Skip to content

Happy First Birthday to Wrecked Stellar!

February 22, 2010

Vintage dress via Nasty Gal Vintage, Report Signature shoes via Shopbop.com, YSL ring worn on my thumb via Saks Fifth Avenue

Today’s golden. Actually, my life conviction defines “every breathing moment” as golden, but this one has that extra glint. It’s a little more stellar, if you will. Today marks the day that Wrecked Stellar was born. On February 22, 2009, I pushed this baby girl out and into the World that is the Wide Web. She now walks on her own and more importantly has learned that in her world, being “wrecked” never means being “ruined”. No, her name follows a definition that I deem unique to her- that when something is “wrecked” – it’s extreme. Her very essence is a beautiful devastation. Maxed out. And punctuated with stellar. Wrecked Stellar is my little rascal and I love her. So I shimmied into this vintage gold dress and delicately pulled a rose out of a bouquet that I had dried. Fresh flowers are charming on the outside, but it’s the dried, weathered ones that tell the stories. After a year of Wrecked Stellar sharing stories, I thought it was only appropriate to give her this refined rose. And this icecream cake! (I don’t care for cake so I always have an icecream one for my Birthday!) I’m sending you all virtual cake slices with my warmest thanks and appreciation for being the best readers and blog friends to my little blogby!

_________________________

P.S.- I wanted to remind you to RSVP to my SLUMBER PARTY and to submit your photos! The details are below-

Who: You- because you’ve made it to Wrecked Stellar- which means you’re pretty fabulous and exclusive already. I’m also free-loving!

When: Saturday, March 7th, at 8pm

Where: Virtually at my Los Angeles pad

Why: Because you don’t want to see me sitting with several bowls of popcorn watching 16 Candles by myself- (though I totally would do that anyway)!

Activities: Barbecuing on one balcony, pretending the other balcony is a stage and dancing to the likes of “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” and “Livin’ on a Prayer”, TP’ing fraternity houses at UCLA, soaking it up in a water balloon fight, playing “Never Have I”, swooning over Jake in 16 Candles wearing our mud masks, and falling asleep tucked away in our sleeping bags with the fun moments from the night tucked away in our memories.

Attire: Pajamas- whatever form they come in for you.

How: E-mail a photo of yourself to wreckedstellar@gmail.com in your attire in whatever environment and capacity you want. You’re my guest so it’s up to you! I will post all of my guests’ photos and blog links (if you have one) in my March 7th post so that everyone can share in our party fun!

RSVP: I set the date in March so that you’d have enough time to clear your calendar, think of a cute pajama outfit, and take your photo! Please RSVP in the Comments section by March 1st so I can buy enough food for everyone. I will be sending reminders out in future posts, but I’m sure you won’t need a reminder because you’ll all want to come! xoxo

_________________________

P.P.S.- Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Fan Me on Facebook

74 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 2:59 am

    Congrats Honey!

    ♥Please don’t forget to join the Schnappy Jewelry giveaway!♥

    Good luck!

  2. February 22, 2010 3:13 am

    hi there, just found your blog. happy anniversary!
    you look beautiful. i really like the feminine dress and the makeup is rad, too, reminds me of japanese beauty. superb!

  3. February 22, 2010 4:00 am

    love this dress, perfect on your body! Romantic color and shape. Great with those aggressive shoes.

  4. February 22, 2010 9:21 am

    Congratulations! I love your blog and style!
    Lovely dress in a perfect body (It’s easy :D)!
    xx

  5. February 22, 2010 9:45 am

    Awww. Love you in the vintage frock, Mel! Happy 1st birthday to Wrecked Stellar! Proud to be a supporter!

  6. February 22, 2010 9:51 am

    great shots
    http://nycrunfashion.blogspot.com

  7. February 22, 2010 11:41 am

    i almost ddint recognize you .. wow that green dress is so perfect for you

  8. February 22, 2010 11:49 am

    Awesome! Great job on the blog and congrats on making the one year mark. I always enjoy reading your thoughts and being jealous of the LA weather in the backgrounds. That and it’s cool to see people rocking Nasty Gal stuff-that store is killing it. Oh and ice cream cake is the awesomeness.

    ps I like that you used ‘rad’ when describing those cargos. It’s the only apropos descriptor!

