Skip to content

U.S. is Us

February 17, 2010

Vintage top via Spanish Moss Vintage, Topshop shorts, American Apparel socks, Report Signature shoes via Shopbop.com

Even though I favor the Summer Olympics because I enjoy watching track and field- a sport that gave me enough medals to deem running into the swarms of tiny flies that stuck to my face in the fall, plowing through the snow whirlwinds that made breathing in the frigid winter air nearly unbearable, and sweating in the late spring heat that made the skimpy guinea tee and shorts uniform feel like too much clothes all worthwhile- I still like to be in the know during the Winter Olympics. After all, I did think I was a figure skater. At least in my kitchen in New Jersey. Bec and I would do triple axels that looked more like- well, like 10-year-old kids trying to emulate the figure skaters we were watching in the dark with our mom. The sparkly costumes, shiny medals, bright smiles, and shimmering pride were enough to illuminate our space- the outer zone and  inner spots in our hearts. My spot is a marginal one that once yearned for a shower of glory but is now dry with regret for never trying. No, I wasn’t meant to stand on a podium beyond the one I stood on during the Junior Olympics in my 5th and 6th grades. And that’s OK. That little regret has ignited my burner with zeal to chase after the grand flames that I was meant for.

Disclaimer- I was playing dress-up. Sometimes you just got to. I’d tone down the overall look for every day outings, but I fell in love with this quirky top the moment it waved back at me.

_________________________

P.S.- Thank you Asiance Magazine for featuring me as your Look of the Day in January!

_________________________

P.P.S.- I wanted to remind you to RSVP to my SLUMBER PARTY and to submit your photos! The details are below-

Who: You- because you’ve made it to Wrecked Stellar- which means you’re pretty fabulous and exclusive already. I’m also free-loving!

When: Saturday, March 7th, at 8pm

Where: Virtually at my Los Angeles pad

Why: Because you don’t want to see me sitting with several bowls of popcorn watching 16 Candles by myself- (though I totally would do that anyway)!

Activities: Barbecuing on one balcony, pretending the other balcony is a stage and dancing to the likes of “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” and “Livin’ on a Prayer”, TP’ing fraternity houses at UCLA, soaking it up in a water balloon fight, playing “Never Have I”, swooning over Jake in 16 Candles wearing our mud masks, and falling asleep tucked away in our sleeping bags with the fun moments from the night tucked away in our memories.

Attire: Pajamas- whatever form they come in for you.

How: E-mail a photo of yourself to wreckedstellar@gmail.com in your attire in whatever environment and capacity you want. You’re my guest so it’s up to you! I will post all of my guests’ photos and blog links (if you have one) in my March 7th post so that everyone can share in our party fun!

RSVP: I set the date in March so that you’d have enough time to clear your calendar, think of a cute pajama outfit, and take your photo! Please RSVP in the Comments section by March 1st so I can buy enough food for everyone. I will be sending reminders out in future posts, but I’m sure you won’t need a reminder because you’ll all want to come! xoxo

_________________________

P.P.P.S.- Follow me on Bloglovin’   *   Follow me on Twitter   *   Fan Me on Facebook

46 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2010 4:51 am

    love your socks 🙂 You look like a fashionable cheerleader! Great

  2. February 17, 2010 10:36 am

    Haha, your sparkles jumped off the page! 🙂 I actually REALLY like all the pieces. I’d love to see you wear the top out… have any idea what you’d pair it with? I have this AA unitard that I can see it with (for an ’80s-inspired look). Or with a leather/pleather skirt. Mmmm, the possibilities!

  3. February 17, 2010 11:25 am

    You are feeling disco today, huh? 🙂
    Love the colorful combo you’ve put together .
    Congrats on the feature by the way! Way to go love 🙂

    xx
    Mimi

  4. February 17, 2010 11:29 am

    Hey Neekoh- I’d wear the top with denim cutoffs and my black Topshop lace-up boots or white Topshop studded boots- topped off with a high ponytail. If it continues to be this hot, I can wear that outfit for our next blogger meet-up! 🙂

  5. thelovelyaesthetic permalink
    February 17, 2010 12:21 pm

    I am obsessed with those AA socks. Literally, could wear just those and be a happy little vixen camper.

  6. February 17, 2010 1:44 pm

    So 80’s!

    P.S.: ♥Please don’t forget to join the Howbeadyful giveaway!♥

    Good luck!

  7. February 17, 2010 2:43 pm

    looking fabulous darling xxxxxxx

  8. February 17, 2010 3:22 pm

    you always remind me how fun fashion can be!

  9. February 17, 2010 3:40 pm

    Festive! I feel better about my country already! LOL…love, love, love those shorts and top. Very fun 🙂

    +8!3

  10. February 17, 2010 4:36 pm

    Fun outfit! With the sequins, AA socks and curls, it’s a casual, old school glam look. Super fab! xo

  11. February 17, 2010 5:33 pm

    I would’ve loved to have seen you as 10 yr olds doing triple axels!
    Love the cute vintage top, Mel!

    xo

  12. February 17, 2010 5:44 pm

    You definitely look patriotic and the longest legs ever!

