Skip to content

2010 Oscars: The Takers, Do-ers, and Besties

March 9, 2010

The theme of the 2010 Oscars seemed to be that dreams do come true. No doubt it happens every year, but this year in particular felt like the little guy or girl who may have been reaching for that faraway star on tippy toes finally took hold of the gold.  There’s a classic scene in the sports movie, Glory Road, when Josh Lucas gives a passionate locker room speech to his basketball team instructing them that, “You gotta go out there and you gotta take it!” I always have that sentiment in my head- no one is going to hand you anything. Dreams aren’t a “Can I have that Oscar?” to which any power-wielding Hollywood executive with the “can”/”may” rule in his head would respond with, “I don’t know. Can you?” As a film fanatic and aspiring screenwriter, I was thrilled to see my favorite film from this year and all-time favorite war movie, The Hurt Locker, win Best Picture, Best Director (ala Kathryn Bigelow), Best Original Screenplay (ala Mark Boal for his first screenplay no less), and three other awards. Seeing the actors on stage intertwined in arms, almost swaying in unison to the joyous music blasting in each of their heads, it reminded me of how I’d be with my own friends. Maybe it was after college graduation at the bar that we lived at- in locked arms with my friends swaying to the usual last call song, Lean On Me, looking out into the crowd and ultimately out at the world knowing that we finished and made it out alive- a comparison that would need to be amplified times 2,000 to equal their Oscars moment. Whatever moment in my life that those three actors, Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, and Brian Geraghty, made me feel connected to- the outcome feeling was that of hope for myself and my own dreams. They’re actors who certainly have credits, but they’re not the A- or B-list stars. Yet, just like Bigelow and Boal, they’ve gone out there and taken their dreams, not asking questions beginning with “Can”. No, instead, they are out there “doing” with a solid “done-it” under their tuxedo belts. Thanks for the inspiration.

_________________________

I needed to start off with that because you need to go after your dreams to be able to wear the gowns below. My choices were easily the best dressed of the night- many women were too safe with their colors and designs.

Best Dressed Oscar Attendees-

Sarah Jessica Parker in Chanel

Zoe Saldana in Givenchy

Diane Kruger in Chanel

Miley Cyrus in Jenny Packham

Jennifer Lopez in Giorgio Armani Privé

Zoe Kravitz in Alexis Mabille


_________________________

Best Dressed Oscar Party Attendees-

Rachel Bilson in Zac Posen and a vintage cape

(The white dress lining accented by the matching clutch is so clutch in itself.)

Katy Perry in Zuhair Marad

Bar Refaeli in a white sequin gown (designer unknown)


_________________________

Photos: Jason Merritt/Alberto E. Rodriguez/Barritt/Le Segretain/John Shearer/Getty/GSI Media/JustJared.com

_________________________

P.S.- I wanted to remind you to RSVP to my SLUMBER PARTY and to submit your photos! The details are below-

Who: You- because you’ve made it to Wrecked Stellar- which means you’re pretty fabulous and exclusive already. I’m also free-loving!

When: Saturday, April 24th, at 8pm

Where: Virtually at my Los Angeles pad

Why: Because you don’t want to see me sitting with several bowls of popcorn watching 16 Candles by myself- (though I totally would do that anyway)!

Activities: Barbecuing on one balcony, pretending the other balcony is a stage and dancing to the likes of “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” and “Livin’ on a Prayer”, TP’ing fraternity houses at UCLA, soaking it up in a water balloon fight, playing “Never Have I”, swooning over Jake in 16 Candles wearing our mud masks, and falling asleep tucked away in our sleeping bags with the fun moments from the night tucked away in our memories.

Attire: Pajamas- whatever form they come in for you.

How: E-mail a photo of yourself to wreckedstellar@gmail.com in your attire in whatever environment and capacity you want. You’re my guest so it’s up to you! I will post all of my guests’ photos and blog links (if you have one) in my April 24th post so that everyone can share in our party fun!

