Skip to content

Colly Parked in LA

June 1, 2010

I’ve been spending time away from my computer and with two college girlfriends, Ary and Christie, who arrived from Maryland Wednesday night and stayed in California through Memorial Day weekend. Manicures and pedicures (bright orange mani and hot pink pedi for me) opened their visit, followed by loads of reminiscing, pigging out at Geisha House, Pink Taco, and James Beach, swinging over the Santa Monica pier at the Trapeze School New York, screaming more than 8-year-olds do on the Universal Studios rides, spotting Billy Bush at the theme park, walking past a group of women in Hollywood only to have one yell down the street to my sister, Bec, and me to come back so she could admire our outfits (we obliged) and then finding out the woman was Linda Hogan, drooling over the fashions during Sex and the City 2, BBQ’ing, and  laying out at Hermosa Beach- it was a pretty complete weekend and quality time well spent with quality friends.

My American Apparel bodysuit and tri-blend scrimmage shirt and Nightcap Clothing leggings were my choice of armor against my anxiety and fear.

Climbing the ladder was the worst part. We went up there five times and it never got easier.

I wish I had looked around more when I was up on the platform. I only focused on the instructor up there.

With my toes at the edge of the platform, leaning out to grab the bar was frightening- even with the instructor holding me back.

Initially I thought that I wouldn’t be able to hold on to the bar. It’s easier to do when you don’t want to fall.

After swinging out, we had to drape our legs over the bar. The first and fourth times I did it, I missed the bar and flipped over. The instructor said I had been putting too much power into it.

Legs are draped!

Next step was to let go of the bar when the instructor told us to and arch back, looking at the opposite swing with our “catch hands”. This was practice for when we would be caught by another swinging instructor- exactly how circus performers do it. I’ll be posting a link to the video when my friend sends me the file.

To dismount, we pumped our legs forward, backward, and forward again into a back flip.

Waving at Bec, whose fear of heights deemed her our photographer.

Displaying our “catch hands”.

Dorks.

Group shot with our super rad instructors. They were all so supportive and made us feel secure. I am stoked I got through the class and definitely recommend doing it!

Beautiful view at Univeral Studios.

Imitating the Simpsons. Yeah, I don’t know. I just stood where I was told.

We quoted I Love You, Man every day because We Love You, Paul Rudd and Jason Segal. Naturally, we had to go to James Beach where they ate fish tacos in the film.

Lounging poolside in Hermosa Beach with my friend, Renee, and company.

Gorgeous day in Hermosa Beach.

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Fan Me on Facebook

34 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 6:26 am

    that trapeze lesson looks amazing! glad to hear that you had a fabulous weekend 🙂

  2. June 1, 2010 7:24 am

    wow cant beleive you did that it looks super scary xxx

  3. June 1, 2010 7:59 am

    looks pretty awesome!!

    -He

    http://fashionbyhe.blogspot.com

  4. June 1, 2010 8:36 am

    Looks more fun than I could have imagined! I’ll definitely have to try it. And I LOVE your suit in the last photo.

  5. June 1, 2010 12:50 pm

    Wow, who took those amazing action shots of you during the trapeze class?! You look like a natural up there!

  6. June 1, 2010 2:13 pm

    Looks like it was a fantastic weekend. It’s so cool that you got to trapeze! It must have been so fun. All of you look great. I love the top in the first picture.

  7. June 1, 2010 8:55 pm

    WoW! what an amazing experience. Looks like you all had a great time. Thanks for sharing!

  8. June 1, 2010 9:16 pm

    You’re so brave to try the trapeze! Great pics.

  9. June 2, 2010 7:01 am

    You are aMAZing, darling!
    Wow, I am impressed!
    Love your bikini too!

    xoxox,
    CC

  10. June 2, 2010 7:26 am

    Wow! amazing shots dear! looks more fun,

    xoxo

  11. Anna Margrete permalink
    June 2, 2010 8:58 am

    That looks so difficult, but fun!

    http://annamargrete.wordpress.com

  12. June 2, 2010 9:12 am

    Dear Mel, therse pictures tend to prove us tha

  13. June 2, 2010 9:16 am

    Chère Mel, these pictures highly tend to prove us that THE fashionista easily can turn into an acrobatic/reckless creature (Mmh “whispering French guy” AND an uber Radiant “Beach Goddess”) too !!!
    ps: AAaarrgh Deeply Sorry for this little “skid of keyboard from my two left hands” Dear !!!!