  13. February 18, 2010 12:38 am

    WOW! I love your outfit…you look like you belong in a 1970’s rollergirl movie. This is what fashion is all about to me…girls playing dress-up. 🙂

  14. February 18, 2010 2:57 am

    Sexy maven!! you so could pull that off for an everyday look anyway.

    btw, yes yes i am on it for the sleepover. should i bring my twilight novel? LOL

  15. February 18, 2010 9:31 am

    I LOVE your whole outfit. Its so sparkly! That top is too perfect for words.

  16. February 18, 2010 12:30 pm

    this is SUCH a fabulous look!!

    Make sure you take pictures of the Nicole Miller dress – sounds like heaven!!

    Stay safe and chic ma chérie,
    English Rose x
    http://iamanenglishrose.blogspot.com

  17. February 18, 2010 4:29 pm

    OMG look at you, you look so festive and cute, I don’t even know where to begin I love it all! Sequins, bright colors, sexy shorts, this is so fun lol. Keep up the amazing style girl 🙂

    Much love,
    Glendy ❤

  18. February 18, 2010 6:57 pm

    This look is totally amazing! You are totally retro and fun, yet chic!

  19. February 18, 2010 7:43 pm

    ooh work it! your legs look a mile long in those socks!!!
    xox alison

  20. February 19, 2010 12:03 am

    hey girl, sorry i’ve been mia – exams and vacays have been consuming my life for a little while. damnn girl, work that ! cuuute socks, i’ve seen those socks on many ppl but def love the way you wore it with this outfit. reallyyy wishing there was a topshop in toronto

    xx lue

  21. February 19, 2010 10:39 am

    Super-cute! kinda of Calendar-girl-esque! 😉

    About the shoes, I am a true 8 or 8.5 (more 8 now though) and ordered the 8. If you are a true 8.5 then the 9 should be fine as they run just perfect-almost a tad tight.

    x

  22. February 19, 2010 2:20 pm

    Total figure skater, looks great!

  23. February 19, 2010 10:01 pm

    i like your top! all sparkly and eighties inspired. i will def have to get my slumber party picture ready 🙂

    xx

  24. February 19, 2010 10:05 pm

    Glittery! Love it 🙂

  25. February 20, 2010 7:18 am

    awesome top

  26. February 20, 2010 7:36 am

    Gorgeous, darling!
    Love your hair!

    xoxox,
    CC

  27. February 20, 2010 9:24 am

    Very creative!

  28. February 20, 2010 6:08 pm

    As Christian Siriano would say, “FEROCIA!”

    Wish I lived closer to you to go to your slumber party. Sounds like a lot of fun!

  29. February 20, 2010 9:12 pm

    SPARKLES!!! so funny i just did a blog post on how much i love sparkly clothing. Those shorts are hot!

  30. February 20, 2010 9:52 pm

    You look fantastic!!! The hair, makeup and outfit are oh so fabulous!

  31. February 20, 2010 11:17 pm

    Hey Nina- You don’t have to live by me to come to my slumber party! It’s a virtual one so you’d only need to send me a photo of yourself in what you’d wear to my party!! Hope you can make it! xo

  32. February 21, 2010 3:51 am

    looking gorgeous! adore the top ❤

  33. February 21, 2010 4:23 am

    U look amazing babe!!! Hope u are having a fabulous wknd! xx

  34. February 21, 2010 7:03 am

    Hi Mel on a … it was snowing sunday and finally the sunshine is back 😉

    I´m really excited to see all the photos from your slumber party!!

    Your outfit looks like so much fun! Rollergirl meets the Olympic Games!
    Do you also enjoy watching 😉
    Wooow to your miiiiileeee loooong legs, Mel.

    Say a lovely hello to your sister!!!

  35. February 21, 2010 8:29 am

    your hair is perfection!

  36. February 21, 2010 8:43 am

    Your outfit looks fab!
    I love the sparkly top, it’s just fab isnt it!
    and your make up looks so super pretty!
    also beautiful words too!

  37. February 21, 2010 11:15 am

    Your socks are awesome!

  38. February 21, 2010 2:10 pm

    Sparkles! Skater! Socks! You look super-rad, even if it’s just for dress-ups.

    Read gstar post-scratching my head for you too? odd.

    Love your blog-I’m in for a slumber party!

  39. February 21, 2010 7:06 pm

    I just adore your shorts. : )

  40. February 21, 2010 7:13 pm

    I love your shirt!! OMG I want it!! You look great and congrats on your feature

  41. February 22, 2010 2:33 pm

    I really like your dress !

    || M

  42. February 23, 2010 12:54 pm

    thisis such a fun look .. and i love you hairdo

  43. February 28, 2010 3:26 pm

    LOVe your playfulness with fashion. youre wickeD! for real

  44. March 1, 2010 11:10 am

    your jumper is so cute

    http://natashassoiree.blogspot.com/

  45. Tamara permalink
    March 2, 2010 12:25 pm

    1) Love that top!
    2) Look that hair, a-ma-zing! So cooly elegant 😉

    xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. My Speaking Engagement at the Lashem Launch Event « Wrecked Stellar

Leave a Reply

