Skip to content

LA Fashion Weekend 2010

March 30, 2010

On March 21st, I attended the finale of LA Fashion Weekend at Gower Studios in Hollywood where guests were treated to 100 looks from four designers: Zanerobe, Civil Society, Buffalo David Bitton, and Division E. The vibe within the tent was airy and relaxed- a cloudless space destined for a good time. And it definitely showed on the runway. The models looked like they were into it and in turn the crowd was feeling the feel-good commotion. Special thanks goes to the cute friend of Civil Society designer, Brad Schwartz, who gave Bec and me a ride from the entrance of the studio lot to the tent.

Here are my favorite looks from each designer-

Zanerobe was inspiring with its retro, yet modern take on American classic style. Accessories like the aviator cap and feather headdress, along with the trophy, rifle bag, and croquet mallet props elevated the show. Zanerobe has a definitive point of view that I can’t wait to see more of.

Civil Society’s looks were right out of my mind- only I didn’t know they were in there. I can only hope that my next boyfriend dresses like the above Wednesday through Saturday- and on repeat for the rest of our relationship. From the sunglasses/glasses to the fingerless gloves, the styling left me with a societal crush.

When I saw Buffalo David Bitton’s denim button down shirt with the refined camo cargo pants look, I turned to Bec and professed my love for that pairing. It’s effortless sexy punctuated with the model’s adorable smirk. And I’m recommending that my aforementioned next boyfriend wear that on Sunday.

Division E’s looks had the super soft pieces that you keep in your drawers and in rotation for the many folds of life. When I saw the black long sleeved maxi dress, I knew that was a friend I’d keep for life. The hood and cut make for a slinky silhouette that slips forth a mysterious, yet undeniably strong impression.

*I was excited when I found out Report Signature provided the shoes for the Buffalo and Division E women. I own four pairs of Report Signature shoes so I love them!

**(All runway photos are by John Eckmier)

Hanging out with some ladies I saw throughout LA Fashion Week- Patty Ann, Katie, Jen, and me.

My twin sister, Bec, Katie, Patty Ann, and me

As we arrived so did my previously referenced future boyfriend, Shaun Sipos from Melrose Place. He better study my notes above on what to wear during our relationship.

Wore a vintage dress via Nasty Gal Vintage, Steve Madden wedges, YSL arty oval turquoise ring via Saks, and Anthropologie fish earrings.

_________________________

P.S.- I wanted to remind you to RSVP to my SLUMBER PARTY and to submit your photos! The details are below-

Who: You- because you’ve made it to Wrecked Stellar- which means you’re pretty fabulous and exclusive already. I’m also free-loving!

When: Saturday, April 24th, at 8pm

Where: Virtually at my Los Angeles pad

Why: Because you don’t want to see me sitting with several bowls of popcorn watching 16 Candles by myself- (though I totally would do that anyway)!

Activities: Barbecuing on one balcony, pretending the other balcony is a stage and dancing to the likes of “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” and “Livin’ on a Prayer”, TP’ing fraternity houses at UCLA, soaking it up in a water balloon fight, playing “Never Have I”, swooning over Jake in 16 Candles wearing our mud masks, and falling asleep tucked away in our sleeping bags with the fun moments from the night tucked away in our memories.

Attire: Pajamas- whatever form they come in for you.

How: E-mail a photo of yourself to wreckedstellar@gmail.com in your attire in whatever environment and capacity you want. You’re my guest so it’s up to you! I will post all of my guests’ photos and blog links (if you have one) in my April 24th post so that everyone can share in our party fun!

RSVP: I set the date in April so that you’d have enough time to clear your calendar, think of a cute pajama outfit, and take your photo! Please RSVP in the Comments section by April 21st so I can buy enough food for everyone. I will be sending reminders out in future posts, but I’m sure you won’t need a reminder because you’ll all want to come! xoxo

_________________________

P.P.S.- Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Fan Me on Facebook

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 9:53 am

    Mel, baby, I LOVE that dress!! You look stunning 🙂

    And those men… I wanna get my boyfriend dressed in that plaid/military Buffalo David Bitton getup. Think I can pull it off?

