Skip to content

In the All Time

September 7, 2010

Hana Bay shirt via my ex boyfriend’s closet, American Apparel shorts, Alexander Wang Abbey sandals via Barney’s NY, Tuleste Market necklace and belt via Shopbop, Michael Kors watch

I may just need to keep this shirt. It’s that worn-in softness that you can live in and not feel worn out in. It’s the shirt you lie next to your love in, it’s the shirt that you lean close in, it’s the shirt that’s with you in your meantime. I’m in my meantime. What does that even mean? Life isn’t a meantime- it’s an all time. I just realized I don’t like that word anymore.

Relationships are born and they die and yeah, so that’s life. But some people say that the frame between these relationships is your meantime. That those who enter and leave- they’re your meantimes until you find the one. But for me? They are the ones who loved me all of the time. And that doesn’t sound like a meantime to me.

I’m just happy that the one who let me borrow this shirt is still my friend- the worn-in softness kind. Life’s short. Keep the ones you love/loved around.

_________________________

What else is happening in my all time besides vowing to use “simultaneously” instead of “in the meantime” because it sounds more action-focused? This week I’m looking forward to seeing two New York City bloggers and friends, James of The Mod Revival and Gabe of Pleats Are For Lovers and Gabe Alonso. On Friday, I’ll be out around Los Angeles for the highly-anticipated Fashion Night Out where I’ll be stopping by The Grove to hang out with my fellow Two Point Oh! LA members at the Bloggers’ Cafè. Here’s to a a short work week with fabulous fashion and fashionably fabulous friends!

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook

41 Comments leave one →
  1. September 7, 2010 8:26 am

    Chère Mel, your shaped legs obviously are made to flirt with this kind of short denim shorts, AND this “One bare shoulder effect” dedicated to match them on such a sexy / laid back way !!!
    ps: Your words are delightfully full of sensitivity, and it Always sounds like a rhetorical Pleasure Dear.

    à Bientôt, Antoine

  2. September 7, 2010 8:33 am

    Cute outfit!!!

    http://hottheels.blogspot.com/

  3. September 7, 2010 9:56 am

    I remember when I broke up with my boyfriend, I kept one of his sweaters. It looked way better on me though ( I think…)

  4. September 7, 2010 10:13 am

    I’ll be going around NY for fashion’s night out over here too 🙂

    Gorgeous outfit!

  5. September 7, 2010 10:55 am

    You look fabulous! Shoes are stunning on you!

    Adele – http://moltocuriosa.com

  6. Clare permalink
    September 7, 2010 5:11 pm

    HELLO gorgeous! this look is so you and those shoes made me drool a little.
    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  7. September 7, 2010 6:38 pm

    I think this shirts works really well as an oversized tunic. And I think its amazing that you’ve been able to stay friends with an ex-bf. I’ve only semi-managed to stay friends with one of mine. but I certainly agree with the sentiment – love is too scarce and it should be fostered in as many ways as possible.

    xoxo, Ashley

  8. September 7, 2010 11:42 pm

    Wow! I never thought a Hawaiian shirt could look so stylish!
    also loving your A Wang shoes, they are amazing!
    xo
    ari

  9. September 8, 2010 1:24 am

    You look gorgeous!

  10. September 8, 2010 3:06 am

    Great pics!!!

    http://www.thebigiofactor.blogspot.com

  11. September 8, 2010 5:51 am

    Hi, gorgeous!
    Love this look, especially the shoes!

    xoxox,
    CC

  12. September 8, 2010 7:48 am

    Hey, thanks for stopping by at my blog!
    You look stunningly glamorous!!!!! Great tunic and shoes!!!

  13. September 8, 2010 8:46 am

    Cool shoes! How nice it is to see it is still sunny and warm in there… time for boots in here!
    xoxo

  14. September 8, 2010 11:31 am

    loving that necklace soo soo much!!

    http://donotshoeme.blogspot.com/

    follow if u like what u see?

    xoxo

  15. September 8, 2010 11:35 am

    OK, I was skeptical about whether you could pull off this look but you found a way to make it work. Love those shoes. You look gorg.