  9. February 22, 2010 12:00 pm

    WOooow so this “Wrecked Stellar” really sounds as a “Dizzyness of exquisiteness” (notably) with such a Dress Dear Mel !!! Mmmh AND Beyond the fact that this finery ideally emphasizes your bare shoulders’ sensuality, I (“shy French guy”) have to say that the (so graceful/delicate) way she highlights your “bootilicious” side achieves to mesmerize me . . .

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  10. February 22, 2010 12:05 pm

    I love you, Antoine!! You always make me smile!! xo

  11. February 22, 2010 12:16 pm

    That is a PERFECT outfit for such an AMAZING celebration!! Happy 1st Birthday!!

    xoxo

  12. February 22, 2010 1:00 pm

    Dang, you look like you have a JLo booty in that pic! Congrats & happy birthday to WS! That cake looks delish. Cheers to many more fabulous posts and another great year of continuing WS!

    xo

  13. February 22, 2010 1:00 pm

    Happy anniverasry pretty girl!!!!!! I don’t forget the slumber party!!!!!!! I’ll be ready!!!!!!!! Your dresss is beautiful darling!!!!

  14. February 22, 2010 1:05 pm

    Congrats sweetie!

  15. February 22, 2010 4:16 pm

    Just happened upon your blog and I think it’s gorgeous…I’ve been reading through your posts and I love them all! I will definitly be back to read more…amazing dress…I want one!

    Love love love,

    Erin

    xx

  16. Matt permalink
    February 22, 2010 7:32 pm

    Happy Birthday!!! You have grown so much. I can’t wait to see how you grow through the years. Pisces are the best.

  17. February 22, 2010 10:45 pm

    Happy Birthday Darling! I always enjoy coming to your blog to see what beautiful photos and stories I’ll find this time. =) You’re a sweetheart, which makes it even more inviting!

    I want to RSVP yes to the Slumber party, but I have to find a cute pajama outfit before then 😉 If I do, then I’m in 😛

  18. February 23, 2010 2:10 am

    Happy Blog Birthday! It’s been a pleasure reading your wonderful posts and I’m looking forward to more! My blog just turned a year old around two weeks ago and I totally forgot about it (I guess I’m a bad mom? Didn’t even get it a cake… sigh). Beautiful dress… I love the ruffle detailing at the top. And the shoes are fab as well.

  19. February 23, 2010 5:09 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ONE YEAR OF FAB WRECKEDSTELLAR, LOVE!
    You were uber-fabulous and so very special from the first day on – and you continued in developing your blog so very, very much! I’m feeling grateful to have watched and accompanied your creativity, your stylings, your fun for fashion, places and people growing over the past year…. ❤ ❤ ❤
    Lots of love, sweetie – and up for more fabulous years to come!!!
    xxxxx sofie

  20. February 23, 2010 7:33 am

    Happy First Birthday! My how you’ve grown! Awesome vintage dress 🙂

  21. February 23, 2010 8:28 am

    Happy birthday and what a dress to celebrate in, totally gorgeous!

  22. February 23, 2010 9:50 am

    Happy blogiversary, darling!!!
    You look incredible!

    Congrats and keep up the amazing work!

    xoxox,
    CC

  23. February 23, 2010 11:37 am

    gorgeous pictures…you look fab. i have to know what nail polish you are wearing btw.

  24. thelovelyaesthetic permalink
    February 23, 2010 1:24 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! You look gorgeous, per usual. That e-cake is making me hungry though 🙂

  25. February 23, 2010 2:13 pm

    Hy, congrats on the 1st year! And thanks for visiting my blog!

