Skip to content

LAS Jewelry Fall 2010 Collection: Genus and the Species

November 22, 2010

Ever since I had encountered the dinosaur skeleton casts at the Natural Museum of History in New York City, it’s like one of them left a foot print in my heart. A Tyrannosaurus-sized foot print because I love them so. Stamped so hard in my brain, I still have the picture of the picture of me posing in front of a Brontosaurus wearing my favorite jumpsuit adorned with a bunny on it. I was only five. I wasn’t scared of the dinos, but my bunny was. My sister, Bec, and I would go on later to abandon the traditional notion of building snowmen and sandcastles, opting for the creation of friendly, powdery Stegosauruses.

And so I was happy to see my recollections meet the present when I saw the fierce dinosaur necklaces at the LAS Jewelry Fall 2010 Collection trunk show. The collection, Genus and the Species, was previewed at the Em & Co boutique in West Hollywood, California. This LA-based line is powered behind husband and wife team, Daniel and Lisa Soltis. They hand-make each piece locally using recycled chains, repurposed leathers, and other vintage materials. As you can see below, the pieces are personal, unique, and can conjure up a good story- or accessorize one to be.

You can view more pieces on the LAS Jewelry site and at Em & Co.

_________________________

Follow me on Bloglovin’ *   Follow me on Twitter *   Like Me on Facebook


15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 22, 2010 1:02 pm

    Oooo such gorgeous pieces, Mel! Thanks for sharing these pics! Speaking of which- I totes hope you or Becs has a photo of your snow-dinosaurs 😉

  2. November 22, 2010 3:16 pm

    I *need* that longhorn ring in my life, it is amazing! Great pieces, all of them!

  3. November 22, 2010 6:47 pm

    Those bibs are exquisite! The dinosaurs are really neat, I think I can actually say I haven’t seen that done before!

  4. November 23, 2010 8:07 am

    The labor that must have bone into those pieces…WOW!

  5. November 23, 2010 12:47 pm

    loved these pieces. they’re even more fab in person!

  6. November 24, 2010 3:59 am

    those are super gorgeous accecories:) love em all, they’re all lovely<3

    cheers,
    ZIPPERS&BUTTONS

  7. November 24, 2010 5:51 am

    Love the skeletons, so cool 🙂
    xx

  8. November 24, 2010 11:15 am

    Absolutely gorgeous pieces!

    Happy Thanksgiving, darling!

    xoxox,
    CC

  9. November 24, 2010 4:17 pm

    Great pieces!!! I especially like the ring…although I’d be afraid I’d accidentally poke someone’s eye out. :-/

  10. November 25, 2010 11:56 pm

    The ring looks fab 😀

  11. November 28, 2010 2:50 pm

    Amazing finds, I have a friend who *needs* the Longhorn ring!

    Hope you have a great week,
    tp

  12. November 29, 2010 5:39 pm

    in love with the ring just inlove.

    i must put it on xmas wish list

    love this post and love your blog

    check mine:) if you like it follow me and i will follow you

    xxxxxxxx

  13. November 29, 2010 11:33 pm

    super cool pieces!

  14. December 1, 2010 4:55 pm

    their pieces are beautiful!

    and i love your outfit M!!!

    x
    thesydneygirl.com

  15. December 17, 2010 5:18 am

    great post, thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

