Skip to content

Conceptually in LA Fashion Week

August 12, 2010

I was a Broadcast Journalism major in college so I have the timeliness factor ingrained in my not-doing-anything-now-with-Broadcast-Journalism head. You see, I had gone to Concept LA Fashion Week in March and had this post ready, but with the rest of the circulatory Fashion Week coverage, I held this back. Why, you may ask? The collections I saw are still relevant, and even more so now that we are headed into Fall 2010- the season that my favorite looks below are marching right into. A timely look back- or shall I say, forward….

Chelsea Rebelle had my favorite look of the night- represented in the first photo, I love the dynamic between the demure Peter Pan collar and bow with the sexy sheerness, hot pants, and knee-highs. Set with hard-core leather cut-out gloves and topped with playful teased hair, and you’ve got an intriguing look.

I gravitated toward the nautical inspiration I got from B. Scott’s middle look. With the popped collar, layered t-shirts, and unexpected pops of colors on his chest, this guy makes you want to take a journey with him. As does the James Dean look-alike in the bottom right photo.

The Fremont black dress in the first photo was my favorite styled look. The bottom circular detail keeps me guessing as to why it’s there- but because of that fact- it makes the dress’s perspective that more unique. The head-to-toe covering from the chunky knit hat to the pointy-toed boots make for a toughness that I will be stomping through this season in.

*(All runway photos are by Volker Corell)

Patty Ann of Alpha Beta Chic and me

I would be perfectly content if I had one pair of shoes and these were it. Away from the urban vibes on the ground floor, Farm Tactics created an installation that was natural and naturally solid in authenticity and heart.

My sister, Bec, of Style with Benefits, with the kind of knapsack you’d want to lose yourself in the woods with.

This is what you can create with vintage military fabric.

Best Dressed of the Night- Farm Tactics designer, Kevin Ng.

Elmer Ave. took clothing displays to the next level. Is this stating that the pieces are creatively outside of the bubble? I’m not certain, but he certainly made me stare at the clothes moving with him.

I would love to wear this blazer as a dress.

Hanging outside between shows with Katie and Patty Ann. I’m wearing a Mara Hoffman top via Shopbop.

To my Southern California readers: Join me on August 29 for a fabulous brunch at The Abbey in West Hollywood, where I’ll be a guest speaker sharing style tips alongside YouTube beauty blogger, Gregory Gorgeous, and Shannae Ingleton of What Women Want. The Lashem launch event is complimentary with RSVP- e-mail RSVP to info@lashem.com and let me know as well if you’ll be attending!

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 8:29 am

    I’m excited for fall fashions! I think that this is the perfect time to start looking at the fw10 collections for inspiration. Looks like you saw some really creative presentations!

    Xoxo, Ashley

  2. August 12, 2010 10:51 am

    omg! i went to Stanford w/Patty Ann! I’ll have to follow her blog!

  3. August 12, 2010 11:00 am

    Wow, Lauren- that is so random- but glad you found her through me! 🙂

  4. Tiffany permalink
    August 12, 2010 1:33 pm

    <3!

    XOXO,

    http://outfitidentifier.com/

  5. August 12, 2010 7:29 pm

    Ohhhhhhh, I wish I could go to that brunch!

  6. August 13, 2010 2:37 pm

    Soooooo fun and fabulous, darling!
    You all look gorgeous!

    xoxox,
    CC

  7. Heather Yarnell permalink
    August 13, 2010 3:17 pm

    Looks like a crazy fun time! You look fab, as always. 🙂

  8. August 14, 2010 4:30 pm

    Great post mel! you looked lovely! im going to consider a master in broadcast journalism! would you recommend?!

    Adele
    moltocuriosa.com

  9. August 15, 2010 4:23 am

    Very good article and picture, well written and very thought out. I am looking forward to reading more of your posts in the future.

  10. Mary permalink
    August 15, 2010 8:13 pm

    Wish I can be at the Abbey on 8/29/10 to listen to your presentation. Great photos, Melanie. Love, Mary

  11. August 15, 2010 10:42 pm

    Hey Mel- wish I were in town for that brunch at The Abbey! Looks like a great lineup! Good luck! xx

Leave a Reply

