Skip to content

The Company I Keep

June 9, 2010

Alexander Wang shirt via Shopbop, Urban Renewal shorts via Urban Outfitters, Report Signature shoes via Shopbop, Marc by Marc Jacobs bag via Shopbop

I work on a Web site all day.

My dual monitors are my buddies. My daytime Web site has been my companion for five years.

I come home and I don’t want to look at my own monitor all night. I haven’t even been with this Web site for a year-and-a-half yet.

But this relationship- this nighttime lingering into early morning love fest- is worth it.

Because of times when a friend tells me

I’m the only person who would appreciate

that she bought Christian Louboutin shoes to wear under her wedding dress

or

that I should have been in Vegas with her for the shopping alone

or

asks me if she should tuck her jeans into her brown boots or leave them out.

Tuck away I say.

Tucking myself into this wreck

of stellar.

I’ve found some kind of wonderful in it.

-Just 5am thoughts

_________________________

I’ll be home in Jersey/New York/Maryland next week and will be relishing the moments with my family and friends. I’ll be a year older and perhaps a little wiser by the time I come back to LA- with my long hair in tact (Thank you for all of your feedback on my hair chop debate. It took me since this site’s birth to grow it out so I decided to enjoy the length for now.)! Catch you all in a little over a week (need to pack and well, my assessment of daytime and evening looks takes awhile)!

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Fan Me on Facebook

54 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 6:22 am

    Love the Wang top – looks so graceful and stunning on you!

    Can’t wait to meet up this Sunday!

  2. June 9, 2010 6:31 am

    love the heels! very cool

    -He

    http://fashionbyhe.blogspot.com

  3. June 9, 2010 8:50 am

    Cute dress, but OMG those heels!!! Love them!

    http://hottheels.blogspot.com/

  4. June 9, 2010 10:16 am

    Ah, we’re in the same boat! I’m glad you can relate, though it’s not the best topic to relate on… it’s worth it, you’re right. In the long run, it’s all worth it 🙂
    I’m loving these shoes, doll! And the fact that you kept the rest of the look simple makes them work so well.

    Olie just bought a hard-top convertible — the BMW 328i. The back seat is almost not worth mentioning, it’s that small. But the car is amazingly hot… what are you looking into?

    XX,
    Neekoh
    Live Love LA

  5. June 9, 2010 11:24 am

    Great post.. I am the same… I am the editor of a pharmacy website & I spend all day looking at a computer screen and yet I come back and continue to blog haha
    loving your blog
    – Adele
    MOLTOCURIOSA.COM

  6. June 9, 2010 12:09 pm

    Wow, that dress is fantastic. I love the detailing on the back. I loved reading this as well.

  7. Anna Margrete permalink
    June 9, 2010 12:51 pm

    You look great. Love the shoes!

    http://annamargrete.wordpress.com

  8. June 9, 2010 1:26 pm

    Hey Neekoh- Super jealous he got the BMW 328i- I’d love to own that if I could afford it- have been looking for CPOs of it! I test drove a Spyder the other day, but the backseat and trunk were too small- I know that is probably the case with any convertible so my search continues! xo

  9. June 9, 2010 1:47 pm

    oh my god ! im so jealous i wanted this wang dress. though i liked the eone with a long sleeve .. its gorgeous on you

  10. June 9, 2010 3:19 pm

    Wow, I can’t believe I have only just found your blog. it is really amazing! I love your sense of style, very unique!

    check out my blog if interested at:

    http://littlemissmagnolia.blogspot.com/

    xo Charlotte

  11. June 9, 2010 5:27 pm

    Yes, I may have to borrow this top. Love the front & back cutouts. Very pretty Melly!

  12. June 9, 2010 9:31 pm

    Have a blast at home lady! And those shoes are incredible!

    p.s. Our blog has moved! We would love for you to visit us at our new site: http://www.bonbonrosegirls.com/
    Unfortunately, if you followed us with Google Friend Connect you’ll have to re-follow but everything else is the same! Hugs, K

  13. June 10, 2010 12:08 am

    wow what a unique top is that…love the slit at the back..cool outfit!!!

  14. June 10, 2010 5:54 am

    Gorgeous, darling!
    Looooove that top!

    xoxox,
    CC

  15. June 10, 2010 6:57 am

    OMG those shoes are fannnntastic!

    xx
    Jen

    http://belledecouture.blogspot.com

  16. June 10, 2010 8:46 am

    Gorgeous top, and I love the colors on your heels!

  17. June 10, 2010 9:21 am

    You always look so spectacular… love the heels and the top… sexy with an edgy twist. And I love reading your daily routine. Happy advance birthday Mel and have fun with the family. xoxo

  18. June 10, 2010 9:32 am

    Oh my gawd, Mel, I love that AWang shirt on you- so gorgeous! And I know exactly how life is on a computer about 24/7: my work iMac 8-5, and then my macbook pro after hours.
    Hope you have a wonderful time back home! Can’t wait to see pics!

  19. June 10, 2010 10:42 am

    Wow Mel; that top/dress is phenomenal! You look incredible in these photographs!

