Skip to content

LA Flea Market: Mark It Up and Mark It In

July 22, 2010

I’ve been to a number of indoor and outdoor flea markets in New Jersey as a child. I owe them for my massive New Kids on the Block pins, silver megaphone charms, and a full belly of soft pretzels. Hard figure-eight out to LA where my friend, Max, guided me and my sister, Bec, through the Rose Bowl aisles for the first time- and where we were so enthralled in our nachos that we couldn’t even shop/touch anything with our cheesy fingers. While I’m sure I set up an appetizing visual for you, that left my appetite open for many more trips to the Rose Bowl, along with outings to the Long Beach Antique Market and The Melrose Trading Post.

Thus, I had been anticipating the opening of the LA Flea Market at Dodger Stadium- so much so that we woke up early and sweated it out there this past Sunday. My high hopes for treasures turned into higher hopes for some shade and frozen lemonade of the Jumbo size variety. While I left empty-handed and deemed the Long Beach Antique Market still my favorite, I thought that I shouldn’t be too quick to raise my empty-hand in halt. It was only the first day ever, and tweaks are inevitable and necessary in any post-launch phase. Here’s to welcoming another market to town- may you live long and prosper [and not run out of water in the portable sinks].

[Over]heated daze.

My slightly open mouth was a result of dehydration. It was really a tiny “help” yelp.

Bec pointed out that my bra was showing. I responded that I was well aware- that’s why I wore a matching hot pink one that had fun polka dots to offset the serious abstract print.

The beholder of my lunch- Great Balls on Tires

the Cia Balla!

Where’s Mel-O? I wore a Kate Moss Topshop dress, MICHAEL Michael Kors sandals, and a Marc by Marc jacobs bag.

_________________________

If you’re in the Tri-State area, you should check out an event my cousin, Erica, is hosting on July 25th in New York City. This second annual event is called Emerge Fashion Exchange- the details are in the flier below and you can purchase tickets here.

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Fan Me on Facebook

21 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 2:23 pm

    i love your dress! i really wanted to go, but had plans last weekend!

  2. July 22, 2010 2:33 pm

    Good thing I took all these photos. Ahem! Love that dress and the bright colors!

  3. July 23, 2010 12:20 am

    love how bright and funky your dress is! i have not been to the nordstrom rack in the beverly connection but i bet it’s amazing! the rack always have some cute contemporary pieces for cheap!

    thanks for stopping by my blog, hope you followed!
    hautecalifornian.blogspot.com

  4. July 23, 2010 12:36 am

    I love flea markets: they’re so much fun. Your dress is gorgeous! The colours look great.

  5. July 23, 2010 2:09 pm

    I love flea markets, you can always find the most random things you never knew you needed there! And I’m *loving* your dress, such gorgeous colors!

  6. July 24, 2010 1:17 am

    ohh so cool!
    and you look fabulous.

    i heard about the flea market and would love to go.
    seems really fun.

    sorry i missed you at the twopointohla picnic!
    hope i can meet you at the next event. 🙂

  7. July 24, 2010 1:06 pm

    I missed the LA flea market–but I am def going to go next month!

    xoxo

    Lexy

    FashionNative.com

  8. July 25, 2010 11:51 am

    i am sad to read that you left empty handed, I am thinking about going to the next one.
    Hope it’s not as hot! Love your dress.
    xox
    ari

  9. July 26, 2010 1:18 am

    Hey Mel!! You look so pretty in that dress!! The flea market looks so fun and the food looks great! Fashion and good, what’s not to love! 🙂 xoxoxoxoxoo

  10. July 26, 2010 1:19 am

    Ooops, I meant to say “Fashion and Food”! It sounds like a great event that your cousin is hosting! Wish I could go! xoxooxxoo

  11. July 26, 2010 2:58 am

    really loving that dress – its gorge xxxx

  12. July 26, 2010 10:12 am

    Gorgeous dress, darling!
    You look lovely!

    xoxox,
    CC

  13. July 26, 2010 2:21 pm

    I can’t believe I missed this. 😦

    But now I feel like I should opt for the LB Antique Market.

    Love Grace.

  14. July 26, 2010 2:26 pm

    Thanks for the comment on my blog 🙂
    Visit me everyday on:
    http://unpuntoetutto.blogspot.com/

    and if you want, add you on my BlogLovin follower !
    The favore will be returned
    Kiss,
    S.

  15. July 26, 2010 2:54 pm

    Gorgeous, colorful dress, perfect for summer! And love it with the lipstick shade.

    I wasn’t into New Kids as a kid, but Paula Abdul? Debbie Gibson? Tiffany? Totally! Heck, I’m STILL into Paula Abdul, Debbie Gibson, and Tiffany!!

  16. July 26, 2010 7:21 pm

    The dress could quite possibly be my very favorite sundress of all-time! I love it!

  17. July 26, 2010 8:17 pm

    i love that dress! looks so fun and colorful

  18. July 26, 2010 11:20 pm

    super love your dress!!!

  19. July 28, 2010 9:05 am

    I love your dress !!

  20. July 29, 2010 8:37 pm

    You look fabulously fresh in that heat! Killer dress!

  21. July 31, 2010 1:59 pm

    You look gorgeous girl! Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

