber flat stomach unveiling’s so pretty/sexy narcissistic vibrancy is as captivating as your sweater’s prints are ethereally romantic Dear !!!

    Amicalement, Antoine

  10. February 1, 2010 1:09 pm

    Hey Neekoh- Yes, let’s get together this week if we can! xo

  11. February 1, 2010 1:13 pm

    Hey K- I tied the knot in the front since the bottom of the sweater is loose on me and rolled up the sleeves so I know the knotted look may not be liked by everyone! I had bought the shoes over two years ago and have only worn them about three times, but they are super comfortable, especially since they have a low heel. Thanks again for tagging me- I’ll be posting my 7 facts in my next post! πŸ™‚

  12. February 1, 2010 2:04 pm

    that is an awesome top!! makeup looks really good too…love your style

    do you want to link exchange??

    -He

  13. February 1, 2010 9:07 pm

    What a fantastic sweater – it’s like what Lady Gaga would wear if she decided not to be over-the-top. I’m so tempted to go to H&M now!

  14. February 2, 2010 12:19 am

    You have great style Stella. Love the jeans .. it also helps that you have the perfect figure to wear these things πŸ™‚ Very pleased for you about G- star raw.x

  15. February 2, 2010 8:46 am

    Hey he- Yes, let’s link exchange!! πŸ™‚

  16. February 2, 2010 10:28 am

    Love this look, darling!
    That sweater is fantastic!
    You are tres gorgeous!

    xoxox,
    CC

  17. February 2, 2010 11:08 am

    Happy Tuesday, Mel.!

    So “very special” words… Love to read it!
    Your shoes are rocking πŸ˜‰

    Have a very beautiful day ahead!!!

  18. February 2, 2010 12:04 pm

    Wow, this look is perfect paired with the fence and florals! So glad NY Fashion week went well for you, great work!

  19. February 2, 2010 12:11 pm

    Your makeup looks great here.. just the right amt. of blush. Ha! You look wayyy better than Kiki Dunst here who has the same top. And you know I love the jeans and will be borrowing them!

  20. February 2, 2010 1:54 pm

    This is a great shoot, love the florals on you.

  21. February 2, 2010 2:38 pm

    Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

    surface encounters macomb mi

  22. February 2, 2010 4:06 pm

    ps: Wooop so Just in case I have a little “cyber surprise” for you on “stilettosteticoooooooooo” Dear, Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes, Yes !!! The questionnaire is obviously uber facultative, That’s beyond All for the Pleasure to make a commented link to your Blog !!!

    Γ  BientΓ΄t, Antoine

  23. February 2, 2010 5:27 pm

    The shoes are undeniably hot. Love the floral print, too, of course. πŸ™‚

    And yes, you have the full support of your fans.

  24. February 2, 2010 10:48 pm

    Damn! This hotness needs to come to NYFW!!! πŸ™‚

    BTW, when will they let you know about the contest?

  25. February 2, 2010 11:09 pm

    Hey D! Aww, thanks πŸ™‚ I’ll find out by the end of this week!!!! I already have my vacation time approved!!! xo

  26. February 3, 2010 2:05 am

    Mel, the makeup is fiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiierce!!!! =D

    Your writing is poetic. I love your posts.

  27. February 3, 2010 9:27 am

    love the top! the shoulders and florals make it perfect. πŸ™‚

  28. Clare permalink
    February 3, 2010 2:26 pm

    Great outfit, you poetic girl! You are such a good writer and I am so proud of how you placed in the competition! You are awesome and next year you’ll be in 1st!

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  29. February 3, 2010 5:06 pm

    i love this ! floral and denim, hott ! and not just any denim, destroyed denim.

    xx lue

  30. February 4, 2010 12:43 am

    love love love the floral sweater!!!

    xo Niki

    http://ahautemess.blogspot.com

  31. February 4, 2010 3:24 am

    you, you’re what we call ”modern fashion”. yes that means i adore you.

    kickass style.

    gros bisous

  32. February 4, 2010 12:14 pm

    Love the floral sweater!

  33. February 4, 2010 1:12 pm

    totally dig the flower sweater esp tied up like that..so cute

    xx

  34. February 4, 2010 2:25 pm

    omg i love love the sweater so adorable on you
    and those jeans look so good on you.

    xx!

  35. February 4, 2010 2:30 pm

    that top is gorgeousgorgeousgorgeous!!

    Stay safe and chic darling,
    English Rose x
    http://iamanenglishrose.blogspot.com

  36. February 4, 2010 10:55 pm

    That cropped sweater is HOT!!! I love the flower print it looks fab with your jeans πŸ™‚

    Much love,
    Glendy

    PS: I’m sad you didn’t win but it’s ok fashion week is around the corner and who knows what new opportunities might show up

  37. February 5, 2010 12:57 pm

    adore your top, so perfect for spring.

  38. February 5, 2010 10:03 pm

    Your writing is so much fun to read, and I couldn’t think of anything more perfect to write in parallel to that very pretty floral top. πŸ™‚ Great news RE: G- star raw!