  16. September 8, 2010 12:47 pm

    Great look! I love your shoes!

    juliet xxx

  17. September 8, 2010 9:30 pm

    What a dynamite look. I’m totally drooling over your necklace!

  18. September 8, 2010 10:19 pm

    I love how you styled your shirt! So casual and sexy! And your sandals are marvelous.

  19. September 9, 2010 11:06 am

    to die for shoes.

  20. September 9, 2010 1:47 pm

    This is the shirt you were talking about!! I love it! I imagined it to be a little more… Hawaiian. But I’m glad it’s not 🙂 And I really loved your idea about buttoning the buttons off-center like you have here.

    Sometimes, those meanwhiles are better than the relationships that don’t work out 😉

    As for tomorrow, I think I’m gonna stop by the 3.1/Refinery 29 party and maybe Melrose (where the McQueen and Jacobs stores are, because they’re my faves!) I’ll probably be getting there pretty late because I have a company dinner at 6pm, but let’s keep in touch. I really wanna see you and Becs!

    XXo,
    Neekoh

  21. September 9, 2010 6:11 pm

    i LOVE that shirt! beautiful!

    stayfabulous,
    zarna
    http://zarnasrunway.blogspot.com

  22. September 9, 2010 6:11 pm

    i LOVE that top! beautiful!

    stayfabulous,
    zarna
    http://zarnasrunway.blogspot.com

  23. September 10, 2010 8:54 am

    Love the outfit! You look awesome! So creative you are!

    xx
    Jessie
    http://87life.blogspot.com

  24. September 10, 2010 10:35 am

    I absolutely love your shoes!

  25. September 10, 2010 11:42 am

    legs legs
    sexy ,this outfit is so chic and so you
    just gorgeous
    also keep me updated on any fashion events and stuff like that
    i know the one about today but i just saw it right now so its such a short time
    i have to go to one event this year at least hahhaha
    and meet you all you pretty ladies

    have fun!

  26. September 10, 2010 1:02 pm

    what a lovely post. i so much enjoyed reading your thoughts. i agree with you, its so important with affirmation. to let the ones you love -know it,wheither it be by telling or showing.
    wish you a wonderful weekend
    xxx

  27. September 10, 2010 3:09 pm

    loves it! i’m going to FNO at Bev Center & maybe Rodeo! hopefully I’ll see you too? Are you just going to hang out at The Grove or go other places too?

  28. September 10, 2010 3:21 pm

    Hey Steph! Bec and I will be going to the Bev Center after The Grove so hopefully we’ll be able to meet up! xo

  29. September 10, 2010 4:37 pm

    amazing pics
    i love your look

  30. September 11, 2010 3:37 am

    Great outfit! Loving those shoes. :)SarahD

  31. September 11, 2010 8:30 am

    you’ve got the nicest legs. i’m super jealous here.

    ANDWHATELSEISTHERE

    SHOP

  32. September 12, 2010 7:28 pm

    Love this look- the top is fab.

  33. September 12, 2010 9:39 pm

    LOVE this look, especially the shoes! And I’m so jealous of how sunny and warm it looks in these pics.

    x Niki
    A Haute Mess
    ps. There’s a giveaway currently going on at A Haute Mess! You can win an amazing cuff bracelet valued at over $100. Not sure if you’ve entered already but I thought you might be interested 🙂
    Giveaway posted here xoxo

  34. September 13, 2010 4:42 am

    You look fabulous hun! Soo love your outfit 🙂 Hope you are having a good day xxx

  35. September 13, 2010 7:37 am

    oh that is cool, I like the way you wore your bf’s shirt, very creative and it looks really nice on you!

  36. September 13, 2010 7:53 am

    loving this look x

  37. September 13, 2010 10:34 pm

    hot shots!!! 🙂

  38. September 13, 2010 11:14 pm

    Thank you to everyone for the very kind words! xoxo

Trackbacks

  1. Fashion’s Night Out at Grove with Fashion Los Angeles’ and Two Point Oh LA’s Bloggers’ Cafè « fashion groupie
  2. Fashion Night Out at The Grove tonight | A Sunny Day in L.A.
  3. The Man in the Moon « Wrecked Stellar

Leave a Reply

