Skip to content

Join Me: Guest Speaking at the Lashem Launch!

August 2, 2010

Silence + Noise bodysuit via Urban Outfitters, Bebe vest, True Religion shorts via Shopbop, Dolce Vita wedges via Free People

As I approached the entrance to the Pasadena City College Flea Market yesterday, I thought that maybe I should have blue-bagged myself in the vintage men’s Ugly, Mean & Nasty t-shirt that I had in [my sarcastic] mind- but then realized that the message would not help my bargaining cause. And my proposed bottoms- blue leopard print 5.5″ heels- would not help my speed through the market. So then came the vest and my vested interest in bodysuits. Sure, the black lace was out of place in the pan of sun dresses, but I said ehhh, it’s too late to change. Over two decades too late. This is me. The sprinkle of pepper to your sunny side up eggs.

To my Southern California readers: Join me on August 29 for a fabulous brunch at The Abbey in West Hollywood, where I’ll be a guest speaker sharing style tips alongside YouTube beauty blogger, Gregory Gorgeous, and Shannae Ingleton of What Women Want. The Lashem launch event is complimentary with RSVP- e-mail RSVP to info@lashem.com and let me know as well if you’ll be attending!

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook

43 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 4:46 am

    Amazing shoes!!

  2. August 2, 2010 4:50 am

    Aaaaw Chère Mel, I Frankly think that I will never cease to be mesmerized by the way short denim shorts can “Vavavooooom-iliciously” flatter the “BOMBNextDoor-esque” side of the One who knows how to wear them !!!
    Hope you’re Well under the Southern Californian sun Dear.

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  3. Anna Margrete permalink
    August 2, 2010 5:52 am

    loving the vest!!

    http://annamargrete.wordpress.com
    – enter my giveaway

  4. August 2, 2010 8:07 am

    Oh Antoine- you always make me smile! Hope you are well too! xo

  5. August 2, 2010 8:16 am

    wow wo wow wow, not sure what else to say that bodysuit and top piece look amazing on you! great look

    -He approves

    http://fashionbyhe.blogspot.com

  6. August 2, 2010 9:56 am

    This vest is amazing!!!
    I’m not going to the brunch ): It’s a bit far away!! You’ll be fantastic! Congrats, by the way!
    xx

    María

  7. August 2, 2010 12:16 pm

    Aw, Maria, you mean you don’t want to fly all the way out here?! Thanks!! 🙂 xo

  8. August 2, 2010 4:34 pm

    congrats! wish i was there to hear it.

  9. August 2, 2010 5:10 pm

    I think the body suit looks really cool and 90s with the denim cutoffs. I bet you totally stood out among the sundresses – but in an awesome, edgy way. I live in NYC so the conference would be kind of a commute for me but it sounds really interesting, good luck!!

    xoxo, Ashley

  10. August 2, 2010 6:15 pm

    Sometimes practical isn’t best, you look great! The vest is awesome, I would never have thought to pair it with a bodysuit.

  11. August 2, 2010 7:46 pm

    Girl… you look awesome. And sundresses are waaaay overrated.

  12. August 2, 2010 7:50 pm

    this is one of my favorite outfits of yours! i love the bodysuit .ive never seen anyone wear one like this

  13. August 3, 2010 3:05 am

    Love your outfit=)

    http://www.pinksisters.blogg.se

  14. August 3, 2010 4:28 am

    thx for ur sweet comment 🙂

    lovely top amazing shoes !
    sexy on u ! 😀
    awesome .

    check my newest post,
    xoxo,
    Rebecca
    http://rebeccaclch.blogspot.com

  15. August 3, 2010 8:10 am

    Such a fabulous and fierce outfit!! Fantastic
    *Nathalie

  16. August 3, 2010 10:38 am

    WOW! Firstly, congrats on the guest speaker gig! That is beyond awesome 🙂 I’m not sure I’ll be in town though. It’s Olie’s birthday weekend, so we’re likely going to take a little trip. I’ll let you know though. Ahh! What timing 😦

    Second, I am in love, love, loooove with your look! The bodysuit, the sexiness, the shoes! So you and so appropriate for everything from the flea market to brunch!

    XXo,
    Neekoh

  17. August 3, 2010 12:44 pm

    goodness gracious! that harness vest is blowing my mind. looks amazing on you. love that first pic.

    xo

  18. August 3, 2010 2:21 pm

    you look fab! see you on the 29th!

