Skip to content

My Speaking Engagement at the Lashem Launch Event

September 3, 2010

This past Sunday, I spoke at the Lashem launch event at The Abbey in West Hollywood, California. Lashem is the latest lash growing product and is the most effective one that I have personally tried- hence, why I had one shipped to my mom in New Jersey and bought another one for myself. After just one day of use, I saw a difference in my lash length and fullness in my eyebrows- as I’m in the process of growing my brows out like Ashley Olsen’s. I had a fabulous time hanging out with my friends who came to support me, Wrecked Stellar readers who I heart, and new friends who came up to me after my presentation. Here are some photos that my sister, Bec, shot at the event.

Showing my ex boyfriend’s Hawaiian print shirt off. I wore it on Monday and received many compliments! See the style tip below.

There were three gentlemen in the front and they were a blessing- they were nodding and “Ohhh yeahhh-ing” at everything I said and infused an infectious positive vibe.

Thanks to Yvonne of Hey Do You for giving me the opportunity to speak! I wore a vintage sequin top via Spanish Moss Vintage (see how I previously wore it here), Topshop skirt, Bebe heels, and Michael Kors watch via Nordstrom.

With the other guest speakers- Shannae of What Women Want and Gregory Gorgeous

Wrecked Stellar reader and friend, Laney

New friend, Patty

The below photos were shot by my friend, Arali of PhotosbyAM

My back- I love that the designer included flags on the back of my top.


My sister, Bec of Style with Benefits

On stage, explaining style tip #3- as described below.

Talking about Lashem and the trend I’d like to see go away- harem pants!

Here are more photos shot by Felix of LookBookLA

With Bec and my friend, Max

Good times….

Here are my 5 style tips that I shared at the event:

1. WATCHA DOIN’? Wear an oversized watch one day and the next, wear three to five skinny vintage watches in silver and gold all on one wrist. Both looks make statements and instantly dress up your wrist.

2. IT’S OPPOSITE DAY. Wear your lingerie out. I look for babydolls and bralettes that can be worn under blazers. Lace babydolls can also be layered under cropped sweaters and sweatshirts, and bralettes can be layered over tanks or under smart vests for a sexy take on business wear.

3. MAN UP. Shop in a male’s closet. You can find ties to wear as headbands- (just be sure to position the knot at the top of your head for a playful vibe)- as well as random print button down shirts to wear as dresses. For instance, I found a Hawaiian print shirt in my ex boyfriend’s closet that I can wear alone as a dress with a brown straw fedora and I can also wear it unbuttoned over a pink Hawaiian print dress that I already have in my closet since the prints are complimentary (this is the look I wore on Monday- I will post both looks here in the near future).

4. PANTS THAT ARE HOT. Wear sequin hotpants with oversized sweaters and flannel plaid shirts. Wearing them with a casual top balances out your overexposed legs and puts a flirty take on what could be an otherwise dowdy shirt.

5. IT’S OK IF YOU MISS A BUTTON. Being off by one button makes it easier to wear your shirt off one shoulder and leaves a more interesting view in the front with the way the fabric will drape.

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 9:54 am

    Mel!! I’m so bummed I missed this. It looks like a great time and I’m sure you did an amazing job. I’m also way in love with that top of yours and I can’t wait to see the Hawaiian shirt inspiration/tips. I’m looking forward to raiding Olie’s closet on a weekly basis starting this weekend (but shh, don’t tell him!!).

    Can’t wait to see you next week at FNO!

    XXo,
    Neekoh

  2. September 3, 2010 11:31 am

    Dear Mel, I MUST say that the way this “One bare shoulder effect” flirts with your “twisted by your bloody lipstick” Radiantness creates such an uber seductive cocktail !!! AND I (notably) vote FOR this (so exquisitely sensuous) “lingerie out” idea, so “Alcôve aesthetics subtly enchanting day to day Reality” . . .

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  3. September 3, 2010 4:25 pm

    You looked really great girl! jealous of all these cool events!

    Adèle
    http://moltocuriosa.com

  4. September 4, 2010 5:55 am

    Congrats, darling!
    You look amazing, and I love your style tips!

    xoxox,
    CC

  5. September 4, 2010 10:10 am

    oh i like the tip about missing a button. i never would have thought about that. you look so pretty at the event. congrats on being chosen to do that. i’ll have to look into that product. i used l’oreal lash boosting serum for my lashes and it worked pretty well.

    http://www.ohtobeamuse.com

  6. ANTONIA permalink
    September 5, 2010 3:26 am

    u look great!
    cool blog!

    http://blogwbutach.blogspot.com/

  7. September 5, 2010 11:59 am

    Wow, you look great. I really need to invest in one of those lash enhancing things….

  8. September 5, 2010 8:10 pm

    you look gorgeous! that dress is amazing on you ❤ x

  9. September 5, 2010 9:47 pm

    you’re very beautiful 🙂

  10. September 6, 2010 6:04 am

    Love your outfit here and great tips!

  11. September 6, 2010 6:09 am

    You look gorgeous hun! I’m yet to really try out the whole androgynous thing (not sure how comfortable I’d be), but you pull it off flawlessly, and I like the idea as an oversized mens shirt as a dress! Thanks for the inspiration!

    xo Antonia

  12. September 6, 2010 7:21 am

    Congrats on the successful talk. You look great in your oversized top. Thanks for the tips!

  13. September 6, 2010 7:25 am

    Hi there-sounds like a really fun, stylish event and that top is just gorgeous, you look lovely!! have a good week ahead!

  14. September 6, 2010 9:09 am

    Congratulations, I know you did an awesome job. An dyou look stunning!
    Sending you a smile,
    tp

  15. September 6, 2010 9:33 am

    gorgeous pictures! looks like you had tons of fun!

  16. September 6, 2010 2:03 pm

    I love your top! and you look so gorgeous. oh and congrats!

  17. September 6, 2010 2:29 pm

    All look great! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    juliet xxx

  18. September 6, 2010 11:57 pm

    So sorry I couldn’t be there, lovie!! I’m glad it went well. =D

  19. fashioncappuccino permalink
    September 7, 2010 1:31 am

    You look so gorgeous Mel!! I adore your shirt and your style tips! Looks like an awesome event! xoxoxoxoo

  20. September 7, 2010 2:25 am

    Fantastic outfit! I love your shirt so much. :)SarahD

  21. September 8, 2010 11:34 am

    Woot. So proud of you for doing an amazing job. The watch idea is defintely a favorite tip of mine!

Leave a Reply

