Skip to content

Warm Potato Beats.

August 23, 2010

Topshop dress and boots, Beso handbag

Feeling musically-inspired after Saturday as I sweated it out at Sunset Junction seeing a number of bands play and watching life-loving guys dance to techno music. Later, I saw my friend, Andrew, rock it out on the drums at the Good Hurt with his band, Roulette Dares. These are the looks that took me from day to night, as I wondered what could have been if I hadn’t quit playing guitar as a child. And what has become of my long pony-tailed guitar teacher, Don? Well, I didn’t think about him this weekend since he scared me even when teaching me Free Fallin’, but I just thought of him at this moment and realized… he’s not so scary now.

Madewell t-shirt via Shopbop, American Apparel shorts, Topshop boots, Beso handbag

With my sister, Bec, and Andrew

Saturday may have left me with beats in my head, but Sunday left me with the heart to those beats. A 2-and-a-half-week-old heart beat, that is. Unbeknownst to her, my cousin’s two-and-a-half-week-old daughter mesmerized me as she breathed in and out, with the curve of her belly going up and down, up and down, up some more, and down some more. It’s funny how a beat is exactly like life- up one second, down the next. Never the same. Or the same, but heard differently. Lived differently. This untouched warm potato of life is perfect. Babies are like that- they’re a warm potato that you pass around, but that you want to keep in your hands for awhile. And you can’t wait to see her crisp up into something- into the someone she’s meant to be.

I was thinking about how I’d like to be that little potato again. Untainted, unscarred, unafraid- un-everything. And that’s when I realized that even when I was scared of my guitar teacher, Don- I wasn’t really scared. Or I shouldn’t have called that feeling that. When it comes down to those times that you think you’re scared, you’re probably not. Life isn’t all that scary if you think about it. Rather, it’s the un-life that is.

Sunday, it is! xo

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook

34 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 7:02 am

    Both of your outfits are really lovely! Those boots are awesome. I would really love a pair like that.

  2. August 23, 2010 9:11 am

    Gorgeous looks, Mel!
    Love that dress!

    xoxox,
    CC

  3. August 23, 2010 10:35 am

    I love that second outfit!! The t-shirt is amazing. And your hair looks fantastic.

  4. August 23, 2010 11:33 am

    Dear Mel, about the first outfit I must say that the back cleavage combined with the unveiled bra (so subtly seductive) effect tend to make all The “Trendy difference” !!!
    ps: Your thoughtful / sensitive words Frankly are a true Pleasure to read, as Always.

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  5. August 23, 2010 11:52 am

    hot dress!!!
    xx

  6. August 23, 2010 11:53 am

    lovely outfit… like your boots!!!

    Vicky
    (new post: Red Heels & follow me)

  7. August 23, 2010 2:31 pm

    Always loved that Topshop dress! Your hair looks amazing… just like how it used to look when you had a bodywave. Pretty melly! xx

  8. August 23, 2010 4:26 pm

    You look great! Yours and your sisters blog always inspires me!

    Adèle – http://moltocuriosa.com

  9. August 23, 2010 9:56 pm

    My greatest joy in life has been watching my lil’ pototo spud grow! LOVE your hair wavy!

  10. August 24, 2010 7:28 am

    aww thanks! i know you’re gonna love HK! the shopping is awesome. check out the mini malls in causeway bay. try and get to the china club- its members only but ask around and you might find someone. and if you havent found a place to stay yet we stay at the central park hotel on hollywood rd its cheap and nice and central location. have fun and let us know about your travels!

  11. August 24, 2010 7:43 am

    Hey Rachel- Thanks so much for the tips! Now it’ll be my goal to find someone in the China Club 🙂 xo

  12. August 24, 2010 9:06 am

    Ooh Mel- you look GORGEOUS. I love the curls in your hair and that orange bag is pretty 🙂

  13. August 24, 2010 10:22 am

    I love these boots, they look great with the floral dress, your hair is looking lovely too – I dream of having waves like yours! x

  14. August 24, 2010 3:15 pm

    gorgeous! i love how you can go from sexy/flirty to hot grunge:)

    xx raez

  15. August 24, 2010 6:54 pm

    While I don’t love the boots with the floral dress, the dress itself is adorable! And I love the rocker outfit.