    The dress is really pretty 😉

    kiss

  26. February 23, 2010 2:56 pm

    Happy (blog) birthday! Your dress is totally amazing – love it! 🙂
    http://www.friendinfashion.blogspot.com
    xx

  27. February 23, 2010 3:02 pm

    congrats girl!! keep it up =)

    xx

  28. February 23, 2010 3:16 pm

    You have a wonderful figure. Happy Bloggiversary! 🙂

  29. February 23, 2010 4:29 pm

    Sexxxxy, happy blog birthday!

  30. February 23, 2010 5:29 pm

    You look stellar, indeed, young lady….a delectable ensemble as tasty as that ice cream cake! 😉

    Happy, happy b-day Wrecked Stellar…may all of your wishes come true!

    +8!3

  31. February 23, 2010 6:19 pm

    aww happy birthday! you look gorgeous sweetie

  32. February 23, 2010 6:21 pm

    Love those shoes!!

    http://glamlatte.blogspot.com

  33. February 23, 2010 7:43 pm

    Congrats! You look absolutely stunning in that dress!

  34. February 23, 2010 10:21 pm

    Love the vintage dress, and that first shot is so perfect, could be straight out of a magazine! Happy first blog birthday! xo

  35. mel0money permalink
    February 23, 2010 10:43 pm

    Happy Birthday Lovely ❤ & thank you for a year of beauty and inspiration.

  36. Jamie permalink
    February 23, 2010 11:15 pm

    Happy Birthday Wrecked Stellar!!! You should have seen yourself a year ago – you were only a wee little blog – now a bigger happier blog! YAH!!!

  37. February 24, 2010 6:40 am

    Happy bloversary!

  38. February 24, 2010 7:16 am

    Hey v- my nail polish is Sally Hansen’s Jumpin’ Jade! Bought it to go with my army Halloween costume! xo

  39. February 24, 2010 8:53 am

    thanks for stopping by & saying hi! i love your blog & will definitely be following it. okay, the slumber party idea is too cute & i just HAVE to send you my pic. xoxo

  40. February 24, 2010 9:45 am

    What a neat idea! And also, may I say you look GORGEOUS. Hot hot hot!

    So glad I found your blog!

    xx

  41. February 24, 2010 10:53 am

    That outfit is just adorable.
    xx

  42. February 24, 2010 11:09 am

    hey girl, sorry for the late response. life is feeling just a little too unorganized and crazy, ha. loooove that dress ! esp on you with the red lippy and killer eye makeup. black chunky heels? hells yes. and congrats to your blog – that cake looks so yummy ; )

    xx lue

  43. February 24, 2010 1:50 pm

    Gorgeous dress.

    Love Grace.

  44. February 24, 2010 2:31 pm

    Mel, You look so stunning here! I love how that dress looks on you! And your hair and make up looks gorgeous as well.

    Happy blogiversary!

  45. February 24, 2010 4:26 pm

    yay happy birthday!

  46. February 25, 2010 11:27 am

    Happy birthday and congrats to you! One year is exceptional… it goes by so fast when you’re doing something you love, right?

    That dress is gorgeous! Where did you wear it?

    Also, I NEED to get on that slumber party. I’ve got ideas, but I keep getting distracted/unmotivated bc I don’t look “acceptable.” Haha, primping for a sleepover… only in LA 😛

    LiveLoveLA

  47. February 25, 2010 1:31 pm

    Love your hair like this!

  48. February 25, 2010 2:55 pm

    Your dress is gorgeous Mel!! I love your shoes too! Very sexy and Congratulations on the blog’s birthday! xxooxoxxo

  49. February 25, 2010 4:00 pm

    congrats! 🙂

  50. February 25, 2010 4:28 pm

    You look fabulous! Happy b-day to your blog:)

  51. February 25, 2010 4:56 pm

    Sounds like a fun party and happy anniversary. You look gorgeous, especially with the rose!

  52. February 25, 2010 5:52 pm

    DAMN. Work that body! You are looking fabulous my dear, happy first blog birthday!

    xx raez

  53. February 25, 2010 6:26 pm

    congratss!!!
    you look amazing
    so sexy!!
    love how the dress fits you!
    x!