  39. February 5, 2010 10:09 pm

    Thanks, Joanne!! And I actually found out yesterday that G-Star didn’t choose me to go to their fashion show. I’ll be doing a post about it in the future, but I have two positive posts coming up that I need to do first! xo

  40. February 6, 2010 10:04 am

    Omg, you are too gorgeous for words, darling! The way you pull all these pieces together is fantastic. That top is to DIE for – and you pull it off perfectly! I think I would look absolutely ridiculous, but you look so trendy and chic =)

  41. February 6, 2010 12:36 pm

    you look amazing!!! i never heard if you get to go or not, but i certainly hope so!!

  42. February 6, 2010 1:17 pm

    The second photo is my fave. I love your look!

    Can’t wait until next month’s slumber party, lovely. πŸ™‚

  43. February 6, 2010 3:54 pm

    Love the outfit, specially the jeans!

  44. February 7, 2010 3:45 am

    Gorgeous top!!!!!

  45. February 7, 2010 4:32 am

    Love the florals your looking fierce!

  46. February 7, 2010 7:56 am

    i love the floral!

  47. February 7, 2010 10:15 am

    Balmain meets the 90’s came to mind.

    Can I say I love it? No, I love,love,love it. Great top! πŸ™‚

    xx

  48. February 7, 2010 5:56 pm

    i would love for you to enter my giveaway πŸ™‚

    http://thefwordonline.blogspot.com/2010/02/thomas-paul-tote-giveaway_07.html

    xx lue

  49. February 8, 2010 1:20 am

    Hi there-a lovely post and a very inspirational outfit, love your sweater and jeans combo!!

  50. February 8, 2010 4:32 am

    Love the flower top!!!

  51. February 8, 2010 8:02 am

    The sweater is simply stunning. Did you make it as a G-Star reporter? πŸ™‚

  52. February 8, 2010 9:20 am

    Miss you Mel… love the sweater, it is so spring! xoxo

  53. February 8, 2010 1:40 pm

    I adore your top. : ) xo

  54. February 8, 2010 1:49 pm

    Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ you have insanely amazing style and uniqueness. keep going!
    following your blog now πŸ™‚

  55. February 8, 2010 2:32 pm

    I love the lace heels πŸ™‚

    omvintage.etsy.com
    ohmyvintage.blogspot.com
    kimvee.blogspot.com

  56. February 8, 2010 3:54 pm

    WOW – you look amazing!!! Love the floral print with the destroyed denim – great photos too πŸ™‚

    Really looking forward to meeting up with you girls in Santa Monica. I arrive on March 2 – can’t wait! πŸ™‚
    http://www.friendinfashion.blogspot.com
    xx

  57. February 8, 2010 8:53 pm

    wow you remained in 3rd placE? that is an amazing achievement πŸ˜€

    loving your makeup here girl! absolutely gorgeous ❀

    x

  58. February 9, 2010 8:25 am

    I need that sweater in my life pls! lol xxxxxxx

  59. February 9, 2010 8:40 am

    Wow, you look so super pretty in these pictures! such a beyond beautiful sweater too, i love the shoulder pads, they are rockin’. wonderful words too!

  60. February 9, 2010 9:26 am

    that top is amazing!!

  61. February 9, 2010 12:40 pm

    the poof on those shoulders is fantastic!

  62. February 9, 2010 1:07 pm

    Hey lovely- I’m happy to help in whatever way I could– tweeting and voting… I really want you to come here for Fashion Week, by hook or by crook πŸ™‚

  63. February 9, 2010 9:18 pm

    we are sweater twins!! i have the same one but with more pastel pinks, lol. don’t you love how soft the sweater is?? i love mohair. we should wear it together one day and be the poster children of h&m πŸ˜€

  64. February 9, 2010 9:46 pm

    I adore the shoulders on your top and congrats on those votes that’s awesome

  65. February 9, 2010 11:15 pm

    Haha, Nora- we need to wear that at our next blogger fest. Cue cheesy photos!

  66. February 11, 2010 9:42 am

    Oh the puffiness of the sleeves are just about perfect! Love love love the floral print too:)

    xx

  67. February 11, 2010 9:29 pm

    Love it! At first I wasn’t too sure how I felt about the whole ’80 throwback.. but now it’s kind of growing on me. And it looks especially awesome when modeled by such an adorable lady such as yourself! xoxo

  68. Tamara permalink
    February 12, 2010 11:50 am

    Almost buy that sweater the other day, sooo nice!! πŸ™‚

    xoxo

  69. February 13, 2010 7:43 am

    i love the florals. you can rock a crop top like no other. congrats on making second place! awesome.

    ..the quilt is actually from anthropologie. i’m not into their clothes, but i adore their housewares!

    xo

  70. February 13, 2010 9:00 pm

    You look STUNNING! And I love that sweater, I saw it at H&M the other day. It reminds me of the Balenciaga (S/S 08? 09?) collection.

    x

  71. February 13, 2010 9:46 pm

    You’re such a hottie!! love this look!

    fashionableroad.blogspot.com

  72. February 18, 2010 3:00 am

    Those jeans look so GOOOOOOOOOOOD on you and they’re just jeans! im a denim lover so i digg. it’s perfect paired with those heels and the makeup! =]

  73. February 21, 2010 3:25 am

    Thank you for your lovely comment. I love your jeans. And we have the same name. ☺

Leave a Reply