  19. August 4, 2010 2:53 am

    love this look and the shoes are fab xxxx

  20. August 4, 2010 5:49 am

    OMG darling!
    This look is amazing!
    I think that vest/harness is the coolest item of clothing I’ve seen in months, and that’s saying a lot!
    Your taste is exquisite!!

    xoxox,
    CC

  21. August 4, 2010 12:06 pm

    Hey Mel!! Wow!! That bodysuit is smoking hot on you!! I love the denim shorts too! Fabulous outfit! Wish I could come to the event and see you speak! Hopefully you’ll put a video for us? 🙂 xoxoxoxoxo

  22. August 4, 2010 12:18 pm

    LOVE this look on you! Gah! Good luck at the Lashem Launch – how thrilling that you’ll be speaking there!! 🙂

  23. Clare permalink
    August 4, 2010 5:21 pm

    Oh Wow, you look so pretty! I am loving lace this season so much. It is so sultry and pretty. Also CONGRATS on your speaking gig!

    I have no doubt you will do amazing!
    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  24. August 4, 2010 7:06 pm

    great outfit, specially the shoes 🙂

  25. August 4, 2010 8:17 pm

    gorgeous photos! i’d love to go to your event on the 29th! sounds fab!

  26. August 4, 2010 10:08 pm

    That bodysuit is absolutely gorgeous!

  27. August 5, 2010 1:17 am

    Love the vest!

  28. August 5, 2010 10:35 pm

    WOW! You are wearing so many unique pieces in this look! Love the layering in the top part and the wedges. Cool!

    xoxo
    B* a la Moda

  29. August 6, 2010 4:31 am

    Love this look, you pull off the lace vest very well 🙂

    Thanks for checking out my blog

    Robbie xox

    http://www.theothersideofthepondmydear.blogspot.com

  30. August 6, 2010 11:12 am

    I am going crazy over that vest right now!

  31. August 6, 2010 1:25 pm

    that vest is so cute!!
    xx

  32. August 7, 2010 8:03 am

    gorgeous photos. and man you look stunning!! wish i could join you at the launch..
    just another event im missing out on living here ;(
    wishing you a fantastic time there
    and a wonderful weekend

    xxx

  33. August 7, 2010 11:37 am

    The shoes! The everything!

    Love Grace.

  34. August 7, 2010 2:24 pm

    This sounds like fun… i never turn down a mimosa! Hope i can make it!

  35. August 8, 2010 9:37 am

    Hey Tiara- Hope you can make it too! I was going to send a note to a few LA Two Point Oh! bloggers too 🙂

  36. August 8, 2010 11:05 am

    gorgeous, my dear! i love how you’ve really mixed up the textures, so rad!

    xx raez

  37. August 8, 2010 4:28 pm

    whoa guest speaker? baller.

  38. August 8, 2010 6:28 pm

    Wow, the harness!! Love!
    Good luck at the evend 🙂 x

  39. August 9, 2010 1:02 am

    Hey, you’re a Melanie, too! 🙂

    Thank you for stopping by my blog! I always love feedback!

    I really love your style! This is a really nicely styled outfit. I love the details on the vest 🙂 And you’re absolutely gorgeous!

    Quick question– do you ever feel weird about mixing different colored hardware? I was thinking about it today, and so I took notice that your shoes have gold on ’em, and you vest is silver. I pretty much can’t step out of the house without disliking the outfit, but I want to get out of that since it limits my options. I only have one purse with silver hardware, and it’s green. And I don’t always wanna wear green =P

    Anyway, great post! I’ll be following you 🙂

  40. August 9, 2010 7:27 am

    Hey Melanie- Great question! First, I know you can’t really tell because of the lighting but the rectangle and tear drop beads, along with the zipper are faded gold/bronze. That made it much easier for me to wear these gold buckle wedges. Since the vest had a mix of silver/gold/bronze already, I grabbed these without hesitation. But in the past, I have been super picky about mixing metals. I never liked doing it. Now if I ever wanted to mix metals- like wearing gold earrings with a platinum or silver bracelet, I make sure that my rings are already mixed- wearing a gold ring with a platinum/platinum-plated ring. The rings act as my base and green light for mixing medals elsewhere.

    As for bags, I have definitely contemplated that myself, but I have let that go- probably because I mix more so it never comes to the surface of my mind. I think though that if you are wearing silver jewelry and you want to wear a bag with gold hardware, then you should do what I suggested above and throw a gold ring in there to mix with the silver. Maybe it’s a simple gold band or a family heirloom that surpasses the mixed metal rule because of it’s sentiments- whatever small piece of gold you choose to wear should solve this. A ring isn’t as big a commitment and it’s easier to mix metals on your fingers than anywhere else. Plus, a hand mixed with different metals is a lot more interesting to look at than one only filled with gold or one only filled with silver.

    And yeahhh for Melanie’s! 🙂

  41. August 12, 2010 1:40 am

    i love your outfit!

  42. August 12, 2010 9:39 am

    Looooove this outfit!! Love the lace bodysuit paired with the vest. Gorgeous 🙂 & I’m totally gonna RSVP to this event you’re speaking at! Yay! xoxoxo

  43. August 18, 2010 12:16 am

    Whew you’re so fit! Love the studded vest. Very hot.

Leave a Reply

