Skip to content

Went Across the World and Found Myself

October 25, 2010

Ex boyfriend’s J. Crew shirt, Alexander Wang romper via Shopbop, Zara belt, Report Signature shoes via Revolve Clothing, Ex boyfriend’s tie worn as a headband, Jacqueline Kennedy Collection cross necklace via QVC, QVC panther link bracelet, Alexander Wang Brady football clutch via Shopbop

It’s 4am and my irregular sleeping pattern continues as a result of my travels to New Jersey to Hong Kong to New Jersey and back to California. But I’m not complaining- I got to spend time with my amazing family and I come back home filled with stimulation in the near future.

I saw a city like Hong Kong- a place where people’s energy is bubbling over no matter if you are the suited up business man, the market place vendor, or the hunched over senior who finished crossing the street at the same time as me- pushing her cart no less. There are the highest of high-end shops that surround these inhabitants- most seemed remotely static compared to the number of zippy passersby. It seemed like we were all just passing on by- hustling on to something more attainable that day.

And every time I go back to my small New Jersey hometown- the one with the one lane roads that lead right to generations of families who never leave- I get a little more riled up inside. I remember why I left and I remember the wants that I have yet to go out and get. I had a beautiful childhood with the most gorgeous parks that had paths that led me outside with streets that had crossing guards to cross me to the other side of the country. But now that I’m here, and now that I’ve been here, I need to go out and get what I came for. The future is in the tomorrow- it comes so soon- as there’s a reason why people say “Time flies”. Well, here in the now, I’m dismissing that antiquated phrase. I’d rather make the future my own and say “I fly” before I’m the hunched over senior who may or may not be able to see my dreams come to fruition later on. And with the fruits of my labor, I’d like to be the passerby who walks into one of those shops and attains the best of the best for my family one day.

_________________________

These photos were taken before my vacation epiphanies. I adore wearing men’s clothes- they’re a fun catalyst for ingenuity. I’m not huge on clutches because I talk entirely too much with my hands to hold them, but I couldn’t resist the Alexander Wang Brady football clutch. It’s a unique piece and is a nod to my tomboy side- I was a major New York Giants fan growing up. Also, I’ll be posting more photos from Hong Kong soon and I can’t wait to catch up on everyone’s blogs this week!

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook

32 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2010 7:41 am

    Nice outfit! 🙂

  2. October 25, 2010 8:29 am

    Love all the stripes, darling, especially the head scarf!
    You look fabulous!

    xoxox,
    CC

  3. October 25, 2010 10:11 am

    Hey! girl! so glad you guys are back. OMG! I loved reading this post! yes I always hear that phrase “time flies” and I hate it! I also feel as if time is ticking, and I have to get on it and do what I got to do, to get where I want to be! 🙂
    Love your outfit! love the mixture of stripes, and the tomboy/ menswear elements AND that amazing A wang clutch!
    Xo
    aRi

  4. October 25, 2010 8:56 pm

    Nice mix of stripes. I have ‘lost’ a few shirts to girls over the years, but no one ever nabbed a tie-good thinking! Hong Kong is one of my favorite cities ever, glad you had a good time.

  5. October 26, 2010 8:00 am

    love the stripes! 🙂

  6. October 26, 2010 6:57 pm

    how nice M! it’s great that you you have refreshed your perspective on things! seems like you needed that reminder of why you left in the first place.

    love the photos, especially that a wang bag. ur such a style queen 😉

    x

  7. October 27, 2010 1:39 am

    This is a fabulous mix of stripes babe!! Mwah xx

  8. October 27, 2010 4:01 am

    Haha, Jon- I actually didn’t keep any of his clothes. I borrowed a few shirts and ties for a fashion event I spoke at to demonstrate the menswear trend. Even though I wanted to keep one of his shirts, I gave them all back to him today! We’re still friends. 🙂

  9. October 27, 2010 10:50 am

    i love how you specified that they are ex bf clothes.. iwas actually thinking of calling some things that.

    love the scarf in your hair. you tied it in such a cute but unusual way

  10. October 27, 2010 9:35 pm

    Welcome home!

    i love the mix of patterns and can’t believe you got the Alexander football clutch!