    Have a fabulous time visiting your family! 🙂

  20. June 10, 2010 3:23 pm

    Hi!!!!Thanks for your comment!!!! I like the outfit!!!!That shoes are gorgeous!!!!

    XXX

  21. June 10, 2010 3:59 pm

    those shoes are darling!

    i too can appreciate a girl who is wearing cl’s under her wedding dress.

  22. Clare permalink
    June 10, 2010 5:16 pm

    Those heels, that top, oh i am in love! Oh am all over wearing Louboutins at one’s wedding!!

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  23. June 10, 2010 7:04 pm

    those heels are hot!

    have a safe & fun trip to the East Side!

  24. June 10, 2010 8:34 pm

    Love those heels and the Alexander Wang top looks so great on you

  25. June 10, 2010 10:29 pm

    Oh yes, Alexander Wang. So perfect!

  26. June 10, 2010 11:31 pm

    that is one major top!!!! great cut!! 😀 you look so fab!

  27. June 11, 2010 12:02 am

    Hi, thanks for your comment!
    You look beautiful!

  28. June 11, 2010 1:27 pm

    i love that top!! you look gorgeous

  29. June 11, 2010 8:00 pm

    I die for these shoes! I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything quite like them…extraa points for originality!

    xoxo, Ashley

  30. June 11, 2010 8:06 pm

    love the thoughts and that top looks so gorgeous on you , i wish i can pulll off tops like that
    i have man shoulders hahha
    no i do and i know
    you know how theres certain clothes that you know it dont go with thet ype of body you have yeah its like that
    but girl, your so skinny you can pull off anything and your hair looks amazing too
    and love those heels too
    make up amazing

    x!have a fun weekend!

  31. June 11, 2010 11:59 pm

    Wow! That top! Very cool. xx

  32. June 12, 2010 11:40 am

    freaking gorgeous! love the unusual cut of the dress and the colourful shoes.

    have a great weekend!

    xx raez

  33. June 13, 2010 1:53 am

    You look so gorgeous Mel!! I love the top, it’s so flowy and romantic!! xoxooxoxxo

  34. June 13, 2010 4:56 am

    Your message helped me through a rough patch … I cannot thank you enough!

    I miss you and your wonderful blog!

    PS What a gorgeous Alexander Wang top!

  35. June 13, 2010 8:18 am

    Oh, how I love those shoes! ❤

  36. June 13, 2010 8:30 pm

    I love your top and have fun with your family and friends. : )

  37. June 14, 2010 9:37 am

    You look so very fresh & cool in that shirt! When I say cool, I mean not hot! Having shirts like that in the summer heat are such a must, especially since I live in Texas! Thanks for stopping by my blog Mel! I have heard lots about you from Becs, so it’s nice to see your blog too!

  38. June 14, 2010 10:43 am

    You are so pretty in these photos! I love your outfit, especially those fabulous heels! xoxo

  39. June 14, 2010 2:06 pm

    The top is super cute, and I love the way you wear it with shorts and colorish heels. Perfect!!
    xoxo

  40. June 15, 2010 6:26 pm

    You look fabulous babe!
    That cut looks amazing on you xxx

  41. June 15, 2010 8:25 pm

    Yes, that AW top is amazing! I’m going to Shopbop right now to see if it’s still available.

  42. June 16, 2010 1:40 am

    Wowee – you look incredible girl! That shirt is beautiful and the shoes – killer!

    Have fun back home 🙂

    Be sure to enter my fashion giveaway to win a ModCloth leather jacket
    http://www.friendinfashion.blogspot.com
    X

  43. June 16, 2010 7:58 pm

    Wow, that top looks spectacular on you! I love it with those heels too

  44. June 17, 2010 1:59 am

    I feel like that sometimes, sometimes I’d just like to read a book and eat chocolate. The Wang top looks amazing on you, casual yet glamorous. – have a great time back home. 🙂

  45. June 17, 2010 9:29 am

    you look amazing! I LOVE those shoes!!!

  46. June 18, 2010 12:34 am

    The top is beautiful and it looks great with your fluo shoes! xo

  47. June 19, 2010 2:10 pm

    lovely top! 🙂

  48. June 21, 2010 8:25 am

    Stunning photos! And THOSE SHOES!!!

  49. June 21, 2010 8:33 pm

    What an amazing top!

    Love Grace.

  50. June 22, 2010 12:31 pm

    Such a beautiful outfit, you look so super pretty, and i have such hair envy with your hair such an awesome colour/style!

  51. June 22, 2010 1:46 pm

    saw some photos from your hometown- looks like you had a wonderful time! you look so stunning here -thats such a cute outfit! i love the shirt-and those heels are hot!
    hope youre having a wonderful week darling
    xxx ediot

  52. June 24, 2010 8:34 am

    Thank you for stopping by BHB and leaving your comment. I love having new readers…and I love reading your blog. You have great style.

  53. June 26, 2010 8:28 pm

    wow, cute freaken top!!! wang is a genius.

  54. July 6, 2010 10:00 am

    love your shoes!:) and the back of the shirt is also really cool:)

    http://www.pinksisters.blogg.se

Leave a Reply