  16. August 24, 2010 6:59 pm

    love how you made the fem dress super edgy with the shoes

    xx

  17. August 25, 2010 7:54 am

    I love how you combined the feminine floral dress with the boots, love it!

  18. August 25, 2010 8:41 am

    What a cool make-up! 🙂

    I’m a Swedish bloger and I would love if you cheek out my blog:)

    http://www.pinksisters.blogg.se

  19. August 25, 2010 8:55 am

    Those are such a great looks!!!
    Kisses,sweetie

    ps: I am hosting a great GIVEAWAY, so please join in:)

  20. August 25, 2010 9:37 am

    Hey K- I don’t normally wear black boots with floral dresses, but I needed comfortable shoes since I knew I’d be walking around a lot. I added the black bra to play off of the black boots, and I’m liking the pairing now 🙂

  21. August 25, 2010 1:05 pm

    that dress and those boots are so good together , thats exaclty how would i wear it. awesome that you saw lots of bands
    isn’t the good hurt really dark inside? hahhah
    my husband played there a couple of times with this band he was in and man, even the bathroom is freaken dark
    isnt that weird hahhaha.
    i bet you had good times though ha.
    btw you always look gorgeous, love the makeup too!

  22. August 25, 2010 1:47 pm

    the dress looks incredible on you and i adore the second outfit. that is my sort of combination. it looks very cool but totally comfy. love the pocket on the t-shirt and the grey shorts. super cute. xx

  23. August 25, 2010 2:12 pm

    oh that first dress is cute, but the crop top is my fave. you look great–and i love the black eyeshadow.

    i can truly follow you on bloglovin now!

    http://ohtobeamuse.com

  24. August 26, 2010 9:34 am

    I’m kind of in love with that Beso handbag – the color is perfection! You always look glamorous! Andt he pink lips…so pretty!

    Ah, I had no clue you were from back East, as well. YES! I used to go to Point Pleasant and Seaside Heights all the time!! I actually miss those areas – they were so colorful and perfect ways to spend the day!! 🙂

  25. August 26, 2010 3:42 pm

    ah. why do you always have to look so freakin’ fantastic? youve got such a cute face!!
    i LOVE that second outfit.
    im envious of you laying in the sun. i would too.totally- but i think sadly summer has passed for now here. and im sooo sad. i hate the cold, the wind, the rain and being pale..
    hope youre enjoying your week- with sunscreen 😉
    xx

  26. Catherine permalink
    August 26, 2010 9:20 pm

    You make t-shirts and shorts look so glamorous! Love the Madewell shirt.

  27. Heather Yarnell permalink
    August 27, 2010 11:20 pm

    Love that Madewell tee.

  28. August 29, 2010 2:14 pm

    love both of your outfits.
    especially love the first one, the girly ness and flirty ness of the dress contrast so good with the boyish boots!
    xo
    ari

  29. August 29, 2010 3:33 pm

    i love that topshop dress! the print’s so lovely (:

  30. August 29, 2010 11:27 pm

    those boots are perfect! they obviously go well with an array of looks.

  31. August 31, 2010 8:56 am

    thank you for visiting my blog, I really appreciate it!

    Love the outfits, they are great! And you have some beautiful hair!

    http://style-in-sight.blogspot.com

  32. September 2, 2010 10:55 am

    I love the day and night versatility of your boots!!

    simplystylist.eventbrite.com

Trackbacks

  1. World Wide News Flash
  2. My Speaking Engagement at the Lashem Launch Event « Wrecked Stellar

Leave a Reply

