Skip to content

I Say It Because It’s True

June 23, 2010

The best part of my trip back home to New Jersey/New York/Maryland wasn’t winning some Roulette cash in Atlantic City, meeting up with five fashion bloggers (though I heart you all), nor spotting Chris Noth (Mr. Big in Sex and The City) sitting three feet away when I had been ranting that the sequel was not worth seeing 10 minutes prior. No, it wasn’t even seeing my elementary/high school and college friends or having dinner with my ABC Daytime girls (and we have fun, long dinners). It wasn’t recapping the story of where I found my friend’s bra in college to her husband outside of the bars nor hearing another friend’s husband recount hilarity in Hong Kong at our Fells Point brunch. And even though I experienced the epitome of the care-free summer day we long to have in our adult-hoods when peddle boating in the Baltimore Inner Harbor (I was lounging in the back and didn’t have to pedal- even better!), dipping my feet in the aquarium’s pool (well, not a pool but there was water so I cooled my feet off in it), and eating Italian Ice while laughing with all the kids running through the Walter Sondheim Fountain (water jets shooting up from the ground level- would have run through them myself had it not been my 95% certainty that I would have fallen on my face), it still didn’t come out on top.

No, instead, it was seeing my beautiful 99-year-old grandmother twice- and in particular, on Father’s Day with my dad. It’s the full-circle kind of moment that makes your eyes a little brighter with hope for your own future. Hanging with the woman who brought my dad into this world who I am a creation of on a day I haven’t been home for since I moved across the country is a beautiful thing. And the best part of my trip for sure.

I could say my dad is the best for being my basketball team’s coach, hitting all of those fly balls out to my sister, Bec, and me during our weekend softball practices, smiling back at me while my mouth hurt from smiling so much during cheerleading at football games, encouraging me during all of my track and cross-country meets and providing me with that much-needed hug afterwards, driving down to Maryland with all of my college “necessities” only to drive down again the next weekend to drop off everything that didn’t fit in our cars (nor in my sorority room for that matter), racing around the supermarket at 11pm right before it closed so that we’d have a stocked fridge before my parents left Bec and me in our LA move, and chatting every day even though 50% of the time I call when he’s about to go to sleep….

Yeah, I could say it because it’s true. My dad is the best and I love him and thank him for guiding me through this little wormhole we call life.

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Fan Me on Facebook

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 7:19 am

    Sweet! Dads deserve these kind of things 🙂

  2. June 23, 2010 7:38 am

    Mel, this is SO cute! I’m glad you had a great trip back East Xx!

  3. June 23, 2010 2:13 pm

    It definitely sounds like a fun trip and you dad sounds very awesome!

  4. June 23, 2010 2:23 pm

    Chère Mel, I will never cease to be astonished by your natural ability to confess your sentiments with such a level of rhetorical Elegance ( ps: AAah I am repeating myself BUT uber constructive for the far to be bilingual French guy that I am) !!!
    Your Radiant smile / exuding fulfillment marvelously talks for you too Here Dear.

    Amicalement, Antoine

  5. June 23, 2010 2:49 pm

    Great post. Glad you had a good time back home. Your dad sounds awesome!

  6. June 24, 2010 10:30 am

    aww…thats so sweet…enjoy and have a great time!!!

  7. June 24, 2010 11:34 am

    Ah, this was bluss ro read… your description of the scene with your grandmother and father made my heart smile. Thanks for sharing with all of us. 🙂

  8. Clare permalink
    June 25, 2010 8:21 am

    Awwwww this post is so wonderful! Your Dad looks like a great man!

  9. June 25, 2010 11:23 am

    this is such a lovely post! and what cute pictures xxx

  10. June 27, 2010 4:39 am

    Very nice site!

  11. June 27, 2010 6:15 pm

    So sweet, Mel 🙂 You’ve captured every daddy’s girl’s thoughts… we love ’em because they’re so amazing to us.

    XX,
    Neekoh

  12. June 27, 2010 11:03 pm

    Gorgeous 🙂 xx

    Luv, Friend in Fashion
    http://www.friendinfashion.blogspot.com
    X

Leave a Reply

