Skip to content

LOE (Level of Effort)

August 19, 2010

Bebe dress, Report Signature shoes via Shopbop, Victoria Wieck ring via HSN

These photos are from last month- shot right before going to work. T-shirts, sweatshirts, jeans, flip-flops, and a makeup-less face have become my work uniform because I’ve been so busy. I don’t mean to let myself go, but to me, the work is more important than the person’s looks doing it (I say this in my case since I’m behind-the-scenes producing work, but in other industries, the degree of importance is likely shifted).

I must have had an important meeting this day since I dressed up, but I hope to return to this- my 2009-heel-loving self soon.

What do you all wear to work? And when you are working long hours, does that directly affect your appearance at work?

To my Southern California readers: Join me on August 29 for a fabulous brunch at The Abbey in West Hollywood, where I’ll be a guest speaker sharing style tips alongside YouTube beauty blogger, Gregory Gorgeous, and Shannae Ingleton of What Women Want. The Lashem launch event is complimentary with RSVP- e-mail RSVP to info@lashem.com and let me know as well if you’ll be attending!

To all my readers: Lashem is offering their Measurable Difference Lash Gel at only $49.99 for the next 10 days leading up to the event! This eyelash enhancer normally retails for $89! Click here to purchase and select “WreckedStellar” in the drop-down menu!

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook

14 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 7:48 am

    Dear Mel, I simply have to say that you obviously don’t need to make a lot of efforts to shine !!!! “Natural Radiant-ness with a so sexy / bloody twist of GLAM on your lips” . . .

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  2. August 19, 2010 8:00 am

    I would certainly turn a few heads if I come to work dressed like that! You look great by the way.

    I dress very casual to work. No realdress code and I don’t meet with clients or anything.

  3. Anna Margrete permalink
    August 19, 2010 10:51 am

    you look fantastic. love your dress.

    http://www.annamargrete.wordpress.com

  4. August 19, 2010 11:57 am

    you look GORGEOUS!!! i especially love the red lips! i’m tryna find a perfect red as we speak!

  5. August 19, 2010 12:00 pm

    Hey Lauren- I’m wearing Nars Heat Wave here – it’s a matte orange-red that I love! xo

  6. August 20, 2010 12:25 am

    Love this floral print. Goes so well with the red lipstick!

  7. August 20, 2010 2:18 am

    Ooo, this is such a pretty look! The dress is gorgeous.
    I’m the same at work: I’d rather do the work well than look good.

  8. August 20, 2010 6:44 pm

    You look HAWT.

    I’ve fallen into the same rut at work, too. I want to put in more effort, but I wake up so late. LOL.

  9. August 22, 2010 9:42 am

    It’s def harder to pay attention to what you wear when life gets really hectic. I do try and make the effort most of the time though, simply because I usually feel better when I like how I look. Sometimes it’s nice to be able to control what you can – you know?

    You look slammin’ in this dress!

    xoxo, Ashley

  10. August 22, 2010 12:26 pm

    You look beautiful! The dress suits you perfectly.

  11. August 22, 2010 10:13 pm

    well said .. i have no choice but to put in the effort to look good .otherwise id probably get pulled aside by my boss.
    but i do wear a “natural look” to work . going out of the house without makeup

  12. August 23, 2010 7:56 am

    Jag älskar dina skor!

    I love your shoes! 🙂

  13. August 23, 2010 9:45 am

    These pictures of you are gorgeous, Mel! The dress does you justice, everything from the colors to its body-con form. LOVE IT! And loved seeing you last week. We need to make that a monthly thing, don’t you think?

    XXo,
    Neekoh

  14. August 25, 2010 2:16 pm

    congrats to you for getting on this. too bad i don’t live in Cali.

    http://www.ohtobeamuse.com

Leave a Reply