  11. October 29, 2010 5:16 am

    Love this menswear inspired look! Glad you had such a great time in HK and can’t wait to see more pics! I grew up there (and heading back for a few weeks in December), so I’m used to all the bustle, though growing up on an island did always make me want to see more of the world.

  12. October 29, 2010 5:36 am

    You have such great style love your outfit!

    jen
    http://blankwhiteframes.blogspot.com

  13. October 29, 2010 6:13 am

    Thanks for comment on the mens outfit!! I love looking at mens outfits put together from a guys perspective, he really does it well too.
    You have great writing and a great blog voice – you’ve got me excited to see more pics!!
    (if you’re in to vintage handbags i’m doing a giveaway, you should pop over and enter =))

  14. October 29, 2010 6:42 am

    LOVE that you’re making good use of an ex’s t-shirt! and absolutely loved the way you styled it. i was in HK last summer, and i miss it so much! the street style there is INSANE.

    oh and i currently live in orange county, but work in bevhills! waiting to move to LA!

  15. October 29, 2010 8:05 pm

    What a great outfit, looks fab….I especially love the Ex-boyfriend pieces very original x

  16. October 29, 2010 11:15 pm

    The way you tied the tie is better than I imagined when you told me. You must teach me how to do it! And I have to say, this is one of my favorite looks of yours.

    I feel you on the hometown bit. It feels good because it’s home, but the barriers are also palpable. I’m glad you’re here 🙂

    XXo,
    Neekoh

  17. October 30, 2010 1:08 pm

    I love the tie used as a hairband, it’s so androgynous! In the very best way. Also, I really enjoyed reading your perspective on your recent travels. I don’t travel nearly as much as I would like, but I always find trips to eyeopening, it’s like seeing the world from another vantage point just gives you such perspective on your world and your life. It’s one of the best feelings to come back and have that new lease on life, in my opinion anyways!

  18. Clare permalink
    October 31, 2010 12:43 pm

    I am totally recreating this look for a night out! This is like my total favorite. I just bookmarked this post hehehe

    http://www.clarabelleblog.com

  19. October 31, 2010 5:46 pm

    looking gorgeous! i love this outfit. the mix of stripes and colours are amazing 🙂

    xx raez

  20. November 1, 2010 4:48 am

    love this look its fabulous

  21. November 1, 2010 2:53 pm

    I’m crazy jealous of your experience and that Wang clutch is beyond awesome!

  22. November 1, 2010 7:41 pm

    I love all of your stripes, every. single. one. And the title of this post. Glad you had such a good time!

  23. November 2, 2010 1:54 am

    you are adorable..i am so jockin those shoes~

    Xx
    Chriselle

  24. November 2, 2010 2:11 am

    Nice to see you again! I love your look and also the story you tell us. You are very fortunate to travel a lot and family is really important.

    xoxo
    B* a la Moda

  25. November 3, 2010 7:05 pm

    genius mix of prints!

  26. November 4, 2010 9:11 am

    this is an amazing post and an amazing look!!

  27. November 5, 2010 6:27 am

    Love this look! Very haute 🙂 I really like your shoes! xoxo

    http://www.pink-stilettos.info

  28. November 5, 2010 6:33 am

    j’adore tes chaussures et ton sac.
    Très jolies photos

  29. November 6, 2010 9:07 am

    very original outfit !! love it!!
    abriefstoryoffashion.blogspot.com

  30. November 8, 2010 9:30 pm

    love the headscarf! hot!

  31. November 11, 2010 12:46 pm

    hi love. thanks so much for sharing this post. i wanna go to hong kong too!
    L O V E the outfit. its fantastic.x

Trackbacks

  1. The Man in the Moon « Wrecked Stellar

Leave a Reply