    It’s so great to see more and more male fashion on blogs too. Love how you and Becs have started incorporating that 😀

  2. March 30, 2010 11:37 am

    Wow you seriously go to the most awesome events! so jealous!! you look fab as always! i’m sure i’d spend like 5 hours just trying to figure out what to wear. you make it look effortless! 🙂

  3. March 30, 2010 12:30 pm

    First, I am obsessed with the looks from Division E – so effortless and seductive. Second…I so need to find a boy who wears Civil Society. Ohmigosh how amazing!

    You looked absolutely gorgeous – as per usual! i’m so glad that you had a good time, my love! And Shaun Sipos…be still my heart!! 🙂

  4. March 30, 2010 6:12 pm

    If you liked the shoes on the girls for Division E and Buffalo, they were Report Signature.

  5. March 30, 2010 7:02 pm

    Hey Art- Yes, I meant to note that Report Signature provided the shoes and will update the post now! If you look through my blog you can see I wear Report Signature shoes- I have 4 pairs! 🙂

  6. March 30, 2010 10:19 pm

    First off, love the paparazzi shot of Shaun Sippos. I thought I was the only one who watched Melrose Place 2.0. Now, we have something to correspond about… aside from happy hours & fashion!

    And those Steve Madden wedges… WANT.

  7. March 31, 2010 4:25 am

    division e looks promising. love your dress, werk, live!

    Lola Re

  8. March 31, 2010 8:46 am

    Hi Mel!

    I’m really really sad I missed the CONCEPT shows and the rest of the show during LAFW 😦 But it was SO good to meet you and Becs. Gosh you girls are even prettier in person 🙂

    LOL to this: “As we arrived so did my previously referenced future boyfriend, Shaun Sipos from Melrose Place. He better study my notes above on what to wear during our relationship.”

    xx D

  9. March 31, 2010 11:33 am

    Hey Jennie- I watch Melrose FOR Shaun Sipos!! 🙂

  10. March 31, 2010 12:19 pm

    Luved ur post, u look fabulous babe!! Chat soon xx

  11. March 31, 2010 1:06 pm

    I love your colorful dress 🙂

    xx

  12. April 1, 2010 1:02 pm

    So fun, darling!
    Love your dress!

    xoxox,
    CC

  13. April 3, 2010 6:19 am

    I like Zanerobe the best. A+++

    JD
    iplayfaves.blogspot.com

  14. April 3, 2010 10:09 am

    love the division e long maxi dress/tee or whatever you call it haha

    xx

  15. April 3, 2010 11:26 am

    what a great dress!! so colorful and fab!!
    love your shoes too!!

  16. April 3, 2010 12:24 pm

    I love all your picks for Zanerobe – their are fun, flirty and sassy! Totally my style. HAHAH did you notice how the first male model in your photos for Civil Society was seriously giving a “Blue Steel” face???

    The slumber party sounds like such a fun idea! I’m definitely going to try to do a photo 🙂

  17. April 3, 2010 1:25 pm

    Your dress is so awesome. Definitely a head turner! 🙂

  18. April 3, 2010 9:25 pm

    Great coverage of the event. That chambray(?) shirtdress by Zanerobe is dopeshow. Kudos on taking pictures at the event. Every time I’ve had the opportunity to meet up with other bloggers at events I end up too focused on goofing around to remember that I own a camera.

  19. April 3, 2010 9:56 pm

    You ladies all looked SO gorgeous. Love the fabulous print of your frock! FINALLY blog rolled you btw. : )

  20. April 4, 2010 12:37 pm

    How fun! Love the bag from the first look;)) And you looked great! Adore the shoes<3

  21. April 5, 2010 4:31 am

    What a glamorous event! And you look totally gorgeous, love your outfit, you are such a lucky lady, although the best golf player ever said there is no such thing as luck, he says you make your own luck.

    Lovely event, lovely selection of pics, great post.

    Thanks for your lovely comment on my last post, really appreciate it.

    Hope your day and week will be filled with excitement.

    Colin.

Leave a Reply