  54. February 26, 2010 12:25 am

    happy 1st birthday to your blog! what better way to celebrate your anniversary than to look drop dead gorgeous in a vintage dress! 🙂 you really look stunning though and that color suits you so well.
    hopefully i’ll be able to get a picture of my PJs in time for this virtual sleepover 😛

  55. February 26, 2010 7:42 am

    Hi, congrats!!
    I so love your blog, your pics are fabulous, your style is out of this world, and you are absolutely gorgeous. I love how you apply your make up, it is perfect.

    Love your outfits, you have so much elegance!

    Thanks for leaving a thought on my post on |Kim Kardashian, I agree with you on your opinion, she is a lovely girl.
    Hope to see you again soon, and hope your weekend will be filled with love and joy.
    Colin.

  56. February 26, 2010 8:27 am

    Happy blog-anniversary,Mel!!!
    You look fabulous as always in your vintage find!!!
    Love especially the very last photo!
    … and the color of your uber cool nail polish!!

    Have a beautiful weekend ahead,Mel!!!

  57. February 26, 2010 6:43 pm

    Love that dress! It’s gorgeous, and you look fabulous. Congratulations on the birthday/anniversary!

    RYC: Yeah, I was thinking that dishwasher incidents like that only happen on TV! lol

  58. February 26, 2010 10:37 pm

    Oh WOW these are stunning photos. You look so beautiful and I truly love everything about this outfit. Stunning dress and shoes.

  59. February 26, 2010 11:08 pm

    happy happy birthday – wow! one year – so short yet so much accomplished!!! wish many more to come and you looked so happy and starling, xx

  60. February 27, 2010 5:17 am

    Happy birthday, WS!

  61. February 27, 2010 2:01 pm

    Stunning dress!

  62. February 27, 2010 5:38 pm

    Awww…I thought you are going to a dinner date.
    Wow, you look gorgeous sweetie!
    I hate to say but you have the sexiest butt! LOL!

  63. February 27, 2010 7:09 pm

    happy birthday !

  64. February 28, 2010 3:26 pm

    darling I love the dress, congrats on your blog-birthday!
    xoxo
    Marian.

  65. February 28, 2010 3:27 pm

    haha love that idea of yours. might just join you! haha but dear. the snow was white .and now its brown. yummy. seriously im so tired of snow. all i want is spring. happy BDAY to you blog! you looks simply sTUNNING in these pics. the dress fits you so well.
    hope u had an wicked weekend.

    xx ediot

  66. February 28, 2010 4:04 pm

    hi beautiful! happy birthday to your blog!!!

    wowwww! you look absolutely gorgeous! really adore this outfit on you!

    now this e-slumber party – 8pm? so what time would that be in sydney? hmm

    big hugs ❤
    x

  67. March 1, 2010 9:19 pm

    hey, I’ve just discovered your blog and LOVE it!!! You have great photos on here, I’ll def. keep in touch and follow you.

    I hope you’ll have the time to check out my fashion illustration blog: http://www.nicolejarecz.com

    xxnicole take care!

  68. Ary permalink
    March 2, 2010 9:29 am

    Happy Birthday! I heart your dress and make up!! Love your eye make up, especially.

  69. March 2, 2010 11:02 am

    Happy Birthday. Stunning dress and shoes.
    x

  70. March 2, 2010 2:46 pm

    you have such a rocking body girl! you look amazing- love that black dress especially!
    xx

  71. March 2, 2010 3:18 pm

    Hey gorgeous!! Hope u are well, I have missed ur posts, U look stunning here!! I am back to blogging again, too, yey : ) xxx

  72. March 4, 2010 3:29 am

    wow! congrats on your one year anniversary! your blog def has boomed in the past year 🙂 you look like a freakin supermodel in this picture, your in such fantastic shape! oh i really have to get my slumber party picture in asap!

    xx

  73. March 4, 2010 3:08 pm

    WOW you look AMAZING xxxxxxxxxx

  74. March 9, 2010 5:34 am

    Oh my don’t you just ooze glamour!!

Leave a Reply