    Amicalement, Antoine

  14. June 2, 2010 12:02 pm

    Looks like so much fun! Why-oh-why is Atlanta land-locked. Boo.
    You guys all look gorgeous 😉
    ps- Mel, where did you get that swim suit?! I love the color!

  15. June 2, 2010 12:27 pm

    Hey Laur- I bought my bikini online from Victoria’s Secret last year! Thanks! 🙂 xo

  16. Clare permalink
    June 2, 2010 5:59 pm

    Omgah omgah!! This looks CRAZY fun! Ahhhhhhh I am so jealous. I would love to do that!

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  17. June 2, 2010 7:08 pm

    That is so freaking cool. I’ve always wanted to try that…but I’m a total wuss. HA!

  18. June 2, 2010 9:34 pm

    Wow that looks like so much fun! I’m not sure I’d be so brave to do the tricks though.

  19. June 3, 2010 12:29 am

    Wow babe, what a fabulous post! This looks like so much fun and your pictures are amazing on the trapeze!!
    Hope you are having a lovely week! xxx

  20. June 3, 2010 3:47 am

    Cool! Looks super fun!

  21. June 3, 2010 4:03 am

    The trapeze trip looked like a lot of fun! Looked like you had an amazing time with your friends 🙂

  22. June 3, 2010 4:24 am

    Amazing pics! wow! Great blog too! ❤

    http://www.abitoffashion.com

  23. June 3, 2010 8:37 am

    you are crazy brave and how you looked so good while doing it?!!!

  24. June 3, 2010 11:05 am

    Your weekend sounds incredible, Mel! It’s always great to have people come out to visit because then we get to explore our own city that much more… I didn’t even know there was a trapeze school in Santa Monica! Haha…

    And you’re too cute. You’re a little photogenic princess 😀

    XX,
    Neekoh

  25. June 3, 2010 2:46 pm

    THAT LOOKS SO SCARY! congratulations for doing it though!!! and for looking fabulous while at it 🙂

  26. June 3, 2010 5:39 pm

    wow! trapeze school?! how exciting and fun! you are quite the hottie in that outfit too! haha *hugs*

  27. June 3, 2010 6:07 pm

    omg that looks amazing!! i want to try the trapeze now although im pretty scared now to think of it.. not sure if i can conquer my fear of heights. yay for ur friends from MD only cuz i’m from the little state of MD as well hehe 🙂 looks like u guys had a great time!!

  28. June 3, 2010 6:08 pm

    omg that looks amazing!! i want to try the trapeze now although im pretty scared now to think of it.. not sure if i can conquer my fear of heights. yay for ur friends from MD only cuz i’m from the little state of MD as well hehe 🙂 looks like u guys had a great time!!!

  29. June 4, 2010 5:10 pm

    Ohmygosh this looks terrifying! I know I would be too scared to do it, lol! But at the same time, the pictures are so cool! And it looks absolutely lovely where you are! 🙂

  30. June 6, 2010 5:24 pm

    you girls were right down the street from me in Hermosa Beach (where I live) You picked THE best weekend to be here – so sunny and nice. Now we are back to June gloom )-: Glad you had fun!

  31. June 6, 2010 5:57 pm

    I love your bikini in the last photo!

    fashionableroad.blogspot.com

  32. June 8, 2010 12:08 pm

    I’m obsessed with that bikini! OBSESSED!

  33. Fatima permalink
    June 8, 2010 4:19 pm

    OMG! You did the Trapeze School! That’s awesome! I did it a couple of years ago in NYC (the one from the Sex in the City episode!)….so cool! Can’t wait to see you! Blog looks amazing! So professional! =) xo

  34. July 6, 2010 10:03 am

    Beautiful pictures!:)

Leave a Reply