RSVP: I set the date in April so that you’d have enough time to clear your calendar, think of a cute pajama outfit, and take your photo! Please RSVP in the Comments section by April 21st so I can buy enough food for everyone. I will be sending reminders out in future posts, but I’m sure you won’t need a reminder because you’ll all want to come! xoxo

_________________________

P.P.S.- Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Fan Me on Facebook

17 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 9:23 am

    What an amazing post! I couldn’t agree with you more… it’s true, we have to be able to have the courage to dream and to go after what it is that we won’t… I was disappointed that Avatar didn’t win the best picture and the best director, however, I am happy that someone else dreams did come true…

    Lovely choices for the Best Dressed list… Very outside of the box and creative! =)

  2. March 9, 2010 2:39 pm

    I loved Zoe’s dress! She is one lovely girl.

  3. Roosty permalink
    March 9, 2010 3:25 pm

    I absolutely LOVE Diane Kruger’s dress though. Hands down the most gorgeous dress I’ve seen in a VERY long time!

  4. March 9, 2010 5:28 pm

    My favs are def. Diane Kruger and SJP. Not everyone loved them, but that’s because they were the most fashion forward. JLo also looked gorg!

  5. March 9, 2010 6:22 pm

    we have similar picks..i was very surprised that i actually liked what miley wore

    xx

  6. March 9, 2010 7:36 pm

    Fabulous roundup, darling!
    Totally agree with your picks!

    xoxox,
    CC

  7. March 10, 2010 1:26 am

    Love how natural Zoe Kravitz looks 🙂
    xx

  8. March 10, 2010 4:31 am

    Zoe K. looked gorgeous! But with that being said, I’m onboard with ‘Sandra Bullock’. She looked beautiful, a 10/10 in her gown.

  9. March 10, 2010 5:19 am

    Hey James- I have to say I love love love Marchesa, but I did not love Sandra Bullock’s look. I wanted it to be much more dramatic! xo

  10. March 10, 2010 6:58 am

    Hey hun! Luved ur post! Wow these dresses are stunning! Hope ur well! Xx

  11. March 10, 2010 11:30 am

    Not too crazy about SJP and JLo, but I loooooooved Miley’s and Katy Perry’s dresses. Who woulda thought Miley could look so classy?

  12. March 11, 2010 9:50 am

    Zoe Saldana’s dress was my favorite of the Oscars. It was such a flattering style and color, and I’m so happy she’s finally taking off.

    I didn’t really “get” Sarah Jessica Parker’s dress though…didn’t make much sense to me. But I suppose that’s why I’m not a fashionista. 🙂

    P.S. I’ve changed my domain! Please don’t forget to update your bookmarks to http://www.thelingerieaddict.com. Thanks!

  13. March 11, 2010 1:27 pm

    I’ve watched the Oscar’s live on TV…. So from 1 to 5am in the morning…. Uuuuuuuuuhhhh!
    I also liked Demi Moore’s Versace dress, Sandra Bullock’s Marchesa, Kate Winslet’s YSL and Cam Diaz’s Oscar de la Renta dresses… The show was fun – but not as much as last year when Hugh Jackman hosted it! That was bombastic!!!!!!

  14. March 11, 2010 5:44 pm

    Wow, Mel….great job. I love inspiring post. Now I don’t feel so bad about having gone back to skool…it gets hard, but in order for me to do what I really have a passion for, I can’t expect anyone to give me an opportunity. I have to be willing to step my game up and be ready to take it when the opportunity finally arises.

    Great choices on the Oscar dresses. I opted not to watch because I never feel the shows live up to the hype.

    +8!3

  15. March 13, 2010 1:15 pm

    Happy sweet weekend Mel!!!
    Swooon away… to Diane Kruger´s and SJP´s Chanel dresses!
    So enchanting, especially the one from Miss Kruger!!!

    Wishing you a lovely weekend ahead full of sunshiney moments to come!!!

  16. March 14, 2010 5:02 am

    oh i love reviews about celeb dresses in oscars. i think miley looks gorgeous too, and bar rafaeli… hands down! rad dress, she looks absolutely stunning, too!! diane kruger shows real class in that dress. she’s so elegant and lovely as always.

  17. March 14, 2010 6:03 am

    Hey Sofie- While I love Cameron D., I just didn’t love her dress. She was still gorgeous, but I prefer her in something more high-fashion. The dress was too generic! xo

Leave a Reply

